Bitcoin Forum
January 17, 2018, 07:30:58 AM *
News: Electrum users must upgrade to 3.0.5 if they haven't already. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Connecting Antminer S1 to a college network?  (Read 1358 times)
bdangles
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100


View Profile
September 30, 2014, 02:36:13 PM
 #1

I recently bought an Antminer S1, and while its coming in the mail, I'd like to figure out how to hook it up.
My college offers ethernet, but it requires special authentication (even an xbox or PS4 can't be plugged in directly). As a wifi network, the network is WPA2 Enterprise (so there's log in credentials). Can the antminer s1 connect to WPA2 Enterprise? I'm up for any ideas for getting my miner online, and that includes wifi.

1516174258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516174258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516174258
Reply with quote  #2

1516174258
Report to moderator
1516174258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516174258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516174258
Reply with quote  #2

1516174258
Report to moderator
1516174258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516174258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516174258
Reply with quote  #2

1516174258
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1516174258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516174258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516174258
Reply with quote  #2

1516174258
Report to moderator
1516174258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516174258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516174258
Reply with quote  #2

1516174258
Report to moderator
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
September 30, 2014, 05:48:09 PM
 #2

I recently bought an Antminer S1, and while its coming in the mail, I'd like to figure out how to hook it up.
My college offers ethernet, but it requires special authentication (even an xbox or PS4 can't be plugged in directly). As a wifi network, the network is WPA2 Enterprise (so there's log in credentials). Can the antminer s1 connect to WPA2 Enterprise? I'm up for any ideas for getting my miner online, and that includes wifi.


Are you able to use a wifi router to do it?  Some have like extender mode where they will connect to a network and use it. 

If so I would try using router to connect to college network and plugging in to router to get internet for the S1.
guitarplinker
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568



View Profile WWW
September 30, 2014, 08:29:12 PM
 #3

I recently bought an Antminer S1, and while its coming in the mail, I'd like to figure out how to hook it up.
My college offers ethernet, but it requires special authentication (even an xbox or PS4 can't be plugged in directly). As a wifi network, the network is WPA2 Enterprise (so there's log in credentials). Can the antminer s1 connect to WPA2 Enterprise? I'm up for any ideas for getting my miner online, and that includes wifi.


I'm not sure if the S1 can connect to WPA2 wifi, but if it cannot directly another option would be a wifi to ethernet connector, and just plug the S1 into ethernet via that. Not sure how available something like that is though, or how much it would cost.
hotwired007
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 586


View Profile
October 01, 2014, 07:09:19 AM
 #4

You might find that the college's firewall stops the miner.

This account was hacked & possibly sold during the period of August 1st and October 24th 2017.
Anything done or said in this period wasnt me.
Many thanks to Cyrus for his help restoring access to my account.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!