Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 04:20:56 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Nvidia + ATI?  (Read 4527 times)
arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


Just along for the ride...


View Profile
May 18, 2012, 08:59:37 PM
 #21

you people and your rigs make me jealous. Cheesy
1480868456
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868456

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868456
Reply with quote  #2

1480868456
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480868456
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868456

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868456
Reply with quote  #2

1480868456
Report to moderator
1480868456
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868456

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868456
Reply with quote  #2

1480868456
Report to moderator
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
May 19, 2012, 02:55:30 PM
 #22

What is a workable solution for the above in Linux ?

Somebody must know !

I think integrated ATI GPU on the mobo or the APU will work in Linux without problems !
 
Too bad Sempron 140 does not have integrated GPU ! Any good mobo with integrated AMD GPU ?
arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


Just along for the ride...


View Profile
May 19, 2012, 06:13:47 PM
 #23

ok, so i've got me my radeon 6870 installed. but clearly i've got an issue somewhere as it doesn't show up in dxdiag or as an available device in guiminer (openCL backend). thoughts?

ignore the above. sorted.
werdna94
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
May 21, 2012, 12:17:54 AM
 #24

Quote
Quote
3.) Can I run my 5970 mining and game on my 560 Ti (1) is it possible (2) would it be laggy?
Quote
No, you can't.

This is because ATI computing goes through video driver. So Xorg must be loaded and running upon the ATI video driver. On the contrary, Nvidia computing doesn't need Xorg.

Wait what? Really? I started mining yesterday in a virtual terminal. I prefer to use a virtual terminal without x loaded because I feel (but am unable to substantiate) that running my miner without x loaded will free up resources on my card to be better spent on calculations. Is it really true that you absolutely must have x loaded to mine with an ati card? Does that really make buying an ati worth it?
PatrickHarnett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
May 21, 2012, 01:38:01 AM
 #25


1.) Can I have both a NVidia card and an ATI card installed with NVidia drivers and ATI drivers running at the same time?
2.) Can I use both cards for mining at the same time? (if 1 is yes, I'd image yes for 2?)
3.) Can I run my 5970 mining and game on my 560 Ti (1) is it possible (2) would it be laggy?


Yes - easy.

I have run nvidia and ATI mixed cards in various two and three card combos for several years.  Mainly under W7, but also XP.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
May 21, 2012, 09:40:40 AM
 #26

this thread has just cost me 200 bucks... bought an ati 6870 to run in conjunction with my nvidia 560 se. hopefully my 750 watt psu can handle it. if so, i'll finally be profitably mining!

maybe i'll even be able to save enough for a Lancelot fpga before the Great Reward Halving...

fyi, a 6870 is a nice card.. but a poor miner.  Some people seem to get 380m/h out of it severely overclocked with two gpu threads.  mine won't clock that high, and two threads give me the same as one.. about 280-290.

that $200 would have been better spent on a 5870.  lots on ebay for less than $200.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Lem
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
May 21, 2012, 12:03:00 PM
 #27

Quote
Quote
3.) Can I run my 5970 mining and game on my 560 Ti (1) is it possible (2) would it be laggy?
Quote
No, you can't.

This is because ATI computing goes through video driver. So Xorg must be loaded and running upon the ATI video driver. On the contrary, Nvidia computing doesn't need Xorg.

Wait what? Really? I started mining yesterday in a virtual terminal. I prefer to use a virtual terminal without x loaded because I feel (but am unable to substantiate) that running my miner without x loaded will free up resources on my card to be better spent on calculations. Is it really true that you absolutely must have x loaded to mine with an ati card? Does that really make buying an ati worth it?

I'm sorry. I miswrote it.
This is what I meant:

on Linux, Nvidia video driver and AMD video driver conflict. So you cannot load both. Mining on AMD cards requires the AMD video driver to be loaded: at this point, if you need Xorg (for gaming, for a desktop environment...), you cannot load the Nvidia driver, and you are forced to use the loaded video driver instead, which is the AMD one.

I haven't done it, but I've read that, on the contrary, you can use an Nvidia card for computation without loading its video driver. Nvidia computation doesn't need a video driver: so Nvidia doesn't need to "own" Xorg, if Xorg is there.

I hope I've been a little clearer, now.
Sorry, again.

--
Bye
arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


Just along for the ride...


View Profile
May 21, 2012, 02:46:44 PM
 #28

this thread has just cost me 200 bucks... bought an ati 6870 to run in conjunction with my nvidia 560 se. hopefully my 750 watt psu can handle it. if so, i'll finally be profitably mining!

maybe i'll even be able to save enough for a Lancelot fpga before the Great Reward Halving...

fyi, a 6870 is a nice card.. but a poor miner.  Some people seem to get 380m/h out of it severely overclocked with two gpu threads.  mine won't clock that high, and two threads give me the same as one.. about 280-290.

that $200 would have been better spent on a 5870.  lots on ebay for less than $200.

M

running about 280 - so, yea, i hear ya. my mistake. i was reading a thread here about best cards to get and hadn't noticed the 6870 was overclocked. i've pushed mine up from 900 to 970 core mhz... oh well, eh? live and learn. still - it's a zillion times better then my nvidia 560 at mining, and is making more then the electricity costs. so, in the end it will aide my march to an FPGA.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!