Bitcoin Forum
September 24, 2018, 10:31:08 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Windows 8-based miner  (Read 2572 times)
AJinNYC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10

Bored with you morons.


View Profile
October 16, 2014, 01:23:49 PM
 #1

I'm looking for a Windows 8.1 (64-bit)-based miner. I've tried BFGMiner and CGMiner, and couldn't get either to work correctly; they both open a command prompt window, run for about two seconds, and then close on their own. I would prefer something that is GUI-based. And I have no interest in using BitMiner as I have no desire to use OpenID for their website log-in.

Done with this forum. Goodbye all.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537828268
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537828268

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537828268
Reply with quote  #2

1537828268
Report to moderator
1537828268
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537828268

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537828268
Reply with quote  #2

1537828268
Report to moderator
1537828268
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537828268

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537828268
Reply with quote  #2

1537828268
Report to moderator
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 501



View Profile
October 16, 2014, 01:31:00 PM
 #2

BFGminer or cgminer are the only two miners you need or should be using.

There's literally thousands of thread on this forum alone telling you how to set up both.



You're not trying to mine with a graphics card are you?  Roll Eyes

nwoolls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
October 16, 2014, 01:32:01 PM
 #3

I'm looking for a Windows 8.1 (64-bit)-based miner. I've tried BFGMiner and CGMiner, and couldn't get either to work correctly; they both open a command prompt window, run for about two seconds, and then close on their own. I would prefer something that is GUI-based. And I have no interest in using BitMiner as I have no desire to use OpenID for their website log-in.

If you don't feel like mucking around at the command prompt, MultiMiner runs great on Windows 8.1 and provides a full GUI for getting started mining:

http://multiminerapp.com
http://help.multiminerapp.com

MultiMiner: Any Miner, Any Where, on Any Device |  Xgminer: Mine with popular miners on Mac OS X
btc: 1BmXY4ZZQh1iHSVre658gM1gPAEtDnq8rv  |  ltc: LP1SsHZTDexndkvRKsqAkXNsienPHwaMb5  |  hardware: nwoolls at gmail dot com
MilesJohan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 16, 2014, 01:37:48 PM
 #4

I'm looking for a Windows 8.1 (64-bit)-based miner. I've tried BFGMiner and CGMiner, and couldn't get either to work correctly; they both open a command prompt window, run for about two seconds, and then close on their own. I would prefer something that is GUI-based. And I have no interest in using BitMiner as I have no desire to use OpenID for their website log-in.

Which GPU you are using?

MileyJohanson
AJinNYC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10

Bored with you morons.


View Profile
October 16, 2014, 02:02:03 PM
 #5

I'm on a piece of crap laptop, for the time being, so it's just got Intel HD 4400 graphics. If I'm not mistaken that's a GPU embedded in the CPU. Probably part of the problem. Unfortunately, that's all I have access to right now. My desktop is crapped out for the time being.

I got Multiminer installed, but when I try to start it I get "None of the Pools configured cab be used for bitcoin multiminer." I'm a member of Slush's Pool. I enter the log-in details correctly, but it won't start mining when I hit start, just shows that error message.

Done with this forum. Goodbye all.
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 501



View Profile
October 16, 2014, 02:37:02 PM
 #6

You can't mine with a HD4400, the OpenCL drivers don't work.  You're on a road to nowhere, and you've already run out of asphalt.

AJinNYC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10

Bored with you morons.


View Profile
October 16, 2014, 05:41:05 PM
 #7

You can't mine with a HD4400, the OpenCL drivers don't work.  You're on a road to nowhere, and you've already run out of asphalt.



If you say so... switch to BitMinter; working fine now. HD4400 is OpenCL 1.2. Granted it's moving along like someone pushing a SUV, but it is working.

Done with this forum. Goodbye all.
spiceminer15
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250



View Profile
October 16, 2014, 11:03:29 PM
 #8

it'll use more power than BTC you will get in return. so basically you're paying money to destroy your laptop
tjwebb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 17, 2014, 06:16:32 AM
 #9

You will never mine even 0.0001 BTC with a graphics card or CPU.

If you're just experimenting, you can get an older ASIC machine on ebay for cheap.
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 501



View Profile
October 17, 2014, 08:29:19 AM
 #10

That'll make 0.000000001BTC per month if you're lucky.  At current difficulty. 

Basically all you're doing is burning out the fan in your laptop.

So, back to the waste of time and effort thing...

AJinNYC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10

Bored with you morons.


View Profile
October 18, 2014, 04:27:03 PM
 #11

Well I've already got BTC 0.00000003.

This laptop is a throw away basically; don't care if it blows up, and I don't pay for the electric anyway (at least currently).

If I got an ASIC unit, I need something less than 50 bucks with a USB connection (no PSU sold separately either). Suggestions?  Not willing to spend more than that.

Done with this forum. Goodbye all.
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 501



View Profile
October 20, 2014, 07:49:07 AM
 #12

Must be a few BFL Jalapenos out there for less than $50.  They're pretty slow, but they do seem pretty reliable.  I have one, and it just mines, never gives me any issues, ever.

AJinNYC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10

Bored with you morons.


View Profile
October 29, 2014, 06:51:17 AM
 #13

I got a ~2.5GH/s CryptoRig HitchHiker NanoFury for about $25. Really too expensive for what it does, but... it'll do for now. Really at the current BTC price a viable miner would really need to be about $1 per GH/s, in my opinion.

When I get some cash I'll be going after some other stuff on eBay.

Done with this forum. Goodbye all.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!