Bitcoin Forum
August 08, 2022, 10:42:09 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Sync error  (Read 1577 times)
Decksperiment
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 17, 2014, 07:07:18 PM
 #1

As mentioned in previous threads, bitcoin has been unable to sync, fresh install of sp3, nothing else installed.. Has been happening for weeks, rendering bitcoin useless, errors:

EXCEPTION: St9bad_alloc
std::bad_alloc
C:\Program Files\bitcoin\bitcoin-qt.exe in Runaway exception

So I click ok and get

Assertion failed

C:\Program Files\bitcoin\bitcoin-qt.exe
File: ../..src/allocators.h, Line 41

Expression: this->GetLockedPageCount()== 0

Three different versions are causing this whilst trying to download blockchain BEFORE I add my preferred wallet, every version same error..
1659955329
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1659955329

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1659955329
Reply with quote  #2

1659955329
Report to moderator
1659955329
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1659955329

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1659955329
Reply with quote  #2

1659955329
Report to moderator
The grue lurks in the darkest places of the earth. Its favorite diet is adventurers, but its insatiable appetite is tempered by its fear of light. No grue has ever been seen by the light of day, and few have survived its fearsome jaws to tell the tale.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1659955329
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1659955329

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1659955329
Reply with quote  #2

1659955329
Report to moderator
1659955329
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1659955329

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1659955329
Reply with quote  #2

1659955329
Report to moderator
ranochigo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2730
Merit: 3327

@ me if you need my response


View Profile
October 18, 2014, 07:02:27 AM
 #2

How much ram do you have? Whats your system specs? 32bits or 64bits. bad_alloc means that you do not have enough memory available. What's your dbcache value?

Decksperiment
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 18, 2014, 09:10:24 AM
 #3

quad core, 4 gig's of mem, xp sp3 x86 using a fresh format with nothing else installed.

ranochigo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2730
Merit: 3327

@ me if you need my response


View Profile
October 19, 2014, 11:45:32 AM
 #4

quad core, 4 gig's of mem, xp sp3 x86 using a fresh format with nothing else installed.


Your ram should be more than enough to support Bitcoin core. Does your CPU support 64bits? If so, install 64bit version and upgrade to windows 7. Could you post your log file?

Decksperiment
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 11:14:43 AM
 #5

Nowayhozy am I upgrading to x64, or any other bloatware, like win 7, 8, 9, 10, whatever, I'm fed up updating only to find my pc does more for others than it does for me, too many 'service's that do nothing but require mre updates..

I did post the last log, just uninstalled bitcoin after realising it really is a waste of time and energy, and since it's safe to assume bitcoin devs will kill xp supoort too, then fort me, I'll just wait till they make a bitcoin app so good, it wont need updated, cause it will simply work! - Okay I do dream a bit lol.. thanks for your help, but I reckon it's the app, in particular:

File: ../..src/allocators.h, Line 41

Cause I got that error from the last 3 versions..

Never happened before..

Pc is runnin like a dream..
cr1776
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3416
Merit: 1251


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 12:05:25 PM
 #6

Nowayhozy am I upgrading to x64, or any other bloatware, like win 7, 8, 9, 10, whatever, I'm fed up updating only to find my pc does more for others than it does for me, too many 'service's that do nothing but require mre updates..

I did post the last log, just uninstalled bitcoin after realising it really is a waste of time and energy, and since it's safe to assume bitcoin devs will kill xp supoort too, then fort me, I'll just wait till they make a bitcoin app so good, it wont need updated, cause it will simply work! - Okay I do dream a bit lol.. thanks for your help, but I reckon it's the app, in particular:

File: ../..src/allocators.h, Line 41

Cause I got that error from the last 3 versions..

Never happened before..

Pc is runnin like a dream..

Based on the error, the odds are you are running out of memory which is something that has been known to occur on 32 bit systems during the initial sync.

Just use a different wallet, like multibit (for example)
Decksperiment
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 12:40:44 PM
 #7

Lol, the whole point of bitcoin is to use bitcoin.. the rest in my opinion, are un-necessary third party apps.. why cant they just get sumat right for once..

Like apple used to..
cr1776
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3416
Merit: 1251


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 02:53:00 PM
 #8

Lite wallets are bitcoin.  You can send or receive coins.

I can't tell if you are just trolling or not, but saying that "they" aren't getting something right because you don't have enough memory when running under 32 bit is like asking why you can't do 2014 3D rendering, good speech recognition, and 60 fps games using an 8080 or a 6502 microprocessor with 48K of memory.

By the way, the code is open source, so if you have a solution that will let it sync well on 32 bit systems, it would be more than welcome.


Lol, the whole point of bitcoin is to use bitcoin.. the rest in my opinion, are un-necessary third party apps.. why cant they just get sumat right for once..

Like apple used to..
Decksperiment
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 07:11:38 PM
 #9

Lite wallets are bitcoin.  You can send or receive coins.

I can't tell if you are just trolling or not, but saying that "they" aren't getting something right because you don't have enough memory when running under 32 bit is like asking why you can't do 2014 3D rendering, good speech recognition, and 60 fps games using an 8080 or a 6502 microprocessor with 48K of memory.

By the way, the code is open source, so if you have a solution that will let it sync well on 32 bit systems, it would be more than welcome.


Lol, the whole point of bitcoin is to use bitcoin.. the rest in my opinion, are un-necessary third party apps.. why cant they just get sumat right for once..

Like apple used to..

It was syncing fine on 32 bit systems for long enough as I see it..

I realise the code is open scource, and finally sussed how to use it to distribute files.. ye-haaa, attach file to blockchain! free movies anyone?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!