Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 12:26:59 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 6970 +5850 + 800w PSU  (Read 1725 times)
fankih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82



View Profile
May 21, 2012, 04:53:14 PM
 #1

Hey,

I was thinking if my 800 W PSU would be too low for this setup since 5850 is getting only 400MHz to GPU core and 900 MHz to memories and I can't change them in CGminer even I try to lower the memory and increase the GPU MHz.

It's saying voltage 1.0V for 5850 and 1.175 for 6970.

5850 is giving 150MHash/s and 6970 is giving 400MHash/s (was giving 430Mhash/s on its own)
What could I try out?

-fankih-

-fankih-
1511396819
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511396819

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511396819
Reply with quote  #2

1511396819
Report to moderator
1511396819
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511396819

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511396819
Reply with quote  #2

1511396819
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
fankih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82



View Profile
May 21, 2012, 05:02:29 PM
 #2


Code:
cgminer version 2.3.1 - Started: [2012-05-21 19:35:27]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):532.3 (avg):549.5 Mh/s | Q:152  A:197  R:1  HW:0  E:130%  U:7.40/m
 TQ: 4  ST: 6  SS: 0  DW: 10  NB: 4  LW: 492  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to http://gpumax.com:8332 with LP as user 38abc05d047448e3b6cac977d24
 Block: 000008e04149cb37e3ed4a220c3932f0...  Started: [19:49:50]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  74.5C 3519RPM | 407.0/400.2Mh/s | A:136 R:1 HW:0 U:  5.11/m I: 9
 GPU 1:  73.5C 2074RPM | 149.9/149.6Mh/s | A: 61 R:0 HW:0 U:  2.29/m I: 9
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thread 0: 203.5 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 1: 203.5 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

GPU 1: 149.9 / 149.9 Mh/s | A:61  R:0  HW:0  U:2.30/m  I:9
74.0 C  F: 32% (2119 RPM)  E: 400 MHz  M: 900 Mhz  V: 1.000V  A: 0%  P: 0%
Last initialised: [2012-05-21 19:35:29]
Intensity: 9
Thread 2: 74.9 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 3: 75.0 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

[E]nable [D]isable [I]ntensity [R]estart GPU [C]hange settings
Or press any other key to continue


this is from CGminer 2.3.1

-fankih-
David_Benz
Donator
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56

you got hacked bitch!


View Profile
May 22, 2012, 07:17:14 AM
 #3

How many 12v rails does your PSU have?

800w should be able to handle that just fine.

I am the Bitcoinica Hacker.
fankih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82



View Profile
May 22, 2012, 09:31:30 AM
 #4

http://www.verkkokauppa.com/fi/product/16397/dbtjr/Corsair-GS800W-Gaming-Series-800W-ATX-virtalahde


This is the PSU I'm using.

It has 4x 6+2pin for GPUs

-fankih.

-fankih-
fankih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82



View Profile
May 22, 2012, 02:16:26 PM
 #5

When I'm running this 5850 on it's own I can only achieve : GPU 820 MEM 300 VDCC 1.088. If i'll lower mem / vdcc it will crash. If I'll raise the GPU the drivers will crash.
At the moment it's running with setup mentioned before and fan @ 3375RPM & 72°C.

Do I'm planning to put 6970 back to see if it's back to same, but according to those numbers this card is quite a failure (5850) at least what I have stalked what others have?

Should I just try to cancel my 60€ trade for this card or is anyone else interested to buy this off from me with that price?


-fankih-

-fankih-
fankih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82



View Profile
May 22, 2012, 02:18:58 PM
 #6

5850 on its own


Code:
 cgminer version 2.4.1 - Started: [2012-05-22 17:10:04]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):324.3 (avg):299.0 Mh/s | Q:24  A:35  R:0  HW:0  E:146%  U:3.6/m
 TQ: 3  ST: 3  SS: 0  DW: 0  NB: 1  LW: 56  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to http://api.bitcoin.cz:8332 with LP as user fankih.fankih
 Block: 00000706eee47bcbd8ee04dee565b9f3...  Started: [17:10:04]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  73.0C 3403RPM | 302.3/299.0Mh/s | A:35 R:0 HW:0 U: 3.65/m I: 8
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

GPU 0: 302.3 / 300.4 Mh/s | A:35  R:0  HW:0  U:3.72/m  I:8
73.0 C  F: 59% (3405 RPM)  E: 820 MHz  M: 300 Mhz  V: 1.088V  A: 99%  P: 0%
Last initialised: [2012-05-22 17:10:04]
Intensity: 8
Thread 0: 151.2 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 1: 151.3 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

[E]nable [D]isable [I]ntensity [R]estart GPU [C]hange settings
Or press any other key to continue


-fankih-
fankih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82



View Profile
May 22, 2012, 02:58:59 PM
 #7

Normal output with only 6970 (cgminer 2.3.1 reaches 430MHash/s right away and 2.4.1 atleast took so long to reach 430Mhash/s that I was bored wait .. It was hitting only ~400Mhash/s)
Code:

cgminer version 2.3.1 - Started: [2012-05-22 17:55:55]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):438.6 (avg):420.5 Mh/s | Q:8  A:12  R:0  HW:0  E:150%  U:6.22/m
 TQ: 3  ST: 3  SS: 0  DW: 0  NB: 1  LW: 16  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to http://gpumax.com:8332 with LP as user 38abc05d047448e3b6cac977d24
 Block: 000008271fd09da37a545bd1a5b6e885...  Started: [17:55:55]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  70.5C 2878RPM | 428.4/430.9Mh/s | A:12 R:0 HW:0 U:6.22/m I: 9
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

GPU 0: 427.9 / 432.1 Mh/s | A:8  R:0  HW:0  U:5.82/m  I:9
71.0 C  F: 72% (3128 RPM)  E: 960 MHz  M: 850 Mhz  V: 1.175V  A: 99%  P: 1%
Last initialised: [2012-05-22 17:55:55]
Intensity: 9
Thread 0: 214.2 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 1: 214.6 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

[E]nable [D]isable [I]ntensity [R]estart GPU [C]hange settings
Or press any other key to continue


-fankih-
fankih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82



View Profile
May 22, 2012, 03:01:08 PM
 #8

And is it normal that if I try to underclock from 850MHz to lower my 6970 it will reset up to 1375MHz (MEM) ?

Is there anything I could try?
I have tried Afterburner and it's the same result...

-fankih-
Ausversucht
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
May 23, 2012, 12:12:39 AM
 #9

Try using Sapphire trixx to adjust the 5850.  I have one computer running a 5870, 5970 (2 cores), & 6950.  The 6950 starts out like your 5850 with just cgminer, I installed trixx since I use it on the other computers and I was able to adjust it up.  Also just had an issue with the 5870 where cgminer wouldn't show the changes I made even though they were being applied (as reported by trixx)
Ausversucht
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
May 23, 2012, 01:15:01 AM
 #10

Just an FYI, my rig listed above (4 GPU's) is running perfectly on a 1000W power supply.  Your 800 should be more than enough.  I have measured it at the wall before at less than 800W, but that was with a 5850 instead of the 6950, but the difference should be negligible.  I switched my incoming power to 240V and my kill a watt doesn't support that.
oldDirty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


roundhouseminer


View Profile
May 23, 2012, 07:16:51 AM
 #11

Wuy your pictures shows two different CGminer versions???
Your psu is strong enough for this two gpu.

CrunchingCulture

/// FREE ASSANGE \\\
Serenata
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251



View Profile WWW
May 23, 2012, 07:32:38 PM
 #12

Gathered these numbers around the net, so use them only as a guide.

Power consumption of AMD Cards
4870   160W
4890   190W
5850   150W
5870   190W
6950   160W
6970   210W

If your PSU is 80+ then its true output power can be calculated by the rated number multiplied by 0,8. From a 750W rated PSU, you will most probably get a true-600W of power (750*0,8).

...or you can use this http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

BitcoinX.gr - Το ελληνικό στέκι του Bitcoin

My GPG Key
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
May 31, 2012, 06:12:34 PM
 #13

you should get one of these (or similar)

http://www.thinkgeek.com/gadgets/travelpower/7657/

helps to max out the PSUs without going over!

Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820



View Profile
June 01, 2012, 02:34:02 AM
 #14

Are you certain that you have installed cgminer correctly? I tried to get it running on crunchbang linux, and I did get the cards running. But they were hashing at half the normal rate. After that, I went to a version of ubuntu 11.04, and followed kano's instructions to the letter for installation of cgminer, and things are working perfect now. These are the instructions I'm talking about:

https://github.com/kanoi/linux-usb-cgminer/blob/master/linux-usb-cgminer

Before assuming you have a bad 5950, I would grab a version ubuntu 11.04 (I used Peppermint Two), and follow these instructions. The overall point is that just because you have cgminer installed and it fires up your cards, this doesn't mean that you have it installed correctly.
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
June 01, 2012, 02:44:02 AM
 #15

Gathered these numbers around the net, so use them only as a guide.

Power consumption of AMD Cards
4870   160W
4890   190W
5850   150W
5870   190W
6950   160W
6970   210W

If your PSU is 80+ then its true output power can be calculated by the rated number multiplied by 0,8. From a 750W rated PSU, you will most probably get a true-600W of power (750*0,8).

...or you can use this http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

I thought it was calculated the other way around? It should provide 750 watts of DC power. Due to inefficiencies, it will draw more AC power at the wall and expel this inefficiency as heat. 80% efficient 750w psu at full load should output 750w of DC power and 150w of heat (900w AC power)

on topic though, to respond to OP, yes 800w PSU should be well above and beyond what you need for those two cards. If it is a single rail PSU, you are golden and have huge headroom, enough to porbbaly hook up 2 more cards on top of that. If it is multi rail though, you might be screwed, as you will have power "locked" to certain rails and unavailable to use to your cards. I have a 550w PSU thats multirail, and it refuses to power any more than 2 5830's severely undervolted and underclocked without turning off. I also have an old 20-pin ATX 600watt power supply that will happily power 3 cards at normal speeds because it isnt multi-rail

Multi-rail is bad, it provides too much hastle and problems with balancing load. Single rail PSU's you just plug in and go, no problem.

fankih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82



View Profile
June 01, 2012, 07:53:31 AM
 #16

http://www.corsair.com/gs800w.html

This is the power I have, but I have no clue if it's Multi rail or Single rail Shocked

-fankih-

-fankih-
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
June 01, 2012, 09:14:19 AM
 #17

http://www.corsair.com/gs800w.html

This is the power I have, but I have no clue if it's Multi rail or Single rail Shocked

-fankih-

Tech Specs and newegg both say single rail. You should be able to put 4 GPU's on that without any problems, maybe 5 if you are going the efficiency route and undervolting.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!