Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2018, 08:20:44 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Does full node software auto mine?  (Read 3288 times)
drew1982
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 04:30:57 PM
 #1

After downloading and syncronising "Bitcoin Core" full node software, it then begins to help the network by using your PC power to validate transactions (i think).

Does this mean you are mining solo?
Or do you still have to buy ridiculously priced hardware and then join a pool?

The main bitcoin site gives no info about this at all! And people like me cannot find any answers using google.

If it doesn't mine then why would it be validating transactions?
Does any software actually mine using your own DESKTOP PC resources rather than buying third party hardware?

Thanks guys
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
KIRAZ
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 04:39:19 PM
 #2

Unlike bitcoin mining, where participants are rewarded for confirming transactions, running a bitcoin node does not provide any incentive. The only benefit for someone to run a node is to help protect the network. You are not mining anything there for that you have to join a poll and purchase that pricey hardware.
Stinky_Pete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 04:44:37 PM
 #3

If you have the line gen=1 in your .conf file, then you will start confirming transactions when you open the wallet. If you are using Windows, the Task Manager will show if you are using CPU resources.

drew1982
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 05:11:49 PM
 #4

So then there is no incentive to running full node software?

Ahhhh I so wish I knew that 3 days ago. The bitcoin site is misleading
drew1982
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 05:34:27 PM
 #5

This must be why people who are running full node software are diminishing, Our PC's are using all our CPU and electricity, but the mining people who already have too much money than sense are taking all the bitcoins.
Those people who can afford silly priced hardware should leave the mining to the poor people. It's not fair lol. They already clearly have enough cash!

I read that if the people who run full nodes stop running them then the bitcoin network would be totally insecure.
If what you guys say is right then that's why full noders are leaving.
I would of always been a node, but not now.

Thanks for the replies
warrensgun
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100

Mining since bitcoin was $1


View Profile
October 28, 2014, 06:54:27 PM
 #6

A lot of us who mine, also run full nodes, or several full nodes as a support for the network.  Some even pay to run nodes in data centers.

You can still mine with your computer - but it will take more electricity than you will generate in BTC. 

If you want to mine something with your CPU - check out something like GapCoin or some others that are designed to be CPU only.

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1019


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
October 31, 2014, 09:47:44 AM
 #7

If you have the line gen=1 in your .conf file, then you will start confirming transactions when you open the wallet. If you are using Windows, the Task Manager will show if you are using CPU resources.

Only do this if you are willing to mine on average 500 000 years to find a block.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
FrancisEDumas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 08, 2014, 01:18:32 PM
 #8

After downloading and syncronising "Bitcoin Core" full node software, it then begins to help the network by using your PC power to validate transactions (i think).

Does this mean you are mining solo?
Or do you still have to buy ridiculously priced hardware and then join a pool?

The main bitcoin site gives no info about this at all! And people like me cannot find any answers using google.

If it doesn't mine then why would it be validating transactions?
Does any software actually mine using your own DESKTOP PC resources rather than buying third party hardware?

Thanks guys

your post help me to understand more things i dont know...thanks to all the ones who reply also...
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 501



View Profile
November 09, 2014, 09:46:27 AM
 #9

I used to run a full node, but the machine it was running on died, so now I don't.  Must virtualise it and stick it in Hyper-V. 

vm1990
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1000


bloginhell.me


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2014, 05:35:17 PM
 #10

i simply run the node on the back end of some servers, im renting the servers anyway so might as well run as much as i can on them. feel like im getting more value that way XD

▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
.JOIN THE CLUB !
 Bitcointalk.club
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
BLOG:  www.bloginhell.me        BTC: 192tyaiwWxJ2UhSxUCbQW4JuA3Le5CEhWH                 Free 5GB Storage Cloud.Bloginhell.me 
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!