Bitcoin Forum
January 22, 2019, 08:10:19 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can i use VPS for mining?  (Read 2617 times)
nguyenducquy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 01:31:01 PM
 #1

The tittle said all, if yes, can any1 teach me how to do that.
My case: cointelect

1548187819
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548187819

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548187819
Reply with quote  #2

1548187819
Report to moderator
1548187819
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548187819

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548187819
Reply with quote  #2

1548187819
Report to moderator
1548187819
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548187819

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548187819
Reply with quote  #2

1548187819
Report to moderator
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1548187819
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548187819

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548187819
Reply with quote  #2

1548187819
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1149


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 24, 2014, 08:43:30 PM
 #2

No

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
nguyenducquy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 25, 2014, 04:01:30 AM
 #3

thanks ^^

BootstrapCoinDev
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
October 25, 2014, 02:15:49 PM
 #4

If you have VPS with root access, just connect to it via ssh, clone miner source from github, compile and its done. I've been used this for an entire week of mining http://www.qhoster.com/vps.html and never been banned.

bitnanigans
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 27, 2014, 06:07:16 AM
 #5

You can use a VPS for mining, but you're probably gonna consume way too much resources which might not sit well with some VPS providers.
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


House Nogleg


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2014, 12:04:34 PM
 #6

No
lies!~ 

you can use it for mining if you want to make monies equivalent to one fifth of one cent usd per month

Etanllah
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 427
Merit: 250



View Profile
October 27, 2014, 02:09:47 PM
 #7

You CAN, but it won't be worth your time or money. The VPS doesnt have nearly the resources needed to mine anything. You can run wallets on there though.

For instance a coin like MiracleCoin which did a proof of faucet would work. All you had to do was keep the wallet open and collect coins.

I think BitNet (VPNcoin) is currently doing that as well.
mullerdan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 29, 2014, 12:59:08 PM
 #8

if the vps doesnt have a GPU you will not mine a lot
guitarplinker
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
October 29, 2014, 01:31:01 PM
 #9

You CAN, but it won't be worth your time or money. The VPS doesnt have nearly the resources needed to mine anything. You can run wallets on there though.

For instance a coin like MiracleCoin which did a proof of faucet would work. All you had to do was keep the wallet open and collect coins.

I think BitNet (VPNcoin) is currently doing that as well.
Yeah you could always try running a node for a coin that rewards node providers. I'm not sure what's going on with Darkcoin, but it might be worth looking into.
TheBomber999
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1001


"shh, he's coding..."


View Profile
October 29, 2014, 10:08:53 PM
 #10

VPS havan't good GPU, or not?

You either die a developer, or live long enough to see yourself become the scammer.
O muori da programmatore, o vivi tanto a lungo da diventare uno scammer.
superresistant
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1087



View Profile
October 30, 2014, 01:13:58 PM
 #11

 
Of course you can but it is not profitable with Bitcoin.
Some altcoin can be profitable but you need to be expert.
Some1else0
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 02, 2014, 08:41:30 PM
 #12

You really won't make very much (if anything) mining on a VPS. You could, many years ago though.
kingcolex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1055


Anonymous bitcoin mixer


View Profile
November 03, 2014, 01:50:57 AM
 #13

No
lies!~ 

you can use it for mining if you want to make monies equivalent to one fifth of one cent usd per month

Well there are some cpu coins that may make a bit more than that.














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1149


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 03, 2014, 01:58:05 AM
 #14

The original poster accepted the only realistic answer which was no and moved on. Locking the thread to stop wasting time and getting more bumps on this pointless discussion.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!