Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 09:22:59 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Powercolor 7990  (Read 13617 times)
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
June 02, 2012, 02:46:43 AM
 #101

17 phases !?!??!?!?!?!!

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
1481318579
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481318579

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481318579
Reply with quote  #2

1481318579
Report to moderator
1481318579
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481318579

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481318579
Reply with quote  #2

1481318579
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
June 02, 2012, 03:01:18 AM
 #102

17 phases !?!??!?!?!?!!

With 500+ Watts running thru there, i'm assuming they prolly had to just to keep the temps down.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
June 02, 2012, 03:15:54 AM
 #103

Not to sound like a huge n00b, but what is a "phase"?

Mousepotato
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
June 02, 2012, 03:29:59 AM
 #104

Not to sound like a huge n00b, but what is a "phase"?
Since power regulators are cheap, they are usually run in parallel instead of using one or two really big ones. The number of parallel regulators is the number of phases. Usually, each regulator chip also has it's own control signal pin from the voltage (PWM) controller, so they can be controlled individually for efficiency.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


View Profile
June 02, 2012, 03:31:26 AM
 #105

Not to sound like a huge n00b, but what is a "phase"?
Very simply, think of it as 17 power supplies in parallel. It's a little more complicated than that (the different phases in the switching power supply switch at different time to help reduce ripple and whatnot), but that's basically what it does.
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
June 02, 2012, 03:32:29 AM
 #106

Not to sound like a huge n00b, but what is a "phase"?

google it.

in an extremely dumbed down way of putting it though, more phases = better Tongue

I believe more is supposed to fight any sort of voltage droop from high loads. Usually doing a higher power load will reduce the voltage consequently, unless you have higher quality power hardware. you can see this easily with any sort of hardware monitor program and a stress tester. chances are if you run a stress tester program, your 12v sensor will drop a couple of percent, maybe less if you have very good quality power supply. The same happens to cpu core voltage. if you have bad power hardware on the motherboard, your core voltage will droop under stress (my evga 790i sli ultra had this problem bad. lost nearly 0.08v when under full load on quad core overclock)

If you couldn't tell, I don't know what constitutes as a "phase" either Tongue I can count them on a motherboard though.

bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 01:33:57 AM
 #107

Quote
I can count them on a motherboard though.

Never could. I don't also understand the difference between say 24 phases and 8+2 or something like that for mobos.

I think the question here is go 7970x2 or reference 7990s ( if these even exist ) Huh
cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 03:06:56 AM
 #108


I don't also understand the difference between say 24 phases and 8+2 or something like that for mobos.


The more phases, the less voltage spikes.  You know, when cpu's are oc'd to 1.4v.. a voltage spike could fry it.

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 04:01:09 AM
 #109

Quote
I can count them on a motherboard though.

Never could. I don't also understand the difference between say 24 phases and 8+2 or something like that for mobos.

I think the question here is go 7970x2 or reference 7990s ( if these even exist ) Huh

But as always, Wikipedia knows.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buck_converter#Multiphase_buck

Say you have a 10 phase power supply that runs at 100kHz. That's one switching every 10us. Now, instead of switching them all at the same time, you'd switch one at t=0, one at t=1us, the next at t=2us ... and the last as t=9us, before the cycle repeats. It's multiphase because they're the same supplied, but they're out of phase with each other, similar to how 3 phase AC power lines are 120 degrees out of phase.
multi#lord
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66


LSD


View Profile
June 05, 2012, 10:20:40 AM
 #110

http://www.techpowerup.com/167182/PowerColor-HD-7970-X2-Devil-13-Taken-Apart.html

7970 X2 Board shots: (More in above link)




ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
June 05, 2012, 11:30:36 AM
 #111

Now thats the porn I came here to see.

Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
June 05, 2012, 01:48:19 PM
 #112

Jesus, 3 8 pins and an external power supply jack.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
June 05, 2012, 01:54:55 PM
 #113

Jesus, 3 8 pins and an external power supply jack.

That's not a DC jack. That's the big red OC button seen in the other pictures.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 05, 2012, 05:25:19 PM
 #114

Forget about this monster.

Where is my tame 7990 Huh

With FPGAs and ASICs anyone buying this overpriced crap is a mugu / fool !
Tomatocage
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

brb keeping up with the Kardashians


View Profile
June 05, 2012, 05:26:36 PM
 #115

Agreed.  I'm keeping my eye on Computex for the (alleged) 7990 announcement.

THIS SPOT FOR RENT* | GPG ID: 4880D85C | 1% Escrow | 8% IPO/ICO Escrow services Temporarily Closed | Bitcointalk is the ONLY place where I use this name (No Skype/IRC/YIM/AIM/etc) | 13CsmTqGNwvFXb7tD9yFvJcEYCDTB8wQTS | Beware of these SCAM sites! | *Sponsored Link
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 05, 2012, 05:28:23 PM
 #116

Agreed.  I'm keeping my eye on Computex for the (alleged) 7990 announcement.

The reason I am thinking is because I would say the regular 7990 cherry picked low leakage chips would be easier to get maximum MH/W compared to the above GAMER chips which need like 500 W alone to function properly.

It looks like it was made to OC not be efficient for mining at all  Cry
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
June 05, 2012, 05:31:07 PM
 #117

The reason I am thinking is because I would say the regular 7990 cherry picked low leakage chips would be easier to get maximum MH/W compared to the above GAMER chips which need like 500 W alone to function properly.

Good point! I'll take cherry-picked chips (higher ASIC quality?) over whatever hodge podge of 7970 GPUs that PowerColor decides to slap onto the same board.

Mousepotato
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 05, 2012, 05:35:38 PM
 #118

The reason I am thinking is because I would say the regular 7990 cherry picked low leakage chips would be easier to get maximum MH/W compared to the above GAMER chips which need like 500 W alone to function properly.

Good point! I'll take cherry-picked chips (higher ASIC quality?) over whatever hodge podge of 7970 GPUs that PowerColor decides to slap onto the same board.

Yes but I think AMD has given up with 7990 as it cannot compete with GTX 690 at any rate ( gaming / perf ) and mining is small marketshare and they also had thermal issues trying to cool so much heat with only one fan.

Hope I am wrong !
waterboyserver
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
June 05, 2012, 09:25:48 PM
 #119

This is kind of a interesting concept, though do not how long/valuable this would be for mining: two Radeons 7970s (?) integrated on one motherboard, but no pcie expansion slots:

http://vr-zone.com/articles/asus-zeus-combines-x79-hedt-with-dual-gpu/16152.html



bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 05, 2012, 11:12:04 PM
 #120

Looks really nice but too expensive and not enough quantities and also much more expensive than just two 7970s and cheap mobo I think especially using SB-E CPU ? No way it's gonna be cheap !
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!