Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 02:19:48 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Noob Question About Power Plugs to GPUs  (Read 131 times)
UrbanCryptoGuy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
December 10, 2017, 08:20:03 PM
 #1

I have a question about powering GPU's, that's likely ridiculously simple.

I have 6 EVGA 1070 TI's and each has two 6 pin inputs going to it. If I'm powering these off an EVGA 1000 watt P2 power supply, do run two to 6 pins to every GPU? If I do that, then I don't have enough 6 pins for every card. I.E, I'd have two 6 pin connectors off each PS output to one card. Only allowing me to connect 3 cards. How do I get the 12 connections I need for the GPUs off the 6 connector PS?

Thanks!
1513001988
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513001988

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513001988
Reply with quote  #2

1513001988
Report to moderator
1513001988
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513001988

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513001988
Reply with quote  #2

1513001988
Report to moderator
1513001988
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513001988

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513001988
Reply with quote  #2

1513001988
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
CryptoWatcher420
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294

Small Time Miner, Rig Builder, Crypto Trader


View Profile
December 10, 2017, 08:21:33 PM
 #2

I have a question about powering GPU's, that's likely ridiculously simple.

I have 6 EVGA 1070 TI's and each has two 6 pin inputs going to it. If I'm powering these off an EVGA 1000 watt P2 power supply, do run two to 6 pins to every GPU? If I do that, then I don't have enough 6 pins for every card. I.E, I'd have two 6 pin connectors off each PS output to one card. Only allowing me to connect 3 cards. How do I get the 12 connections I need for the GPUs off the 6 connector PS?

Thanks!
NVidia gpus need to have both powered to run the only options you have are to get a high wattage server psu with a breakout board that supports 12 to 14 cables OR the only other option is to get 2 atx power supplies and a add2psu to turn on the second psu, but that just adds another failure point and costs bit more than the server psu method

Support Custom PCI-Express/riser cables & EPS 12v plus pigtail for a pico Psu for GPU MINING RIGS! - Donations are welcome and help keep things going!
Donations - 15aSLkuKDF5BvV6E3HUy4b5UYyamB97Fb7
Join Me on Discord! https://discord.gg/VDwWFcK
<iframe src="https://discordapp.com/widget?id=290395610165805056&theme=dark" width="350" height="500" allowtransparency="true" frameborder="0"></iframe>
UrbanCryptoGuy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
December 10, 2017, 09:19:42 PM
 #3

That's what I thought, but if you watch VoskCoin, he uses one 1000 watt EVGA Gold to power 6 cards.
https://youtu.be/QBmZG4pnr6A

So is he splitting each 6 pin to (2) 8 pins?
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


View Profile
December 10, 2017, 10:49:50 PM
 #4

I've never seen an EVGA 1070 ti that has 2 *6* pin connectors - the SC has a single 8-pin, the FTW has an 8 + 6.

 Yes, you DO need to power both on EVGA cards that have both, or the card BIOS will complain about it and not let you use the card at all.

 VoskCoin was using the SC model in his 6 card rig, and settings set for high efficiency (106 watts or so per card).



toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120


View Profile
December 10, 2017, 10:53:31 PM
 #5

my EVGA 1070 ti has one 8  pin peci  plug.

I have the EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 Ti SC GAMING so

QuintLeo is right


MY 1080 has 2


That's what I thought, but if you watch VoskCoin, he uses one 1000 watt EVGA Gold to power 6 cards.
https://youtu.be/QBmZG4pnr6A

So is he splitting each 6 pin to (2) 8 pins?



form what the video shows hes using one splitter per card and you still need to power the pcei raisers cards, i don't use the power plug on the MB sense i use powered raiser cards, you don't need to use the four pin power plugs on the MB you can but i don't think it mater much unless your not using powered raiser cards.

I don't use ATX pSU i use server PSU with a DC 12V 160W 24Pin Pico ATX Switch that only powers the MB and SSD an power the EPS plug on the MB plugged directly into the PSU with a cable i made from idea's off the forums here.
UrbanCryptoGuy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
December 10, 2017, 11:20:30 PM
 #6

Thanks both for answering (I've set my current rig based on reading several of your posts @QuintLeo).
I've got each set to +200, +700, 126w, 70 for temp, and 52% Fan Speed (Averaging 510 Sols/s per card thanks to you!)

Checked again. Looks like the FTW2 has (2) 8-pin (6+2) on each 1070 ti.


So couldn't I use PCI-E Dual 8-Pin (6+2 Pin) Y-Splitter to each card?
Something like this: https://www.amazon.com/PCI-Express-Y-Splitter-Adapter-Converter-Gaming/dp/B004PBJARO

Total power would not exceed 756watts.
Is there a max wattage on each VGA out of the EVGA 1000 P2?

@toptek, the SATA splitters offer three outputs - what is the issue with 2 cards per SATA output on PS?
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120


View Profile
December 10, 2017, 11:27:05 PM
 #7

Thanks both for answering (I've set my current rig based on reading several of your posts @QuintLeo).
I've got each set to +200, +700, 126w, 70 for temp, and 52% Fan Speed (Averaging 1520 Sols/s per card thanks to you!)

Checked again. Looks like the FTW2 has (2) 8-pin (6+2) on each 1070 ti.


So couldn't I use PCI-E Dual 8-Pin (6+2 Pin) Y-Splitter to each card?
Something like this: https://www.amazon.com/PCI-Express-Y-Splitter-Adapter-Converter-Gaming/dp/B004PBJARO

Total power would not exceed 756watts.
Is there a max wattage on each VGA out of the EVGA 1000 P2?

@toptek, the SATA splitters offer three outputs - what is the issue with 2 cards per SATA output on PS?


I don't know i haven't done it that way for a while because it's has some kind of issue that the Sata cable might burn out due to they don't supply enough power that the GPU can need, which is a debate thing for some.

I don't use SATA plugs other then for ssd's, i use raiser cards  with pcei express plug on the raiser and plug them directly into the server psu with pcei cables. when some one on the forums said it's safe to plug it all directly into the Server Psu with break out boards and pcei cables, it does seem safer to me.  i all ways wanted to do it that way and not use the sata plug other then for SSD.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073RBP3V6/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

like this raiser

an the 1000 watt is fine for about 7 cards maybe 8 ,beyond 8 might be pushing the limits .  i use 2400 watt server psu's per rig i know it's over kill but i can plug more cards per rig if i want that way.
UrbanCryptoGuy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
Today at 12:29:04 AM
 #8

I'd like to go the PSU route, but stuck with this EVGA 1000w P2 until I can upgrade.
0
So I think for providing power to the cards - a 6-pin to 6+2 cable is the answer - then I can get the extra power cables.
The remaining issue is how to get power to all the Risers. If the PERF (peripherals) output on the PS will power a riser, then I have 4 SATA and 2 PERF.

Is there any reason to believe that 2 SATA to MOLEX cables can't run from one SATA cable to PS?
Then I can run two PCI-E risers off of 1 SATA PS connection.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!