Bitcoin Forum
September 16, 2019, 05:05:53 AM *
News: If you like a topic and you see an orange "bump" link, click it. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Node stats  (Read 38 times)
ziggybtc9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 3


View Profile
September 11, 2019, 04:00:17 PM
 #1

So I've been running a (pruned) node for about a week. All the status related functions (getinfo, getnettotals, getnetworkinfo etc), as well as wallet operations and all seem to be working ok.

When I'm watching debug.log, I don't see a lot takes place though. I can mostly see the regular UpdateTip messages, and similar "housekeeping" notifications, but not much more.

How can I figure out more about what my node is doing? if it verifies transactions sent from elsewhere, is it logged anywhere? I can see the mempool, that's ok, but is there a deeper level of monitoring that can be done?
1568610353
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568610353

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568610353
Reply with quote  #2

1568610353
Report to moderator
1568610353
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568610353

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568610353
Reply with quote  #2

1568610353
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
BitCryptex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 1012


Write @BitCryptex or quote my post to notify me


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2019, 04:12:51 PM
 #2

How can I figure out more about what my node is doing? if it verifies transactions sent from elsewhere, is it logged anywhere?

Since you are not running a full node, it only shares with the other nodes the blocks you are temporarily holding. Your node verifies transactions and blocks received from other nodes all the time. I don't think that you can monitor it closer than the commands you mentioned.

Edit: Actually, you might be interested in this. I am not sure if you added 'debug=1' to your startup parameters.

ziggybtc9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 3


View Profile
September 11, 2019, 04:49:40 PM
 #3

Thanks, I also just discovered now how to set specific logging with bitcoin-cli, for example:

Code:
bitcoin-cli logging "[\"all\"]" "[\"tor\"]"

includes all categories, except tor.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!