Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2018, 08:44:19 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [Guide] Dogie's Comprehensive Bitmain Antminer C1 Setup [HD]  (Read 28528 times)
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1053


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
November 29, 2014, 04:45:05 PM
 #21

I have the C1

I meant what were the PSUs Tongue

1540284259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540284259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540284259
Reply with quote  #2

1540284259
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
tbolt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 29, 2014, 05:10:13 PM
 #22

Dogie,

Recommend adding this:
locohammerhead
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 531
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 30, 2014, 12:42:51 AM
 #23

I have the C1

I meant what were the PSUs Tongue

lol sorry.  Two raidmax cobra power 500 watt PSU RX-500AF-B

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1053


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2014, 09:43:30 AM
 #24

I have the C1

I meant what were the PSUs Tongue

lol sorry.  Two raidmax cobra power 500 watt PSU RX-500AF-B

Shitty PSU is shitty unfortunately, wait on your big one.

entr04y
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 01, 2014, 12:39:30 PM
 #25

Do you have a source for the quick release fittings?  Any idea how much the flow rate is restricted through those (if at all)?
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1053


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2014, 02:17:32 PM
 #26

Do you have a source for the quick release fittings?  Any idea how much the flow rate is restricted through those (if at all)?

Source? Any watercooling shop online. You'll probably find barb fittings easier than compression fittings, just need an 8mm ID. Flow is restricted slightly but it shouldn't be meaningful in our application.

MasterRadix
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 07, 2014, 11:45:03 AM
 #27

Is there any way to fake the MAC address on a C1?
GigaBit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 400
Merit: 250

The Gold Miner


View Profile
December 08, 2014, 10:37:47 PM
 #28

Hey, I have a few questions.

I'd rather not import coolant, would it just be aluminum safe coolant?


-I'd rather be mining
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1117


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
December 09, 2014, 12:20:27 AM
 #29

Where do you  get the coolant? I have automotive anti-freeze coolant, is that doable? How much coolant do you need?
An excellent source for everything dealing with liquid cooling is Koolance http://koolance.com/ They have coolant, tubing, much better pumps and reservoirs, and those nifty 'dripless' quick connect Doggie shows.

Personally, I will be using 3/8" (8mm) ID tubing vs the 1/4" (6mm) ID because I will be using a longer run between the radiator and miner. Like 2 meters each way.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1117


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
December 09, 2014, 12:27:02 AM
 #30

Hey, I have a few questions.

I'd rather not import coolant, would it just be aluminum safe coolant?

Is not just a matter of aluminum safe. Automotive coolants are designed for, well, cars/trucks and the operating conditions their engines place on the coolant - and what the engines require from the coolant. In short, additives (generally silicates) are added which form a film on the cooling passages. Great for protecting an engine with large surfaces and cooling passages. Terrible for precision cooling needs.

Check koolance.com for CPU grade coolants or just search for 'CPU liquid cooling'. You'll find lots of suppliers.

Truth be told, the biggest thing CPU coolants provide aside from colors is algicides/antimicrobials to cut down on things wanting to grow in the nice warm coolant. If you keep an eye on it from time to time using either DI or distilled water is just fine assuming there is no copper or brass in the system.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1053


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2014, 01:38:03 AM
 #31

Where do you  get the coolant? I have automotive anti-freeze coolant, is that doable? How much coolant do you need?
An excellent source for everything dealing with liquid cooling is Koolance http://koolance.com/ They have coolant, tubing, much better pumps and reservoirs, and those nifty 'dripless' quick connect Dogie shows.

Personally, I will be using 3/8" (8mm) ID tubing vs the 1/4" (6mm) ID because I will be using a longer run between the radiator and miner. Like 2 meters each way.

Doesn't KL have an annoying minimum order value? Also the stock tubing is 8mm ID anyway. You get ~3m in the pack.

GigaBit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 400
Merit: 250

The Gold Miner


View Profile
December 09, 2014, 02:28:05 AM
 #32

Hey, I have a few questions.

I'd rather not import coolant, would it just be aluminum safe coolant?

Is not just a matter of aluminum safe. Automotive coolants are designed for, well, cars/trucks and the operating conditions their engines place on the coolant - and what the engines require from the coolant. In short, additives (generally silicates) are added which form a film on the cooling passages. Great for protecting an engine with large surfaces and cooling passages. Terrible for precision cooling needs.

Check koolance.com for CPU grade coolants or just search for 'CPU liquid cooling'. You'll find lots of suppliers.

Truth be told, the biggest thing CPU coolants provide aside from colors is algicides/antimicrobials to cut down on things wanting to grow in the nice warm coolant. If you keep an eye on it from time to time using either DI or distilled water is just fine assuming there is no copper or brass in the system.

Thanks!  even if I don't buy there, I'll know what to buy.  Sweet guide btw, will use it later once I get them.

-I'd rather be mining
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1053


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2014, 02:31:28 AM
 #33

Hey, I have a few questions.

I'd rather not import coolant, would it just be aluminum safe coolant?

Is not just a matter of aluminum safe. Automotive coolants are designed for, well, cars/trucks and the operating conditions their engines place on the coolant - and what the engines require from the coolant. In short, additives (generally silicates) are added which form a film on the cooling passages. Great for protecting an engine with large surfaces and cooling passages. Terrible for precision cooling needs.

Check koolance.com for CPU grade coolants or just search for 'CPU liquid cooling'. You'll find lots of suppliers.

Truth be told, the biggest thing CPU coolants provide aside from colors is algicides/antimicrobials to cut down on things wanting to grow in the nice warm coolant. If you keep an eye on it from time to time using either DI or distilled water is just fine assuming there is no copper or brass in the system.

Thanks!  even if I don't buy there, I'll know what to buy.  Sweet guide btw, will use it later once I get them.

No problem

NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1117


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
December 09, 2014, 02:48:25 AM
 #34

Where do you  get the coolant? I have automotive anti-freeze coolant, is that doable? How much coolant do you need?
An excellent source for everything dealing with liquid cooling is Koolance http://koolance.com/ They have coolant, tubing, much better pumps and reservoirs, and those nifty 'dripless' quick connect Dogie shows.

Personally, I will be using 3/8" (8mm) ID tubing vs the 1/4" (6mm) ID because I will be using a longer run between the radiator and miner. Like 2 meters each way.

Doesn't KL have an annoying minimum order value? Also the stock tubing is 8mm ID anyway. You get ~3m in the pack.
dunna know about minimum order. I always seem to have no problem spending a tidy sum there... like a heap of BSP fittings for the 3/8 tubing, a flow meter, tubing, QC's.....

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
GigaBit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 400
Merit: 250

The Gold Miner


View Profile
December 14, 2014, 12:53:19 AM
 #35

Few other questions if I may...  Roll Eyes

Is the cooling kit stated in OP a step above from what Bitmain offers?

I keep reading horror stories of epic proportions, about those SysCooling pumps failing left right and center.

Definitely something I want to avoid, being the low-quality hatin' bastard that I am.

There's a limit though...

I priced a custom kit and went up to near U$300... not really feasible on a per unit basis.

If I could get away with buying the cheaper kit, which is economical and then buying a more expensive pump, I'm still a step ahead.

However, I need to get a reasonable expectation of the quality of the rad/fan, fittings and brackets of said "upgraded cooling kit"...

Obviously I don't want to spend time buying and replacing pumps and/or rads; so, advice is greatly appreciated.

Plus, when BitmainTech says 3.0M Head Pressure and 450L/h flow, how far above that can I go?

Surely there's an overkill at some point, I'd like to know what the OK point is  Grin

Edit: Is it ok to use a pair of 650w PSU's?  I guess one could power each card independently... however, I'm not 100% on that.


-I'd rather be mining
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1053


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2014, 01:35:35 AM
 #36

Is the cooling kit stated in OP a step above from what Bitmain offers? Plus, when BitmainTech says 3.0M Head Pressure and 450L/h flow, how far above that can I go?
Edit: Is it ok to use a pair of 650w PSU's?  I guess one could power each card independently... however, I'm not 100% on that.

It is the syscooling / Bitmain kit. You can go as far above it as you want, but you'll just be wasting electricity and costing more with an expensive pump. Pair of PSUs is fine, just don't plug two into one PCB.

TracerX
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 918
Merit: 1002



View Profile
December 14, 2014, 05:33:01 AM
 #37

Is there any way to fake the MAC address on a C1?

Not easily, unfortunately.  Are you needing to snake a firewall?
GigaBit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 400
Merit: 250

The Gold Miner


View Profile
December 14, 2014, 06:29:51 PM
 #38

Is the cooling kit stated in OP a step above from what Bitmain offers? Plus, when BitmainTech says 3.0M Head Pressure and 450L/h flow, how far above that can I go?
Edit: Is it ok to use a pair of 650w PSU's?  I guess one could power each card independently... however, I'm not 100% on that.

It is the syscooling / Bitmain kit. You can go as far above it as you want, but you'll just be wasting electricity and costing more with an expensive pump. Pair of PSUs is fine, just don't plug two into one PCB.

Much Thanks dogie Smiley

I was looking at a Swiftec pump kit, to at least, serve as replacement; it's slightly faster but with nearly twice the recommended head pressure.

Plus I read Swiftec makes a much more reliable pump and has better service than SysCooling.

Or I could even use the SysCooling pumps as backups, we'll see what happens if I bite the bullet and invest in a reliable pump.

If worse comes to worse, I can always put on stronger fans but those 28Nm from Bitmain are really cool to begin with.

At least now with your help (and others of course), I know where I'm heading and got a good plan of attack.

PS: I ordered a few bottles of IceDragon coolant... yes, it's shockingly expensive but the makers also claims you never need to replace it under normal use.  Every time I invested in NanoTech products, the purchase exceeded my expectations; we'll see what happens, I'll update once I got a few C1's up and running.  Right now, just re-writing my mining plan for adaptation to water cooling.

-I'd rather be mining
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1053


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2014, 07:01:43 PM
 #39

Is the cooling kit stated in OP a step above from what Bitmain offers? Plus, when BitmainTech says 3.0M Head Pressure and 450L/h flow, how far above that can I go?
Edit: Is it ok to use a pair of 650w PSU's?  I guess one could power each card independently... however, I'm not 100% on that.

It is the syscooling / Bitmain kit. You can go as far above it as you want, but you'll just be wasting electricity and costing more with an expensive pump. Pair of PSUs is fine, just don't plug two into one PCB.

Much Thanks dogie Smiley

I was looking at a Swiftec pump kit, to at least, serve as replacement; it's slightly faster but with nearly twice the recommended head pressure.

Plus I read Swiftec makes a much more reliable pump and has better service than SysCooling.

Or I could even use the SysCooling pumps as backups, we'll see what happens if I bite the bullet and invest in a reliable pump.

If I were you, I'd just buy two C1 cooling kits. For $50 you have an exact replica backup set of watercooling. Those 360mm radiators cost $60 in the US anyway!

GigaBit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 400
Merit: 250

The Gold Miner


View Profile
December 14, 2014, 08:24:56 PM
 #40

Is the cooling kit stated in OP a step above from what Bitmain offers? Plus, when BitmainTech says 3.0M Head Pressure and 450L/h flow, how far above that can I go?
Edit: Is it ok to use a pair of 650w PSU's?  I guess one could power each card independently... however, I'm not 100% on that.

It is the syscooling / Bitmain kit. You can go as far above it as you want, but you'll just be wasting electricity and costing more with an expensive pump. Pair of PSUs is fine, just don't plug two into one PCB.

Much Thanks dogie Smiley

I was looking at a Swiftec pump kit, to at least, serve as replacement; it's slightly faster but with nearly twice the recommended head pressure.

Plus I read Swiftec makes a much more reliable pump and has better service than SysCooling.

Or I could even use the SysCooling pumps as backups, we'll see what happens if I bite the bullet and invest in a reliable pump.

If I were you, I'd just buy two C1 cooling kits. For $50 you have an exact replica backup set of watercooling. Those 360mm radiators cost $60 in the US anyway!

LOL - You're absolutely right, great idea Wink

That's a gem of a statement.

I'm still gonna get Swiftec pumps, one at first to try them and compare but I'll overbuy SysCooling kits.

It's true, even $60 is a good bargain for tricore rads in the US.

Plus I can always put the SysCooling pumps for sale on eBay auctions, it might cover a part of the cost of the Swiftec ones  Wink

If they do in fact, outclass them. 

All I see is horror stories right, no one comes on to complain about the good stuff....  Grin

-I'd rather be mining
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!