Bitcoin Forum
August 23, 2017, 12:37:05 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Building a Mining Rig?  (Read 990 times)
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
May 16, 2011, 08:13:28 PM
 #1

Hey guys,

So I'm thinking about building a sidekick mining rig, with something like 5870's or 5850's in it. If I'm planning to get multiple cards, which mobo should I get for them? Should I Crossfire or not?

Also, people say when building a rig, you should get the least powerful core. However, when mining, doesn't the CPU get stressed? Are you sure that the CPU isn't used at all?

I'll post more questions later if I have them.

Thanks Cheesy

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
1503491825
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503491825

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503491825
Reply with quote  #2

1503491825
Report to moderator
1503491825
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503491825

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503491825
Reply with quote  #2

1503491825
Report to moderator
"Your bitcoin is secured in a way that is physically impossible for others to access, no matter for what reason, no matter how good the excuse, no matter a majority of miners, no matter what." -- gmaxwell
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503491825
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503491825

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503491825
Reply with quote  #2

1503491825
Report to moderator
1503491825
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503491825

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503491825
Reply with quote  #2

1503491825
Report to moderator
1503491825
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503491825

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503491825
Reply with quote  #2

1503491825
Report to moderator
Convery
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 293


Watching : Silicon Valley S3 & Game Of Thrones S7


View Profile
May 16, 2011, 08:28:21 PM
 #2

If you get a Sempron 145 (second cheapest) you could 'unlock' it to a dual core. That should be more then enough for any rig :3
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
May 16, 2011, 10:29:53 PM
 #3

Which mobo should I get? What's the most cost efficient mobo for getting multiple cards? 3 way, 4 way, etc?

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!