Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 12:56:32 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Error building the block database  (Read 1909 times)
Raybender
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
November 09, 2014, 01:07:13 AM
 #1

Ok so my bitcoin core wallet experienced the problem mentioned above. I have tried reinstalling and the client still refuses to open.

Is there anyway I can get it to run again or transfer the funds to multibit without opening the bitcoin core client on my pc?

Any help is appreciated.

Further info:
Seems like my laptop has an attack from a variant of win32 watchman.d which I am unable to clean. I am afraid reformatting my lose my bitcoin core money as I have some money in there
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513040192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513040192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513040192
Reply with quote  #2

1513040192
Report to moderator
1513040192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513040192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513040192
Reply with quote  #2

1513040192
Report to moderator
1513040192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513040192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513040192
Reply with quote  #2

1513040192
Report to moderator
shorena
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


ALL escrow is signed! https://keybase.io/verify


View Profile WWW
November 09, 2014, 08:41:15 AM
 #2

Dont try to work with an infected system. Shut it down boot from a fresh and clean (!) rescue disk. usually any linux distro will do, use live mode when booting and backup all important data. The wallet.dat is all you need for your bitcoin. Its path can be found here [1].  Reinstall a fresh OS and restore. You might want to do an external scan for the virus to understand where it came from. This can help to avoid another infection.



[1] https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Data_directory

chaosknight
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 04:46:01 AM
 #3

first of all you should backup your wallet.dat file that stores all your money and transaction history
you can find this file in bitcoin block data file
if you haven't changed the default location of this when you run bitcoin first time then you can find this here
C:/Users/ "username"/ App data/roaming/bitcoin

where "username" is your account name on your PC
redHairy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
November 22, 2014, 10:53:12 AM
 #4

Ok so my bitcoin core wallet experienced the problem mentioned above. I have tried reinstalling and the client still refuses to open.

Is there anyway I can get it to run again or transfer the funds to multibit without opening the bitcoin core client on my pc?

Any help is appreciated.

Further info:
Seems like my laptop has an attack from a variant of win32 watchman.d which I am unable to clean. I am afraid reformatting my lose my bitcoin core money as I have some money in there

best practice:

1) save your %AppData%Roaming\Bitcoin\wallet.dat on usb: remebre.. in this file you have aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaall yours BTC.
2) format the pc to ensure Virus killing
3) reinstall pc
4) reinstall BTC QT-Wallet
5) overwrite %AppData%Roaming\Bitcoin\wallet.dat with usb wallet.dat

well done!!!

no virus... and all your BTC are secured and availabe!!!


hexafraction
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378

Tips welcomed: 1CF4GhXX1RhCaGzWztgE1YZZUcSpoqTbsJ


View Profile
December 01, 2014, 01:23:13 AM
 #5

Ok so my bitcoin core wallet experienced the problem mentioned above. I have tried reinstalling and the client still refuses to open.

Is there anyway I can get it to run again or transfer the funds to multibit without opening the bitcoin core client on my pc?

Any help is appreciated.

Further info:
Seems like my laptop has an attack from a variant of win32 watchman.d which I am unable to clean. I am afraid reformatting my lose my bitcoin core money as I have some money in there

best practice:

1) save your %AppData%Roaming\Bitcoin\wallet.dat on usb: remebre.. in this file you have aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaall yours BTC.
2) format the pc to ensure Virus killing
3) reinstall pc
4) reinstall BTC QT-Wallet
5) overwrite %AppData%Roaming\Bitcoin\wallet.dat with usb wallet.dat

well done!!!

no virus... and all your BTC are secured and availabe!!!



This is no good if the malware uses external storage as an attack vector and is able to spread itself through that. A Linux rescue CD should be used.

I have recently become active again after a long period of inactivity. Cryptographic proof that my account has not been compromised is available.
redHairy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
December 01, 2014, 01:44:33 PM
 #6

Ok so my bitcoin core wallet experienced the problem mentioned above. I have tried reinstalling and the client still refuses to open.

Is there anyway I can get it to run again or transfer the funds to multibit without opening the bitcoin core client on my pc?

Any help is appreciated.

Further info:
Seems like my laptop has an attack from a variant of win32 watchman.d which I am unable to clean. I am afraid reformatting my lose my bitcoin core money as I have some money in there

best practice:

1) save your %AppData%Roaming\Bitcoin\wallet.dat on usb: remebre.. in this file you have aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaall yours BTC.
2) format the pc to ensure Virus killing
3) reinstall pc
4) reinstall BTC QT-Wallet
5) overwrite %AppData%Roaming\Bitcoin\wallet.dat with usb wallet.dat

well done!!!

no virus... and all your BTC are secured and availabe!!!



This is no good if the malware uses external storage as an attack vector and is able to spread itself through that. A Linux rescue CD should be used.

if virus use external storage he need a link to the infected client too...
when you reinstall you broke this link for sure!!


hexafraction
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378

Tips welcomed: 1CF4GhXX1RhCaGzWztgE1YZZUcSpoqTbsJ


View Profile
December 01, 2014, 10:41:20 PM
 #7


if virus use external storage he need a link to the infected client too...
when you reinstall you broke this link for sure!!

No, that is wrong. A piece of malware that spreads over external storage will simply re-infect when the wallet backup is restored from that storage.

I have recently become active again after a long period of inactivity. Cryptographic proof that my account has not been compromised is available.
redHairy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
December 04, 2014, 03:52:10 PM
 #8


if virus use external storage he need a link to the infected client too...
when you reinstall you broke this link for sure!!

No, that is wrong. A piece of malware that spreads over external storage will simply re-infect when the wallet backup is restored from that storage.

but you mean who the virus source is on external drive???
on USB drive/pen???

if so it is mor simple!!

just format usb!!!

and you do not need to reinstall operating system!

hexafraction
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378

Tips welcomed: 1CF4GhXX1RhCaGzWztgE1YZZUcSpoqTbsJ


View Profile
December 04, 2014, 05:23:45 PM
 #9


if virus use external storage he need a link to the infected client too...
when you reinstall you broke this link for sure!!

No, that is wrong. A piece of malware that spreads over external storage will simply re-infect when the wallet backup is restored from that storage.

but you mean who the virus source is on external drive???
on USB drive/pen???

if so it is mor simple!!

just format usb!!!

and you do not need to reinstall operating system!

No, your comprehension is not very good. If the virus is on the machine and spreads through USB it will spread with the backup.

I have recently become active again after a long period of inactivity. Cryptographic proof that my account has not been compromised is available.
redHairy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
December 05, 2014, 10:57:56 AM
 #10


if virus use external storage he need a link to the infected client too...
when you reinstall you broke this link for sure!!

No, that is wrong. A piece of malware that spreads over external storage will simply re-infect when the wallet backup is restored from that storage.

but you mean who the virus source is on external drive???
on USB drive/pen???

if so it is mor simple!!

just format usb!!!

and you do not need to reinstall operating system!

No, your comprehension is not very good. If the virus is on the machine and spreads through USB it will spread with the backup.

sorry...
i'm trying to understand well...

but i'm not EN/US mothertongue..

try to get help from google but with not good results!!!

sorry...

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!