Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:10:37 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Litecoin for FPGA ?  (Read 1895 times)
PoorGirl
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30



View Profile
June 04, 2012, 06:22:42 AM
 #1

Hi Guys,

I read about FPGAs like the X6500 but wonder why all the code written for these micro-controllers target Bitcoin and not other similar eCurrencies like Litecoin ? My Excel tells me that for Litecoins I need less Mh/s to reach a target of x USD per day revenue. Besides finance, what limits FPGAs to mine for other coin-types ?

BTC-E.com API C++ Code: http://pastebin.com/YvxmCRL9
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481184637
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184637

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184637
Reply with quote  #2

1481184637
Report to moderator
1481184637
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184637

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184637
Reply with quote  #2

1481184637
Report to moderator
BePrivate
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 04, 2012, 06:28:49 AM
 #2

You have a good point here..
Fuzzy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
June 04, 2012, 07:25:03 AM
 #3

My Excel tells me that for Litecoins I need less Mh/s to reach a target of x USD per day revenue.

You will not get the same Mh/s mining LTC that you do for BTC on any device. Thus, mining Bitcoins on any current FPGA is more profitable, and is the sole currency people are buying FPGAs for.

ie, you may get 360 Mh/s mining BTC on a 6950, but the same card will only yield 0.4 Mh/s or 400 Kh/s if mining Litecoins.

I'm not even sure if the current FPGAs can run the script for LTC mining.
Greedi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


LitecoinTalk


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2012, 07:39:45 AM
 #4

wow, FPGA for litecoin, that could be a nice thing

LitecoinTalk - Sign up today!
Try out LTC-Aarade!
Buy Shares!
PoorGirl
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30



View Profile
June 04, 2012, 07:51:42 AM
 #5

Well, maybe you are right. Its 500x easier to generate 1 LTC compared to 1 BTC.

So in 1h = can make 500 LTC
Same as 1 BTC with same hardware

Sell Value is:

500 LTC = 1,27 USD
1 BTC = 5.2 USD

So while I can make 500x LTC compared to 1 BTC the final USD value is 4x lower ..

*brainfreeze*

BTC-E.com API C++ Code: http://pastebin.com/YvxmCRL9
Newar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


https://gliph.me/hUF


View Profile
June 04, 2012, 08:18:40 AM
 #6

So while I can make 500x LTC compared to 1 BTC the final USD value is 4x lower ..

*brainfreeze*
Hence it's better to mine BTC and buy LTC if you (really?) need them. My understanding is that it is even better to mine LTC on a GPU, i.e. the whole "CPU friendliness" of LTC is gone.

OTC rating | GPG keyid 1DC91318EE785FDE | Gliph: lightning bicycle tree music | Mycelium, a swift & secure Bitcoin client for Android | LocalBitcoins
matthewh3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
June 04, 2012, 12:57:46 PM
 #7

So while I can make 500x LTC compared to 1 BTC the final USD value is 4x lower ..

*brainfreeze*
Hence it's better to mine BTC and buy LTC if you (really?) need them. My understanding is that it is even better to mine LTC on a GPU, i.e. the whole "CPU friendliness" of LTC is gone.

It's still very easy to mine LTC on low spec CPU's. 

Fuzzy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
June 04, 2012, 11:15:42 PM
 #8

So while I can make 500x LTC compared to 1 BTC the final USD value is 4x lower ..

*brainfreeze*
Hence it's better to mine BTC and buy LTC if you (really?) need them. My understanding is that it is even better to mine LTC on a GPU, i.e. the whole "CPU friendliness" of LTC is gone.

It's still very easy to mine LTC on low spec CPU's. 

Just don't expect to be getting rich off of it. This is why the GPU hostility was so good for LTC, everyone and their grandma could make some and have fun with the whole "crypto currency" idea.

Once the Bitcoin GPUs begin to migrate, that'll no longer be the case  Embarrassed
pieppiep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402



View Profile
June 05, 2012, 01:17:25 PM
 #9

It's still very easy to mine LTC on low spec CPU's. 
It's also very easy to mine bitcoin on low spec CPU's.
Doesn't mean it is profitable.
bitcoinraffle.co
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80


BitcoinRaffle.co


View Profile WWW
June 05, 2012, 04:10:25 PM
 #10

It's still very easy to mine LTC on low spec CPU's. 

I'll second that, especially if you have a lab full of computers that sit idle 95% of the time.

50/50 Bitcoin Raffle!: 20 BTC Prize (50% to winner, 50% to winner's favorite charity), 0.01 BTC Tickets!
Newar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


https://gliph.me/hUF


View Profile
June 05, 2012, 05:24:17 PM
 #11

I'll second that, especially if you have a lab full of computers that sit idle 95% of the time.
But which one is more profitable?

I did CPU mine on a netbook to see how things work and with the out of the box settings the LTC miner did 4
KHash whereas the BTC miner did 2.

The rate LTC to BTC is somewhere factor 500.

How to make sense of all this?

OTC rating | GPG keyid 1DC91318EE785FDE | Gliph: lightning bicycle tree music | Mycelium, a swift & secure Bitcoin client for Android | LocalBitcoins
LiteBit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1057


OB://@XBTTRADER/STORE


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2012, 12:24:47 PM
 #12

So with the new cgminer release does that mean I can run it in --script mode on my FPGAs?

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!