Bitcoin Forum
July 19, 2018, 02:24:41 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Only 900 Nodes... NVM over 7000.  (Read 2033 times)
spazzdla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 02:49:27 PM
 #1

We keep losing nodes..... :S.
1531967081
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531967081

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531967081
Reply with quote  #2

1531967081
Report to moderator
Even if you use Bitcoin through Tor, the way transactions are handled by the network makes anonymity difficult to achieve. Do not expect your transactions to be anonymous unless you really know what you're doing.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1531967081
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531967081

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531967081
Reply with quote  #2

1531967081
Report to moderator
1531967081
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531967081

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531967081
Reply with quote  #2

1531967081
Report to moderator
1531967081
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531967081

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531967081
Reply with quote  #2

1531967081
Report to moderator
maurya78
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 03:42:16 PM
 #2

When I checked in periodically during the week we were in the 500s and 600s
900 is actually not too bad

spazzdla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 04:00:19 PM
 #3

https://getaddr.bitnodes.io/

Blockchain.info does not connect to every node on the network.

Oh, okay , thanks.

+6000, well that's more like it!!
LiteCoinGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1001


In Satoshi I Trust


View Profile WWW
November 10, 2014, 04:25:11 PM
 #4

and with future improvements it will be easier to sync and run a full node  Smiley

axel2078
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 04:58:23 PM
 #5

and with future improvements it will be easier to sync and run a full node  Smiley

Please excuse my ignorance, but what is meant by running a "full node"?  How is this different than running the bitcoin-qt client?  I'm not trying to be a smart a$$ or anything, I just don't know and want to understand it better.
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1001

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:00:05 PM
 #6

and with future improvements it will be easier to sync and run a full node  Smiley

Please excuse my ignorance, but what is meant by running a "full node"?  How is this different than running the bitcoin-qt client?  I'm not trying to be a smart a$$ or anything, I just don't know and want to understand it better.
A full node is in fact the Bitcoin-Qt client. It relays and verifies blocks and is also capable of serving work if you are a miner.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
axel2078
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:02:05 PM
 #7

and with future improvements it will be easier to sync and run a full node  Smiley

Please excuse my ignorance, but what is meant by running a "full node"?  How is this different than running the bitcoin-qt client?  I'm not trying to be a smart a$$ or anything, I just don't know and want to understand it better.
A full node is in fact the Bitcoin-Qt client. It relays and verifies blocks and is also capable of serving work if you are a miner.

Oh, ok.  I thought I remember someone on here saying before that you weren't actually running a full node on your bitcoin-qt client unless you opened up additional ports on your firewall. Is that true?  I'm not sure why opening up more ports would make you a full node unless it's because you can process more traffic or something.
inBitweTrust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:05:06 PM
 #8

Oh, ok.  I thought I remember someone on here saying before that you weren't actually running a full node on your bitcoin-qt client unless you opened up additional ports on your firewall. Is that true?  I'm not sure why opening up more ports would make you a full node unless it's because you can process more traffic or something.

Yes, You need port 8333 open ... you can test here:

http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/

axel2078
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:07:12 PM
 #9

Oh, ok.  I thought I remember someone on here saying before that you weren't actually running a full node on your bitcoin-qt client unless you opened up additional ports on your firewall. Is that true?  I'm not sure why opening up more ports would make you a full node unless it's because you can process more traffic or something.

Yes, You need port 8333 open ... you can test here:

http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/

So once that port is opened (port forwarded), what does it actually do for the bitcoin-qt client that's different from before?
server
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 857
Merit: 1000


~\/~


View Profile WWW
November 10, 2014, 05:24:40 PM
 #10

Oh, ok.  I thought I remember someone on here saying before that you weren't actually running a full node on your bitcoin-qt client unless you opened up additional ports on your firewall. Is that true?  I'm not sure why opening up more ports would make you a full node unless it's because you can process more traffic or something.

Yes, You need port 8333 open ... you can test here:

http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/

So once that port is opened (port forwarded), what does it actually do for the bitcoin-qt client that's different from before?

Tcp port 8333 enables communication between the bitcoin clients.

inBitweTrust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:26:39 PM
 #11


So once that port is opened (port forwarded), what does it actually do for the bitcoin-qt client that's different from before?

Necessary to act as a full node, otherwise you will be limited to 8 incoming connections with no outgoing connections.

Mak J
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:42:06 PM
 #12

https://getaddr.bitnodes.io/

Blockchain.info does not connect to every node on the network.

Oh, okay , thanks.

+6000, well that's more like it!!
First post full of panic Tongue Reality isn't as bad as you think Wink
OliverCR
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:44:41 PM
 #13

When I checked in periodically during the week we were in the 500s and 600s
900 is actually not too bad
https://getaddr.bitnodes.io/

Blockchain.info does not connect to every node on the network.

Oh, okay , thanks.

+6000, well that's more like it!!
7000 nodes is a big or a small amount? A few month ago was more or less full nodes? Tongue
inBitweTrust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:52:05 PM
 #14


7000 nodes is a big or a small amount? A few month ago was more or less full nodes? Tongue

Slow and steady decline -
http://www.coinbuzz.com/2014/04/28/bitnodes-io-indicates-60-day-decline-bitcoin-nodes/

Avg 9500 early this year and 7800 avg 6 months ago.

axel2078
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:53:19 PM
 #15


So once that port is opened (port forwarded), what does it actually do for the bitcoin-qt client that's different from before?

Necessary to act as a full node, otherwise you will be limited to 8 incoming connections with no outgoing connections.

Ah, ok.  I just opened up port 8333 and noticed that my number of active connections went from 8 to 10.  I'm seeing the below entries in my debug log.  Is this normal?  (I removed my IP address in the log below)

2014-11-10 17:52:33 ProcessBlock: ACCEPTED
2014-11-10 17:52:33 ERROR: AcceptToMemoryPool : inputs already spent
2014-11-10 17:52:33 ERROR: AcceptToMemoryPool : inputs already spent
2014-11-10 17:52:57 ERROR: AcceptToMemoryPool : inputs already spent
2014-11-10 17:52:58 ERROR: AcceptToMemoryPool : inputs already spent
2014-11-10 17:53:00 receive version message: /bitcoinseeder:0.01/: version 60000, blocks=230000, us=x.x.x.x:8333, them=0.0.0.0:0, peer=178.62.20.190:43641
2014-11-10 17:53:00 Added time data, samples 17, offset +0 (+0 minutes)
2014-11-10 17:53:00 nTimeOffset = -1  (+0 minutes)
2014-11-10 17:53:03 receive version message: /bitcoinseeder:0.01/: version 60000, blocks=230000, us=x.x.x.x:8333, them=0.0.0.0:0, peer=199.127.225.232:45435
2014-11-10 17:53:03 Added time data, samples 18, offset +0 (+0 minutes)
2014-11-10 17:53:05 ERROR: AcceptToMemoryPool : nonstandard transaction: dust
2014-11-10 17:53:05 socket recv error Connection reset by peer (54)
2014-11-10 17:53:08 ERROR: AcceptToMemoryPool : nonstandard transaction: dust
inBitweTrust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:55:28 PM
 #16


Ah, ok.  I just opened up port 8333 and noticed that my number of active connections went from 8 to 10.

Congrats, you are now allowing outbound traffic and not merely a leach upon other nodes.

axel2078
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 06:04:24 PM
 #17


Ah, ok.  I just opened up port 8333 and noticed that my number of active connections went from 8 to 10.

Congrats, you are now allowing outbound traffic and not merely a leach upon other nodes.

I'm up to 15 connections now.  Am I right to assume that you are not actually verifying transactions on the Bitcoin network unless you are also allowing outbound traffic?
inBitweTrust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 06:13:12 PM
 #18



I'm up to 15 connections now.  Am I right to assume that you are not actually verifying transactions on the Bitcoin network unless you are also allowing outbound traffic?

Yes.

cryptocoinfan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 06:16:25 PM
 #19

what is loosing nodes,bitcoin?
OliverCR
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 06:16:33 PM
 #20


7000 nodes is a big or a small amount? A few month ago was more or less full nodes? Tongue

Slow and steady decline -
http://www.coinbuzz.com/2014/04/28/bitnodes-io-indicates-60-day-decline-bitcoin-nodes/

Avg 9500 early this year and 7800 avg 6 months ago.
Maybe BTC protocol should introduce something similar to PoS to encourage people to have full node opened? Tongue
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!