Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2017, 01:43:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Only 900 Nodes... NVM over 7000.  (Read 2033 times)
spazzdla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 02:49:27 PM
 #1

We keep losing nodes..... :S.
1513431813
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513431813

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513431813
Reply with quote  #2

1513431813
Report to moderator
1513431813
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513431813

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513431813
Reply with quote  #2

1513431813
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513431813
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513431813

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513431813
Reply with quote  #2

1513431813
Report to moderator
1513431813
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513431813

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513431813
Reply with quote  #2

1513431813
Report to moderator
1513431813
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513431813

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513431813
Reply with quote  #2

1513431813
Report to moderator
maurya78
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 03:42:16 PM
 #2

When I checked in periodically during the week we were in the 500s and 600s
900 is actually not too bad

spazzdla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 04:00:19 PM
 #3

https://getaddr.bitnodes.io/

Blockchain.info does not connect to every node on the network.

Oh, okay , thanks.

+6000, well that's more like it!!
LiteCoinGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148


In Satoshi I Trust


View Profile WWW
November 10, 2014, 04:25:11 PM
 #4

and with future improvements it will be easier to sync and run a full node  Smiley

axel2078
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 04:58:23 PM
 #5

and with future improvements it will be easier to sync and run a full node  Smiley

Please excuse my ignorance, but what is meant by running a "full node"?  How is this different than running the bitcoin-qt client?  I'm not trying to be a smart a$$ or anything, I just don't know and want to understand it better.
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:00:05 PM
 #6

and with future improvements it will be easier to sync and run a full node  Smiley

Please excuse my ignorance, but what is meant by running a "full node"?  How is this different than running the bitcoin-qt client?  I'm not trying to be a smart a$$ or anything, I just don't know and want to understand it better.
A full node is in fact the Bitcoin-Qt client. It relays and verifies blocks and is also capable of serving work if you are a miner.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
axel2078
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:02:05 PM
 #7

and with future improvements it will be easier to sync and run a full node  Smiley

Please excuse my ignorance, but what is meant by running a "full node"?  How is this different than running the bitcoin-qt client?  I'm not trying to be a smart a$$ or anything, I just don't know and want to understand it better.
A full node is in fact the Bitcoin-Qt client. It relays and verifies blocks and is also capable of serving work if you are a miner.

Oh, ok.  I thought I remember someone on here saying before that you weren't actually running a full node on your bitcoin-qt client unless you opened up additional ports on your firewall. Is that true?  I'm not sure why opening up more ports would make you a full node unless it's because you can process more traffic or something.
inBitweTrust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:05:06 PM
 #8

Oh, ok.  I thought I remember someone on here saying before that you weren't actually running a full node on your bitcoin-qt client unless you opened up additional ports on your firewall. Is that true?  I'm not sure why opening up more ports would make you a full node unless it's because you can process more traffic or something.

Yes, You need port 8333 open ... you can test here:

http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/

axel2078
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:07:12 PM
 #9

Oh, ok.  I thought I remember someone on here saying before that you weren't actually running a full node on your bitcoin-qt client unless you opened up additional ports on your firewall. Is that true?  I'm not sure why opening up more ports would make you a full node unless it's because you can process more traffic or something.

Yes, You need port 8333 open ... you can test here:

http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/

So once that port is opened (port forwarded), what does it actually do for the bitcoin-qt client that's different from before?
server
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 815


~\/~


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:24:40 PM
 #10

Oh, ok.  I thought I remember someone on here saying before that you weren't actually running a full node on your bitcoin-qt client unless you opened up additional ports on your firewall. Is that true?  I'm not sure why opening up more ports would make you a full node unless it's because you can process more traffic or something.

Yes, You need port 8333 open ... you can test here:

http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/

So once that port is opened (port forwarded), what does it actually do for the bitcoin-qt client that's different from before?

Tcp port 8333 enables communication between the bitcoin clients.
inBitweTrust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:26:39 PM
 #11


So once that port is opened (port forwarded), what does it actually do for the bitcoin-qt client that's different from before?

Necessary to act as a full node, otherwise you will be limited to 8 incoming connections with no outgoing connections.

Mak J
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:42:06 PM
 #12

https://getaddr.bitnodes.io/

Blockchain.info does not connect to every node on the network.

Oh, okay , thanks.

+6000, well that's more like it!!
First post full of panic Tongue Reality isn't as bad as you think Wink
OliverCR
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:44:41 PM
 #13

When I checked in periodically during the week we were in the 500s and 600s
900 is actually not too bad
https://getaddr.bitnodes.io/

Blockchain.info does not connect to every node on the network.

Oh, okay , thanks.

+6000, well that's more like it!!
7000 nodes is a big or a small amount? A few month ago was more or less full nodes? Tongue
inBitweTrust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:52:05 PM
 #14


7000 nodes is a big or a small amount? A few month ago was more or less full nodes? Tongue

Slow and steady decline -
http://www.coinbuzz.com/2014/04/28/bitnodes-io-indicates-60-day-decline-bitcoin-nodes/

Avg 9500 early this year and 7800 avg 6 months ago.

axel2078
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:53:19 PM
 #15


So once that port is opened (port forwarded), what does it actually do for the bitcoin-qt client that's different from before?

Necessary to act as a full node, otherwise you will be limited to 8 incoming connections with no outgoing connections.

Ah, ok.  I just opened up port 8333 and noticed that my number of active connections went from 8 to 10.  I'm seeing the below entries in my debug log.  Is this normal?  (I removed my IP address in the log below)

2014-11-10 17:52:33 ProcessBlock: ACCEPTED
2014-11-10 17:52:33 ERROR: AcceptToMemoryPool : inputs already spent
2014-11-10 17:52:33 ERROR: AcceptToMemoryPool : inputs already spent
2014-11-10 17:52:57 ERROR: AcceptToMemoryPool : inputs already spent
2014-11-10 17:52:58 ERROR: AcceptToMemoryPool : inputs already spent
2014-11-10 17:53:00 receive version message: /bitcoinseeder:0.01/: version 60000, blocks=230000, us=x.x.x.x:8333, them=0.0.0.0:0, peer=178.62.20.190:43641
2014-11-10 17:53:00 Added time data, samples 17, offset +0 (+0 minutes)
2014-11-10 17:53:00 nTimeOffset = -1  (+0 minutes)
2014-11-10 17:53:03 receive version message: /bitcoinseeder:0.01/: version 60000, blocks=230000, us=x.x.x.x:8333, them=0.0.0.0:0, peer=199.127.225.232:45435
2014-11-10 17:53:03 Added time data, samples 18, offset +0 (+0 minutes)
2014-11-10 17:53:05 ERROR: AcceptToMemoryPool : nonstandard transaction: dust
2014-11-10 17:53:05 socket recv error Connection reset by peer (54)
2014-11-10 17:53:08 ERROR: AcceptToMemoryPool : nonstandard transaction: dust
inBitweTrust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:55:28 PM
 #16


Ah, ok.  I just opened up port 8333 and noticed that my number of active connections went from 8 to 10.

Congrats, you are now allowing outbound traffic and not merely a leach upon other nodes.

axel2078
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 06:04:24 PM
 #17


Ah, ok.  I just opened up port 8333 and noticed that my number of active connections went from 8 to 10.

Congrats, you are now allowing outbound traffic and not merely a leach upon other nodes.

I'm up to 15 connections now.  Am I right to assume that you are not actually verifying transactions on the Bitcoin network unless you are also allowing outbound traffic?
inBitweTrust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 06:13:12 PM
 #18



I'm up to 15 connections now.  Am I right to assume that you are not actually verifying transactions on the Bitcoin network unless you are also allowing outbound traffic?

Yes.

cryptocoinfan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 06:16:25 PM
 #19

what is loosing nodes,bitcoin?
OliverCR
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 06:16:33 PM
 #20


7000 nodes is a big or a small amount? A few month ago was more or less full nodes? Tongue

Slow and steady decline -
http://www.coinbuzz.com/2014/04/28/bitnodes-io-indicates-60-day-decline-bitcoin-nodes/

Avg 9500 early this year and 7800 avg 6 months ago.
Maybe BTC protocol should introduce something similar to PoS to encourage people to have full node opened? Tongue
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!