Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2018, 09:22:12 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin-qt not catching up to the blockchain  (Read 4722 times)
ksteve96
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 342
Merit: 100


Streamity Decentralized cryptocurrency exchange


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 03:17:11 PM
 #1

Hello,

I've had my bitcoin client running for 2 days now and it is still not caught up.  Was on 5.x, upgraded to 6.2 today.  I have plenty of connections, that is not the problem. 

The files blk0001.dat and blkindex.dat in my btc folder are staying the same size and bitcoin-qt is showing that I have downloaded 182553 blocks.  It's also saying last downloaded block was 6 days ago.  Yesterday it said 5 days ago.  As of right now, the latest block is 183572.  It only took 2 hours to load the blocks when I first started bitcoin-qt 8 months ago, so 48 hours makes me think something is wrong. 

Using W7 64 bit, not a firewall or port issue.

I'd really like to figure this out as I should have been receiving bitcoins since 6 days ago.  Got nothing in my wallet since it won't catch up.

The debug log keeps showing these 2 errors in succession, I edited out the hashes a little bit since I'm not sure if publicly displaying that can compromise my anonymity or security. 

ERROR: FetchInputs() : dxxxxxxxe4 mempool Tx prev not found f3xxxxxx44
ERROR: CTxMemPool::accept() : FetchInputs failed dxxxxxxx4

I'd appreciate the help, can't post in the help section since I don't have enough posts

1524604932
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524604932

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524604932
Reply with quote  #2

1524604932
Report to moderator
1524604932
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524604932

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524604932
Reply with quote  #2

1524604932
Report to moderator
1524604932
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524604932

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524604932
Reply with quote  #2

1524604932
Report to moderator
Satoshi is no god. He did not come down from the mountain with 10 golden rules engraved in stone for no one to question.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524604932
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524604932

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524604932
Reply with quote  #2

1524604932
Report to moderator
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2478
Merit: 1000


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 10:10:47 PM
 #2

Is it completely stuck on 182,553 or just going really slow?

It only took 2 hours to load the blocks when I first started bitcoin-qt 8 months ago,

You might try deleting the entire blockchain and have it start from the beginning again.  Now that you are on v0.6.2 it should be quick (few hours).
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 10:40:25 PM
 #3

Download a blockchain snapshot from here. No need to wait 2 days more.
http://81.169.129.25/blockchain/

ksteve96
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 342
Merit: 100


Streamity Decentralized cryptocurrency exchange


View Profile
June 09, 2012, 02:51:09 PM
 #4

Thanks gentlemen.

I deleted the blockchain, it got stuck on the same block again.  I deleted it again and used the recommended snapshot and it worked.

It's a non-issue since it's working fine now, but I'm curious as to why it got stuck on the same block twice on both versions. 

Rugatu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
June 09, 2012, 06:29:58 PM
 #5

Thanks gentlemen.

I deleted the blockchain, it got stuck on the same block again.  I deleted it again and used the recommended snapshot and it worked.

It's a non-issue since it's working fine now, but I'm curious as to why it got stuck on the same block twice on both versions. 

Strange indeed, i would like to know the answer too. I dont' think it's because of an HDD bad sector or something OS related.

Have any questions? Q&A with BTCitcoins on Rugatu
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 1063


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
June 09, 2012, 06:32:31 PM
 #6

Whitelisted OP so that he can ask this in the Technical Support forum. I'm guessing this might be a bug that the dev's has yet to fix, or something is wrong with your installation.

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 1000


House Nogleg


View Profile WWW
June 17, 2012, 01:37:43 AM
 #7

Hello,

I've had my bitcoin client running for 2 days now and it is still not caught up.  Was on 5.x, upgraded to 6.2 today.  I have plenty of connections, that is not the problem.  

The files blk0001.dat and blkindex.dat in my btc folder are staying the same size and bitcoin-qt is showing that I have downloaded 182553 blocks.  It's also saying last downloaded block was 6 days ago.  Yesterday it said 5 days ago.  As of right now, the latest block is 183572.  It only took 2 hours to load the blocks when I first started bitcoin-qt 8 months ago, so 48 hours makes me think something is wrong.  

Using W7 64 bit, not a firewall or port issue.

I'd really like to figure this out as I should have been receiving bitcoins since 6 days ago.  Got nothing in my wallet since it won't catch up.

The debug log keeps showing these 2 errors in succession, I edited out the hashes a little bit since I'm not sure if publicly displaying that can compromise my anonymity or security.  

ERROR: FetchInputs() : dxxxxxxxe4 mempool Tx prev not found f3xxxxxx44
ERROR: CTxMemPool::accept() : FetchInputs failed dxxxxxxx4

I'd appreciate the help, can't post in the help section since I don't have enough posts
Mine did this as well, even though I reset the block chain twice.  

I was able to complete the blockchain after downloading the snapshot.

(on ubuntu 12.04)

oh, and the block sizes are much larger now, esp thx to that satoshi dice crap.

drlatino999
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 335
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 01:40:03 AM
 #8

I had this issue on two computers at about the same time in April, I ended up deleting the block chain, and any trace of bitcoin on either computer before trying again.

Sappers clear the way
JeromeS
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 10:55:02 PM
 #9

I have the same problem. Stuck at 184234 blocks and not catching up.

Does anyone know why this is happening ?

1MHMLCSdxzyaBEYQsQYYNPYkaBjeV1aSNZ
ucai6ohz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 10, 2012, 10:09:27 PM
 #10

While catching up the blockchain in a fresh installation I see the same issue. But the client (bitcoin-qt 0.6.3) continues after exit and re-start. Sometimes the client resumes without restart. So I'm able to fetch the block chain in the normal way. Nonetheless a little insight about this topic would be nice.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!