Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 08:30:05 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 840 MHash on 5970 - Good or Bad?  (Read 4809 times)
QiVX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 01:05:37 PM
 #1

Hi I'm relatively new to Bitcoin Mining and was wondering if about 840 mhashes is good for a 5970?

I'm currently at 910 mhz core, and 375 mhz memory. Stock voltage. Cgminer reports voltage as being 1.050, so I believe that is stock? Or is that too high of a voltage?

Also with such a high clock with this hurt my card? Eg will it reduce the life of my card?

Thanks.
1480840205
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480840205

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480840205
Reply with quote  #2

1480840205
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
fanquake
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
June 10, 2012, 01:11:05 PM
 #2

If you have a look here https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison#AMD_.28ATI.29 You'll see that 840mh/s for a 5970 is quite a high mh/s for that card. What sort of temp is it mining at?
QiVX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 01:18:17 PM
 #3

If you have a look here https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison#AMD_.28ATI.29 You'll see that 840mh/s for a 5970 is quite a high mh/s for that card. What sort of temp is it mining at?



I'm not sure if that 110 C temp is the VRM?

I'm hoping it is. Because if it's not the VRM is probably smoking hot.

Also what is a safe range for the VRM temp? Under 120 C?

Thanks
smracer
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1021



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 01:21:28 PM
 #4

Looks too hot to me.

1smracer15yDLhJG27fd7GV3tegcNjtg2
QiVX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 01:26:48 PM
 #5

Looks too hot to me.

How hot should it be max?
It's been running like that for 2 days straight. Is that bad?
MXRider
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 455



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 01:36:17 PM
 #6

Too hot. I keep my cards under 65 but most of us run them between 70 and 80 I think?

How much do you pay for electricity? Do you have a kill-a-watt?
http://tradebtc.net/bitcalc.php
Try different numbers and see what gives you the best ROI.

I would try settings around 800/150 or 850/150. You have to find the right voltage.

Over 100C is simply too much.
QiVX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 01:43:15 PM
 #7

Too hot. I keep my cards under 65 but most of us run them between 70 and 80 I think?

How much do you pay for electricity? Do you have a kill-a-watt?
http://tradebtc.net/bitcalc.php
Try different numbers and see what gives you the best ROI.

I would try settings around 800/150 or 850/150. You have to find the right voltage.

Over 100C is simply too much.

It's running at 45C. How is that too hot?
112C is the VRM temp I presume? CGMiner says I'm at 45C, same with MSI AfterBurner, etc. I'm not sure where this 112C temp came from, thus me thinking that it is the VRM?

EDIT:
I've made them be 890 Core, and 375 Memory. 1.050 Voltage. Every thing seems fine now, VRMs seem to be about 105C.

Also I had a look at this, my current on the card sometimes bounces, or throttles, is this bad?
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 01:58:52 PM
 #8

Hi I'm relatively new to Bitcoin Mining and was wondering if about 840 mhashes is good for a 5970?

I'm currently at 910 mhz core, and 375 mhz memory. Stock voltage. Cgminer reports voltage as being 1.050, so I believe that is stock? Or is that too high of a voltage?

Also with such a high clock with this hurt my card? Eg will it reduce the life of my card?

Thanks.

840mhash seems slow, for 910/375.  Probably using a crappy SDK.

I have no clue as to how you can run it stable at 910/375 @ 1.050v, either.  Only two GPUs out of 10 of mine can run stable at 850/150 @ 1.050v.  The rest are lower.

At 850/150, it gets 800mhash.

(well, I just noticed that your screenshot actually shows that you have increased your voltage past stock, which would explain the 910)

ed:  and your card wouldn't be running at 43.5o, either

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
QiVX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 02:11:09 PM
 #9

Hi I'm relatively new to Bitcoin Mining and was wondering if about 840 mhashes is good for a 5970?

I'm currently at 910 mhz core, and 375 mhz memory. Stock voltage. Cgminer reports voltage as being 1.050, so I believe that is stock? Or is that too high of a voltage?

Also with such a high clock with this hurt my card? Eg will it reduce the life of my card?

Thanks.

840mhash seems slow, for 910/375.  Probably using a crappy SDK.

I have no clue as to how you can run it stable at 910/375 @ 1.050v, either.  Only two GPUs out of 10 of mine can run stable at 850/150 @ 1.050v.  The rest are lower.

At 850/150, it gets 800mhash.

(well, I just noticed that your screenshot actually shows that you have increased your voltage past stock, which would explain the 910)

ed:  and your card wouldn't be running at 43.5o, either

Well it's running in the garage.
I live in Melbourne and it's about 5C outside. Bloodly freezing but good for the GPUs.
The GPU also has an Artic Accelero Cooler, running at 100% at all times.

Also is that current throttle bad for the life of the GPU?
MXRider
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 455



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 04:09:09 PM
 #10

I was just about to say that he might be using AC Xtreme. It tends to keep core temperature very low but the VRMs are way too hot. That's a known problem with that cooler.

45C for core is perfect but 100C for VRMs will fuck them up in the long run. Underclock that rather than overclock.
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
June 10, 2012, 07:20:21 PM
 #11

According to the guy who designed the 5970 the vrms are safe to 150c and throttle over 125c. That's an internal reading unrelated to what you see in gpuz or other monitors however.

The stock heats sinks are far far better than the artics. The TIM they use is the best money can buy.  I have 2 article 5970 xtreme colers in my desk drawer. They are crap for the vrm. The back vrm is adequately cooled and has enough mass and surface area. The front vrm heat sink is a thin plate no surface area or cooling. There a huge empty spot under the front fan that should have been used with a similar setup as the rear or a heat pipe but was poorly designed.

Add to that the fact that if you over tighten the gpu x plates with the artic you'll kill DVI out. The artics are essentially worthless.

I get 10-20 c cooler vrm and within 10 c core with the stock coolers.

My 5970s run 900 core 300 memory stock voltage. The vrms stay just under 100c and the cores are 55c.  I get about 810 mhash per card.
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 10:59:20 PM
 #12

According to the guy who designed the 5970 the vrms are safe to 150c and throttle over 125c. That's an internal reading unrelated to what you see in gpuz or other monitors however.

The stock heats sinks are far far better than the artics. The TIM they use is the best money can buy.  I have 2 article 5970 xtreme colers in my desk drawer. They are crap for the vrm. The back vrm is adequately cooled and has enough mass and surface area. The front vrm heat sink is a thin plate no surface area or cooling. There a huge empty spot under the front fan that should have been used with a similar setup as the rear or a heat pipe but was poorly designed.

Add to that the fact that if you over tighten the gpu x plates with the artic you'll kill DVI out. The artics are essentially worthless.

I get 10-20 c cooler vrm and within 10 c core with the stock coolers.

My 5970s run 900 core 300 memory stock voltage. The vrms stay just under 100c and the cores are 55c.  I get about 810 mhash per card.


What is "stock voltage"?  I have 3 performance levels, the max is 1.05.  I know some BIOSes have 1.10 as "stock", there may be some others even higher.

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
DILLIGAF
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 11:45:34 PM
 #13

What is "stock voltage"?  I have 3 performance levels, the max is 1.05.  I know some BIOSes have 1.10 as "stock", there may be some others even higher.

I have a sapphire card that had 1.18v as the default in it.
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
June 11, 2012, 02:08:08 AM
 #14

Mine are 1.05v that's "stock". Most 5970 need 1.125 or higher to get over 900mhz. 5870 stock voltage is 1.162

The vrms fry at that voltage the 5870 is 4 phase the 5970 is 3 phase there too much leakage and they overheat.

And learned and the 6990 has the vrm split better and better cooled not sandwiched in the middle.
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


View Profile
June 11, 2012, 02:31:47 AM
 #15

A word of warning, the 5970s throttle when the average VRM temperature if above 125. If you have two at 110, the other can be at 140 and it will not throttle.

What are your fan speeds? If you're not forcing the fan to a specific level, it will base it on the core temperature with no regard for VRM temps. Better to force the fan a little higher and even if the core is staying cool.
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
June 11, 2012, 02:43:02 AM
 #16

It's not average. If any one hits 125c it will throttle including a couple that don't report to gpuz or other monitors. the guy who designed the 5970 posted on some board a few years back and covered it all I'll try to find his posts.
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


View Profile
June 11, 2012, 02:55:00 AM
 #17

It's not average. If any one hits 125c it will throttle including a couple that don't report to gpuz or other monitors. the guy who designed the 5970 posted on some board a few years back and covered it all I'll try to find his posts.

Are you sure on that in practice? I've had one where one VRM reached 137 while the others stayed around 100-110C, without throttling the card.
QiVX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
June 11, 2012, 09:04:13 AM
 #18

A word of warning, the 5970s throttle when the average VRM temperature if above 125. If you have two at 110, the other can be at 140 and it will not throttle.

What are your fan speeds? If you're not forcing the fan to a specific level, it will base it on the core temperature with no regard for VRM temps. Better to force the fan a little higher and even if the core is staying cool.

I have an Accelero Xtreme.
100% Fan at all times.
Core temps are around 45C to 50C.
VRM is MAX 110C.

Is that bad?
Or should I try to lower it to ALWAYS be under 100C?

Thanks
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 422



View Profile
June 11, 2012, 11:41:59 AM
 #19

I wouldn't be comfortable with running anything over 100C. I'd be surprised if any large scale miner allowed their cards to run so hot.
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
June 11, 2012, 12:10:13 PM
 #20

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?242892-EK-5970-vs-stock-cooler-tests/page2

see post 32

he's also posted a ton of stuff on that site, it's very useful.
Pages: [1] 2  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!