Bitcoin Forum
April 19, 2024, 06:22:07 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BFGMiner 5.5.0: CPU/GPU/FPGA/ASIC mining software, GBT+Stratum, RPC, Linux/Win64  (Read 834117 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Luke-Jr (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186



View Profile
February 28, 2015, 12:36:30 AM
 #201

Hi Luke,
I would like to use my multi-core/clusters and special coprocessors for mining. I would like to write my special drivers (CPU/cluster based). Where is in the source code I should make change or start from?
 Thanks, John
If your system supports OpenCL already, you may be able to just replace CL_DEVICE_TYPE_GPU in ocl.c
If it's similar enough to the existing CPU mining, driver-cpu.c may be the place to hook into the CPU mining stuff.
If it needs an entirely new driver, the HACKING document is a good reference.

Started using BFGMiner with my KNCMINER Jupiter

is there anyway to temporarily disable mining within the software?

Like Pause mining ?
See README.

"Your bitcoin is secured in a way that is physically impossible for others to access, no matter for what reason, no matter how good the excuse, no matter a majority of miners, no matter what." -- Greg Maxwell
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1713550927
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713550927

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713550927
Reply with quote  #2

1713550927
Report to moderator
1713550927
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713550927

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713550927
Reply with quote  #2

1713550927
Report to moderator
1713550927
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713550927

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713550927
Reply with quote  #2

1713550927
Report to moderator
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3738
Merit: 1708



View Profile
February 28, 2015, 02:17:42 AM
 #202

Hi Luke,
I would like to use my multi-core/clusters and special coprocessors for mining. I would like to write my special drivers (CPU/cluster based). Where is in the source code I should make change or start from?
 Thanks, John
If your system supports OpenCL already, you may be able to just replace CL_DEVICE_TYPE_GPU in ocl.c
If it's similar enough to the existing CPU mining, driver-cpu.c may be the place to hook into the CPU mining stuff.
If it needs an entirely new driver, the HACKING document is a good reference.

Started using BFGMiner with my KNCMINER Jupiter

is there anyway to temporarily disable mining within the software?

Like Pause mining ?
See README.

I read both the README and README.ASIC and there is nothing about pausing or stopping mining.

.BEST..CHANGE.███████████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
███████████████
..BUY/ SELL CRYPTO..
Luke-Jr (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186



View Profile
February 28, 2015, 02:40:59 AM
 #203

Hi Luke,
I would like to use my multi-core/clusters and special coprocessors for mining. I would like to write my special drivers (CPU/cluster based). Where is in the source code I should make change or start from?
 Thanks, John
If your system supports OpenCL already, you may be able to just replace CL_DEVICE_TYPE_GPU in ocl.c
If it's similar enough to the existing CPU mining, driver-cpu.c may be the place to hook into the CPU mining stuff.
If it needs an entirely new driver, the HACKING document is a good reference.

Started using BFGMiner with my KNCMINER Jupiter

is there anyway to temporarily disable mining within the software?

Like Pause mining ?
See README.

I read both the README and README.ASIC and there is nothing about pausing or stopping mining.
--sched-start <arg> Set a time of day in HH:MM to start mining (a once off without a stop time)
--sched-stop <arg>  Set a time of day in HH:MM to stop mining (will quit without a start time)

You can also manually either disable all devices (individually) or disable all pools.

adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3738
Merit: 1708



View Profile
February 28, 2015, 03:13:38 AM
 #204

Hi Luke,
I would like to use my multi-core/clusters and special coprocessors for mining. I would like to write my special drivers (CPU/cluster based). Where is in the source code I should make change or start from?
 Thanks, John
If your system supports OpenCL already, you may be able to just replace CL_DEVICE_TYPE_GPU in ocl.c
If it's similar enough to the existing CPU mining, driver-cpu.c may be the place to hook into the CPU mining stuff.
If it needs an entirely new driver, the HACKING document is a good reference.

Started using BFGMiner with my KNCMINER Jupiter

is there anyway to temporarily disable mining within the software?

Like Pause mining ?
See README.

I read both the README and README.ASIC and there is nothing about pausing or stopping mining.
--sched-start <arg> Set a time of day in HH:MM to start mining (a once off without a stop time)
--sched-stop <arg>  Set a time of day in HH:MM to stop mining (will quit without a start time)

You can also manually either disable all devices (individually) or disable all pools.

I see. How do I run this from the command terminal.

/etc/init.d/bfgminer --sched-stop

doesn't work.

.BEST..CHANGE.███████████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
███████████████
..BUY/ SELL CRYPTO..
hurricandave
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1003



View Profile
February 28, 2015, 03:33:06 AM
 #205

Set a time of day in HH:MM to stop mining (will quit without a start time)
movellan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 347
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 02, 2015, 11:43:15 PM
 #206

Have been using BFGMiner 5.0 with Bitcoin Core 9.3 to do some solo mining. Just switched to the new 10.0 Core and now BFG doesn't see any pool available. Using same "bitcoin-qt.exe -server" command to run Bitcoin. What am I missing? TIA.
Luke-Jr (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186



View Profile
March 03, 2015, 12:48:23 AM
 #207

Have been using BFGMiner 5.0 with Bitcoin Core 9.3 to do some solo mining. Just switched to the new 10.0 Core and now BFG doesn't see any pool available. Using same "bitcoin-qt.exe -server" command to run Bitcoin. What am I missing? TIA.
You mean 0.10, which had release notes explaining that it included BIP66, and also that this means you need to upgrade your miner...
BFGMiner 5.1's release notes also mentioned the need to upgrade.

movellan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 347
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 03, 2015, 10:11:43 AM
 #208

Have been using BFGMiner 5.0 with Bitcoin Core 9.3 to do some solo mining. Just switched to the new 10.0 Core and now BFG doesn't see any pool available. Using same "bitcoin-qt.exe -server" command to run Bitcoin. What am I missing? TIA.
You mean 0.10, which had release notes explaining that it included BIP66, and also that this means you need to upgrade your miner...
BFGMiner 5.1's release notes also mentioned the need to upgrade.

Thank you Luke-Jr. BFG 5.10 did the trick.
JohnS2k
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 03, 2015, 02:53:17 PM
 #209

Hi Luke,
Many thanks. May I ask what is the quick test to know that my system is practically useful? I mean how fast it should be as I read in the CPU README, you said it not worth it to try. As I am new to bitcoin miner,  please advice what I would expect and should do/do not.  Thanks, John.

Hi Luke,
I would like to use my multi-core/clusters and special coprocessors for mining. I would like to write my special drivers (CPU/cluster based). Where is in the source code I should make change or start from?
 Thanks, John
If your system supports OpenCL already, you may be able to just replace CL_DEVICE_TYPE_GPU in ocl.c
If it's similar enough to the existing CPU mining, driver-cpu.c may be the place to hook into the CPU mining stuff.
If it needs an entirely new driver, the HACKING document is a good reference.

Luke-Jr (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186



View Profile
March 03, 2015, 03:35:27 PM
 #210

Many thanks. May I ask what is the quick test to know that my system is practically useful? I mean how fast it should be as I read in the CPU README, you said it not worth it to try. As I am new to bitcoin miner,  please advice what I would expect and should do/do not.  Thanks, John.
Bitcoin mining with a CPU, no matter what kind of CPU, will never be practically useful for more than testing.

j1pvt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 05, 2015, 01:37:25 PM
 #211

5.1 update problem
HTTP request failed: Protocol "stratum+tcp" not supported or disabled in libcurl
easyminer running BFL machine.
Luke-Jr (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186



View Profile
March 05, 2015, 01:45:41 PM
 #212

5.1 update problem
HTTP request failed: Protocol "stratum+tcp" not supported or disabled in libcurl
easyminer running BFL machine.
This message is normal (libcurl does not support stratum, so BFG uses its own).
Is there an actual problem?

j1pvt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 05, 2015, 03:14:10 PM
 #213

5.1 update problem
HTTP request failed: Protocol "stratum+tcp" not supported or disabled in libcurl
easyminer running BFL machine.
This message is normal (libcurl does not support stratum, so BFG uses its own).
Is there an actual problem?

Will not connect after 5.1 update
Will not connect to ghash pool
Been running with no hitches on the same settings for over a year now
Updated this morning and get this error code , wont connect.
Luke-Jr (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186



View Profile
March 05, 2015, 03:36:23 PM
 #214

5.1 update problem
HTTP request failed: Protocol "stratum+tcp" not supported or disabled in libcurl
easyminer running BFL machine.
This message is normal (libcurl does not support stratum, so BFG uses its own).
Is there an actual problem?

Will not connect after 5.1 update
Will not connect to ghash pool
Been running with no hitches on the same settings for over a year now
Updated this morning and get this error code , wont connect.
Can you upload a full debug log to Google Drive and send me a link?
bfgminer --debuglog --log-file debug.log

hurricandave
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1003



View Profile
March 05, 2015, 04:27:17 PM
 #215

Ghash is possibly under ddos attack since yesterday.
Luke-Jr (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186



View Profile
March 05, 2015, 04:44:10 PM
Last edit: March 05, 2015, 05:35:49 PM by Luke-Jr
 #216

Ghash is possibly under ddos attack since yesterday.
Good point...
Eligius received notification that we will be constantly under DDoS as well (although wizkid057 has things setup well enough that we don't even really notice).

hurricandave
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1003



View Profile
March 05, 2015, 04:48:51 PM
 #217

BTC Guild just posted its under attack as well.
j1pvt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 06, 2015, 07:44:27 AM
 #218

5.1 update problem
HTTP request failed: Protocol "stratum+tcp" not supported or disabled in libcurl
easyminer running BFL machine.
This message is normal (libcurl does not support stratum, so BFG uses its own).
Is there an actual problem?

Will not connect after 5.1 update
Will not connect to ghash pool
Been running with no hitches on the same settings for over a year now
Updated this morning and get this error code , wont connect.
Can you upload a full debug log to Google Drive and send me a link?
bfgminer --debuglog --log-file debug.log

Thank you Luke,
The problem seems to have miraculously subsided.
Left the miner overnight on retry at 5 minute intervals and by morning it had reconnected and was hashing......
?!?
So all good for now and I will def do a log for you if it happens again
Many thanks.
Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 09, 2015, 07:50:45 PM
 #219

--request-diff <arg> does not appear to function for me, where <arg> has been 1.0, 2.0, 2, 6 in my efforts to get it working.  No matter what value I input the pool starts me at 1k difficulty.  Would it depend on the pool I'm connecting to whether or not that command gets accepted?  The difficulty auto-adjusts down after several minutes, but I would like to avoid that period of auto adjustment.  Using a single nanofury usb stick.  Thanks.
Luke-Jr (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186



View Profile
March 09, 2015, 08:22:27 PM
 #220

--request-diff <arg> does not appear to function for me, where <arg> has been 1.0, 2.0, 2, 6 in my efforts to get it working.  No matter what value I input the pool starts me at 1k difficulty.  Would it depend on the pool I'm connecting to whether or not that command gets accepted?  The difficulty auto-adjusts down after several minutes, but I would like to avoid that period of auto adjustment.  Using a single nanofury usb stick.  Thanks.
It's just a request. Pools can just ignore it (and most do).

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!