Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:55:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: How do I begin to mine on a PCI slot and/or PCIe x 1?  (Read 7438 times)
Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 04:43:52 PM
 #21

Oh well, but you can still use that x1 pcie slot, no?
1481306147
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481306147

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481306147
Reply with quote  #2

1481306147
Report to moderator
1481306147
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481306147

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481306147
Reply with quote  #2

1481306147
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481306147
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481306147

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481306147
Reply with quote  #2

1481306147
Report to moderator
1481306147
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481306147

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481306147
Reply with quote  #2

1481306147
Report to moderator
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 08:15:47 PM
 #22

Oh well, but you can still use that x1 pcie slot, no?

Yep, that's free to be occupied. That is exactly what I was thinking.
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 08:53:44 PM
 #23

Dreamwatcher is mailing off one PCIe x1 -> x16 Adapter to me, tomorrow.
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 09:57:40 PM
 #24

Hope that it works for u, gibe it a try Smiley

pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 10:00:13 PM
 #25

Hope that it works for u, gibe it a try Smiley

It should, if not, then I have tons of different gauged wire that I will have to pin short the pcie x1 slot. Find the right gauge and short it.

I am really hoping I do not have to pin short it. People stating they fried this or that because of shorting it.
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 10:04:34 PM
 #26

or it is some proprietary slot and u dong get a connection Sad

Why du u need that riser, when there is a whole pcie Slot aviable?

pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 10:12:21 PM
 #27

or it is some proprietary slot and u dong get a connection Sad

Why du u need that riser, when there is a whole pcie Slot aviable?

Do you mean "when there are two PCI Express x16 slots?"

Well, two of my PCI Express x16 slots are occupied by two cards atm. I do not need the riser now as I am going "in the future" to use the pcie x1 slot for a third card. I believe I cannot use the PCI slots with an adapter while my PCI Express x16 slots are occupied otherwise the risers block the fan inlet of the cards. Risers are tall from the looks of it.

Another work around is to get two one PCI Express x16 extender for my two one card, then I would be able to occupy the PCI slots with the work of 2 risers & 2 adapters.
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 20, 2012, 05:02:54 PM
 #28

Dreamwatcher's PCIe x1 -> x16 Adapter has arrived in the mail today just now.

Thanks, dreamwatcher.

I will do some testing on my pciex1, see if it needs pin shorting.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!