Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:16:23 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining rig  (Read 786 times)
HonorMe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 07:41:02 PM
 #1

Hey, i am looking to set up a mining rig, are 5850s the best cards to be going with, or are their better options out there at the moment?
Creating a Bitcoin client that fully implements the network protocol is extremely difficult. Bitcoin-Qt is the only known safe implementation of a full node. Some other projects attempt to compete, but it is not recommended to use such software for anything serious. (Lightweight clients like Electrum and MultiBit are OK.)
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480853783
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480853783

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480853783
Reply with quote  #2

1480853783
Report to moderator
1480853783
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480853783

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480853783
Reply with quote  #2

1480853783
Report to moderator
1480853783
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480853783

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480853783
Reply with quote  #2

1480853783
Report to moderator
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 07:44:26 PM
 #2

Hey, i am looking to set up a mining rig, are 5850s the best cards to be going with, or are their better options out there at the moment?

They are running around 145 usd, they use less electricity than 5830's. They produce more hash than the 5830's, I'd say right now they are pretty good atm, I don't know about the 5870's maybe someone could chip their knowledge in. I believe any series higher, like 6 and 7 series are priced higher.

5850 uses 1.088v vs 5830 uses 1.163v, you can even undervolt them.
HonorMe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 08:12:19 PM
 #3

Thank you for the info. Yeah 5850s are what i have my eye on at the moment as i know they are sold quite often on this forum. If they run as smoothly as you say then they are top on my list.
BasementMiner!
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 08:18:22 PM
 #4

You can get a BitForce Single.
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 08:19:57 PM
 #5

Thank you for the info. Yeah 5850s are what i have my eye on at the moment as i know they are sold quite often on this forum. If they run as smoothly as you say then they are top on my list.

np, that's what I did, I felt that the 5850's was the best deal atm, and snagged me two 5850's.
HonorMe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 08:21:27 PM
 #6

Could anyone explain to me how i would run 8 cards on a system when 4 is the max allowed? I have a GD70 which has 8 PCIx16 slots, so theoretically could run 8, but surely only 4 are supporteD?
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 08:27:20 PM
 #7

Could anyone explain to me how i would run 8 cards on a system when 4 is the max allowed? I have a GD70 which has 8 PCIx16 slots, so theoretically could run 8, but surely only 4 are supporteD?

Which gd70 board? Got the full model name? Then we may start from there.
Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 08:53:55 PM
 #8

Could anyone explain to me how i would run 8 cards on a system when 4 is the max allowed? I have a GD70 which has 8 PCIx16 slots, so theoretically could run 8, but surely only 4 are supporteD?

The GD70 has six pcie slots and 1 pci slot. You could run 6 cards in the pcie slots with risers and one more in the pci slot with a pci to pcie adapter. So unless you are going to get dual GPU cards, the max is 7, though it may be a job actually getting that many running on the board (I'd search the forum to find out what others have experienced). Linux (x32 or x64) or Windows 7 (x64 only I think) will support that many. But at the very least it will be no problem getting 5 to run on that board (I think the x1 pcie slot might require pin shorting to make it work, so that's when it starts to get less straight forward).

+1 for 5850s - great bang for the buck used right now.
dellech
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
June 17, 2012, 09:24:22 PM
 #9

I run a 5850 for a few days now and am very satisfied with.
It does 354MH7s at 900MHz and 45% fan speed with cgminer ... I did not try to over- or undervolt it yet.
HonorMe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 09:50:18 PM
 #10

Could anyone explain to me how i would run 8 cards on a system when 4 is the max allowed? I have a GD70 which has 8 PCIx16 slots, so theoretically could run 8, but surely only 4 are supporteD?

Which gd70 board? Got the full model name? Then we may start from there.

Yes its an MSI 890FXA-GD70
HonorMe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 09:54:11 PM
 #11

Could anyone explain to me how i would run 8 cards on a system when 4 is the max allowed? I have a GD70 which has 8 PCIx16 slots, so theoretically could run 8, but surely only 4 are supporteD?

The GD70 has six pcie slots and 1 pci slot. You could run 6 cards in the pcie slots with risers and one more in the pci slot with a pci to pcie adapter. So unless you are going to get dual GPU cards, the max is 7, though it may be a job actually getting that many running on the board (I'd search the forum to find out what others have experienced). Linux (x32 or x64) or Windows 7 (x64 only I think) will support that many. But at the very least it will be no problem getting 5 to run on that board (I think the x1 pcie slot might require pin shorting to make it work, so that's when it starts to get less straight forward).

+1 for 5850s - great bang for the buck used right now.

Thank you for the explanation. Well without using risers, i can see myself being able to fit 4, as all the cards are dual slot. If i run them through adapters, i'm guessing you are right with 7, 6 easy. I guess i don't run them through crossfire, but instead just use them as single cards through cgminer.
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 09:56:39 PM
 #12

I guess i don't run them through crossfire, but instead just use them as single cards through cgminer.

Yes, you do not use crossfire. Either have the ATI/AMD driver manage the card or use dummy plugs.
HonorMe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 09:59:01 PM
 #13

Ah okay, i figured as much Smiley
macromode
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
June 18, 2012, 07:18:42 AM
 #14

I have been running an MSI 890FXA-GD70 for almost a year now and I can say that, for me, it has been running rock solid. I used to run 4 5830s so as to occupy all the slots, but found trouble keeping the cards cool. The GPUs would overheat and the hashing rate would throttle back. So instead, I have been running 3 5830s with a single unoccupied slot in between them and they've been running happily ever since. I guess the point I'm trying to make it: cooling matters a lot. If you want to cram as many GPUs in on this motherboard as you can, look to risers.
HonorMe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 18, 2012, 09:51:30 AM
 #15

Yeah, i am going to have to get risers, i already have 4 5850s in one computer as a gaming rig, and they end up hitting temps of 70 degrees each under load and the fans spinning at 100% (JET PLANE). So i am going to have to get risers. I am glad you all recommend 5850s as i have 14 ordered, will ideally be running 3 rigs of 6 cards on risers.
chefjc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 18, 2012, 01:05:57 PM
 #16

How much money are you putting into this? Hopeful Mh/s and electricity consumption?
HonorMe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 18, 2012, 01:13:33 PM
 #17

I am hoping for 3-4 G/hash and i dont expect to be spending more than £1 a day on electricity.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!