Bitcoin Forum
March 28, 2017, 02:12:55 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Looking for FPGA cgminer testers.  (Read 3357 times)
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2012, 12:28:08 AM
 #21

It still does submit stales though. My logs still show plenty being submitted, just not the 2-3% I was getting. Now it's 0.4%.
I see you point, stick to what the command has set... but if you do that, one way or the other you lose performance.

Disable stales:
No stales are submitted potentially losing valid shares
Re-start work quickly and get on with new block

Enable stales:
Potentially gain some shares through submitting stales
Potentially lose up to 5s of work on each device

It's marginal either way, but why not take the best from both worlds and maximise as far as we can the performance, at the sacrifice not strictly doing what the user has asked. How many users do you think give a crap about whether stales are submitted or not over getting the best performance? My U has gone up about 0.5 from 69.2 to 69.7. Fred's has gone up 0.8.

If BFL worked the way every other device worked and returned a result as soon as it found it, of course we'd do it your way. We've got to handle what we're dealt the best we can, eh?
1490710375
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490710375

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490710375
Reply with quote  #2

1490710375
Report to moderator
1490710375
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490710375

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490710375
Reply with quote  #2

1490710375
Report to moderator
1490710375
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490710375

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490710375
Reply with quote  #2

1490710375
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490710375
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490710375

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490710375
Reply with quote  #2

1490710375
Report to moderator
1490710375
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490710375

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490710375
Reply with quote  #2

1490710375
Report to moderator
1490710375
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490710375

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490710375
Reply with quote  #2

1490710375
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 26, 2012, 12:36:58 AM
 #22

Hmm - you seem to have completely missed the point of my last post.

Yes aborting work should be an option.

However, it must only do that when told to - i.e. if the user specified --no-submit-stale (and the getwork doesn't say to submit stales)

If you abort work on a pool that does accept stales, then you are reducing the number of accepted shares with BFL devices.

You're giving an example based on some pool that doesn't accept stales - which of course would mean you should use --no-submit-stale and then your new BFL code should abort work.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2012, 01:20:38 AM
 #23

Alright Kano, you win. Trivial to add, so I've done it...

if either user or pool set to not accept stales, work reset is checked, else it carries on with the job and submits the stales.
Zeronic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79



View Profile WWW
June 26, 2012, 05:01:49 AM
 #24

I've got a X6500 and an Asus E450 ITX board on order. After they come in and I have time to find the right Linux OS to use for my FPGA controller, I'll try your version.

360GH/s via AntMiner S1
wildemagic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
June 28, 2012, 03:18:08 AM
 #25

I have 4 icarus on win7 32.

No idea how to compile it, so if you can run me up a win32 executable I can test it with icarus hardware.

kind regards

.,-._|\     Offgrid 1.7kW Solar and 3G wireless internet powering my mining rig.
/ .Oz. \
\_,--.x/     [219.5btc of successful trades total] with : rastapool, miernik, flatronw & OneFixt
       o
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980


View Profile WWW
June 29, 2012, 06:41:45 AM
 #26

made a windows binary with ocl and all fpga's.

works for me, hopefully it works elsewhere too Wink

https://github.com/downloads/pshep/cgminer/cgminer-2.4.3-win32.zip
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!