Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:01:25 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: First rig! Newbie to mining, upgradeing rig. Help appreciated. $500 max invest  (Read 2105 times)
rrbubs12
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 10:48:38 PM
 #1

Soo all in all I have fallen in love with the whole idea that is BitCoins and I want to start mining (I already am but only at 1.5 mhash/s... which is sad). For starters here are my current PC specs
Its an ole Dell XPS 400
Manufacturer Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz
Clock Speed 2.8GHz
Pretty sure its a dual-core
Got 1 gig DDR Ram
AND running a Geforce 7300 LE running on PCI-E 2.0 im pretty sure with 512mb
Typical optical drives, usb's, HDD
On the power supply it says that its peak is 150W. I personally think its 300, but its stock regardless
Whole systems stock
Running XP SP2
AS for the MOBO I dunno, I think it has multiple PCIE slots

(Mind you I'm not considering a sole mining rig, I will also be using it for typical use, nothing too demanding in terms on gaming or video processing.)

For starters we got a $500 max, however im really just thinking I need a better power source, another gig or two of ram and a 5850 possible dual

Thanks for any input, I greatly appreciate it


1481184085
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184085

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184085
Reply with quote  #2

1481184085
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 11:05:38 PM
 #2

Soo all in all I have fallen in love with the whole idea that is BitCoins and I want to start mining (I already am but only at 1.5 mhash/s... which is sad). For starters here are my current PC specs
Its an ole Dell XPS 400
Manufacturer Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz
Clock Speed 2.8GHz
Pretty sure its a dual-core
Got 1 gig DDR Ram
AND running a Geforce 7300 LE running on PCI-E 2.0 im pretty sure with 512mb
Typical optical drives, usb's, HDD
On the power supply it says that its peak is 150W. I personally think its 300, but its stock regardless
Whole systems stock
Running XP SP2
AS for the MOBO I dunno, I think it has multiple PCIE slots

(Mind you I'm not considering a sole mining rig, I will also be using it for typical use, nothing too demanding in terms on gaming or video processing.)

For starters we got a $500 max, however im really just thinking I need a better power source, another gig or two of ram and a 5850 possible dual

Thanks for any input, I greatly appreciate it

You'll have a tough time finding a decent 5850 (expect 250-350 MH/s out of it after overclocking), but last I checked, it's the most cost-efficient miner you can get and sips power relative to other cards. You will need a better power supply (look for at least 400w+ if you get just a single 5850 -- should have 80+ certification and Active PFC if you live in an area where electricity is expensive, or you care about the environment [lol]). Check out some other graphics card alternatives with useful specs @ https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

RAM is useless in mining. You'll probably want to pull out your other gfx card. It's scrap at this point in time (though useful if you just need something to display information). For mining with a graphics card, you'll need an OpenCL miner. Google "GUIminer download" for one which is extremely easy to use.

You'll want to join a pool, too. I personally like BTCMine.com but check out the different pools and decide for yourself.

PSU & graphics card should cost at or below $275 combined. Make sure your case can house as large a graphics card as you buy. Some retail PC manufacturers use proprietary power supply designs which make it difficult and expensive to upgrade -- I'm not sure about your Dell XPS system.

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 11:15:08 PM
 #3

I miss my PS 400, but not the job that came with it.

Newegg has a very nice deal on a 750 watt Antec http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371026&cm_re=antec_750_watts-_-17-371-026-_-Product

I ran can run 3 5850's off of this without a problem. 5850's are indeed hard to find, but you could go with 5830's which they have on their site.

Double check the specs on the system. Some Dell's don't use 24 pin power connectors on the motherboard and do other non-standard annoying stuff that you never think of until the boss's secretary's machine blows up and the boss is screaming at you to get it working again.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
rrbubs12
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 12:14:34 AM
 #4

Thank you all for the ideas! Keep em coming. I think im settled on a power source that puts out 600W NOW I just need to find one and make sure that it fits into my tower and is compatible with my MOBO. As for GPU, I gotta go with atleast one 5850

(UPDATE) I took a look at my power unit and its max output is 375W max... Will this be enough to run a 5850?
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 12:31:51 AM
 #5

Thank you all for the ideas! Keep em coming. I think im settled on a power source that puts out 600W NOW I just need to find one and make sure that it fits into my tower and is compatible with my MOBO. As for GPU, I gotta go with atleast one 5850

(UPDATE) I took a look at my power unit and its max output is 375W max... Will this be enough to run a 5850?

It depends on how much power the rest of the system is using. Dell usually specs power supplies for the original specs of the machine. If you're getting by one 1G of RAM I think it's safe to assume you're not using it too hard. I had 4G in mine and used it pretty heavily. You probably have enough room to run 1 5850 if it is the only card in the system but don't quote me on that. It would be a better idea to spend the $20 on a Kill A Watt and find out exactly how much power it's using and how much is free.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
rrbubs12
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 12:51:58 AM
 #6

MMK I think I will just settle on a new power supply. Also how do I know if I have PCI-E 2.0 or 2.1?
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 01:11:52 AM
 #7

MMK I think I will just settle on a new power supply. Also how do I know if I have PCI-E 2.0 or 2.1?

It's definitely not going to be 2.1 just because of it's age. If it fits in the slot and gets recognized by the system and the drivers you can mine with it. Slot speed doesn't matter in mining because it's sending data to the card to process and getting a result. It's not a high bandwidth application like constantly reprocessing data like in a game.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
rrbubs12
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 01:59:10 AM
 #8

Thanks for the info. Def got a 2.0. Now I just need to decide on a power source that will work for me...
rrbubs12
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
May 21, 2011, 01:52:21 AM
 #9

Well I have a comp with a max output of 370 can it run a 5770 that "requires" 450?
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 21, 2011, 02:27:47 AM
 #10

Well I have a comp with a max output of 370 can it run a 5770 that "requires" 450?

You can try it. The wiki says it takes 108 watts to run. That leaves you roughly 250 watts to run the rest of the system on. If you're not doing any heavy processing on the system you might be able to get away with it.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!