Bitcoin Forum
May 21, 2024, 10:58:03 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Feedback requested  (Read 4237 times)
donseptico (OP)

Activity: 19
Merit: 0

View Profile
December 07, 2014, 08:29:46 PM

Hi, my first post here as a signed up member (although I've lurked long enough so hopefully this is in the right place)...  Before I go any further: Relax - I'm not asking you for money!

I’m heading off around the world again late next year (planned departure is Oct ‘15) and will spend at least a couple of months in Asia where I’m looking to volunteer working with underprivileged kids and adults teaching English as a second language (and/or generally – I’m a qualified teacher).

Now, I’ve funded out the trip but am looking for additional ways to raise extra funds for books, teaching materials and even old computers for the school(s) in which I’m applying to teach – they’re by no means a pre-requisite of acceptance however they would doubtless make the placement much more effective and rewarding.

If you’ve read this far – remember relax! I’m not asking you for money or materials (well, not yet anyway) but I got to thinking the other evening about at least one possible way of collecting… a ‘pocket change’ donation project.

Many of us will have paypal accounts, bitcoin wallets, etc with, frankly, insignificant amounts sitting in them – before I go ahead and try and set up something along those lines I wondered how you, the internet savvy and sceptical think such a project would be received?

If it goes ahead (and the trip's on regardless) – would you be likely / willing to consider making a donation? I was wondering if it would be a good idea to have a maximum donation sum of, say, $5 – as we’re talking pocket change… would that be a good idea?