Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2018, 01:21:44 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Large-scale (100+ GH) bandwidth requirements  (Read 1343 times)
KIDC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 22, 2012, 02:26:07 AM
 #1

I'm starting to wonder if bandwidth may become and issue. With my measurements I think I estimated about 6 GB/month per gigahash of mining power for total transfer, most of it being upload bandwidth. Since in 6 months I may very well be running 240 GH in ASICs, it's occurred to me that I may not be able to actually do that due to ISP limitations.

Any thoughts? I've tried looking around to see if there's information on this but I don't see much. Forgive me if this is a repost of a question that's already answered.

Thanks,
KIDC

"He who controls the past commands the future. He who commands the future, conquers the past."
1540214504
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540214504

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540214504
Reply with quote  #2

1540214504
Report to moderator
1540214504
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540214504

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540214504
Reply with quote  #2

1540214504
Report to moderator
"The nature of Bitcoin is such that once version 0.1 was released, the core design was set in stone for the rest of its lifetime." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540214504
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540214504

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540214504
Reply with quote  #2

1540214504
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 22, 2012, 02:33:10 AM
 #2

If the network becomes 10 times larger after ASICs come in, then almost certainly most pools will change to a higher difficulty share instead of difficulty 1. If that happens, then the bandwidth will be dependent on the share difficulty and may not be much larger than it is now. So if difficulty goes 10x and pools start taking shares of difficulty 10, then if your hashrate is 10x larger than it was, the bandwidth will be the same.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
June 23, 2012, 02:44:55 PM
 #3

While I can't really comment on whether the new standard will be difficulty 10 shares or not... it won't really help pools.  The share submissions aren't the problem.  The getworks are, and regardless of difficulty of the shares, whether 1, 10, 100 or 1000, the getworks are going to remain the same. 


If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 23, 2012, 03:03:12 PM
 #4

Yeah I brought it up here and it's discussed at greater length.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=89029.0

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Internet151
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 23, 2012, 03:28:53 PM
 #5

Here's a screenshot from my router's page monitoring the bandwith usage of one of my quad gpu 1300 mh/s rigs for about 15 minutes.

I don't see bandwidth being a problem for a long time.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!