Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 11:14:32 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 7970 GHz Edition, with boost  (Read 4014 times)
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
June 24, 2012, 06:43:20 AM
 #1

This is a redone radeon hd 7970, and here's a review of the card
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/radeon-hd-7970-ghz-edition-review-benchmark,3232.html

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
1481368472
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481368472

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481368472
Reply with quote  #2

1481368472
Report to moderator
1481368472
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481368472

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481368472
Reply with quote  #2

1481368472
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481368472
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481368472

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481368472
Reply with quote  #2

1481368472
Report to moderator
1481368472
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481368472

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481368472
Reply with quote  #2

1481368472
Report to moderator
1481368472
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481368472

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481368472
Reply with quote  #2

1481368472
Report to moderator
1l1l11ll1l
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 711


TheMerchantShop.com


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2012, 07:53:37 AM
 #2

I'll be very interested to see where this card can overclock to. I'm running all mine at 1100/950 already, 1150/1000 isn't out of the question, so I would hope to see it hit 1200-1250

High Volume and/or High Risk Credit Card Processing. TheMerchantShop.com
Intention
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128


View Profile
June 24, 2012, 09:06:56 PM
 #3

Some "Ghz" editions exist already through pre-overclocked cards.  I had posted earlier problems with a PCS+ 7970 but that was due to a faulty card later I found out.

Currently I only have 1 running right now but it is for all intensive purposes a pretty beefy card.  The clock defaults at 1100/1425 but it can easily be run at 1200mhz with a lower memory speed.  The only thing that leaves my uneasy with it is the core voltage is at 1.2mV.

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
multi#lord
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66


LSD


View Profile
June 24, 2012, 09:09:02 PM
 #4

I thought a while back Sapphire was going to release a Toxic card that ran Tahiti at +1300 MHz, it could probably put out about +780 to +800 MH/s on mining. The current overclocked Sapphire and HIS cards on sale can reach 1250 MHz on air (HIS tends to be more stable over Sapphire), they are reference-like based, some of the few differences are the cooling fans, and the extra power phase on the card compared to reference.

Intention
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128


View Profile
June 24, 2012, 11:55:58 PM
 #5

I thought a while back Sapphire was going to release a Toxic card that ran Tahiti at +1300 MHz, it could probably put out about +780 to +800 MH/s on mining. The current overclocked Sapphire and HIS cards on sale can reach 1250 MHz on air (HIS tends to be more stable over Sapphire), they are reference-like based, some of the few differences are the cooling fans, and the extra power phase on the card compared to reference.
Well there is kinda like two versions, the factory overclocked and then the ones that are overclocked a lot further.

A lot of cards are factory o/c'd an extra 25-50mhz which isn't a big deal and they charge more money for it, why that's beyond me.  Ones like the PCS+, MSI's Lightning, and I think there is another one coming out soon have another power phase, upgraded vrams and differen't coolers like you said.  Those cards cost an extra $50 premium but they can be taken way way further.

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
June 25, 2012, 01:10:52 AM
 #6

Most reviews I've read have the overclock at ~1175-1200 which makes them not much better than the 3x Diamond 7970s (1230, 1250, 1280) I've bought 2-3 months ago.

ummas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274


View Profile
July 17, 2012, 07:51:54 PM
 #7

Any1 tested the GHz edition Hard with Kill-a-Wat ?

I heard that it`s more power consume happy than "old" revision !
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
July 18, 2012, 02:02:52 AM
 #8

okay what is the Mhash? or...Ghash

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
July 18, 2012, 08:12:58 AM
 #9

okay what is the Mhash? or...Ghash

At 1200 core speed, you're looking at about 711 mhash. At 1300 core, about 771 mhash. You will need about 1350 core to clear 800 mhash.

edit: I didn't realize "barrier" was such an evil word ¬_¬

420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
July 19, 2012, 07:02:08 AM
 #10

okay what is the Mhash? or...Ghash

At 1200 core speed, you're looking at about 711 mhash. At 1300 core, about 771 mhash. You will need about 1350 core to break the 800 mhash barrier.
I was not aware there was a barrier

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
July 19, 2012, 07:20:02 AM
 #11

okay what is the Mhash? or...Ghash

At 1200 core speed, you're looking at about 711 mhash. At 1300 core, about 771 mhash. You will need about 1350 core to break the 800 mhash barrier.
I was not aware there was a barrier
No more a barrier than I can only get my car to go 97 mph

u have like a 100mph barrier

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
July 19, 2012, 07:59:09 AM
 #12

...Wow, all this bickering about how I chose the word "barrier". I'm SORRY that I used the wrong word. Sheesh. I corrected my post and deleted the word. Happy?

420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
July 20, 2012, 02:19:16 AM
 #13

...Wow, all this bickering about how I chose the word "barrier". I'm SORRY that I used the wrong word. Sheesh. I corrected my post and deleted the word. Happy?

no you got rid of the evidence now

Smiley

I'm the word police. very picky and like to be very clear and make sure to use the best meaning words to explain things

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!