Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 04:33:12 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [All]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5970 getting 'sick' and dying after 10 minutes of mining.  (Read 2502 times)
A_CardeN
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 26, 2012, 08:06:51 PM
 #1

Title.

Anyone experienced this before?

I try to downclock... got it at 700-725 and it still crashes and gets sick.

Drivers?

try again
1511325192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511325192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511325192
Reply with quote  #2

1511325192
Report to moderator
1511325192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511325192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511325192
Reply with quote  #2

1511325192
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511325192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511325192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511325192
Reply with quote  #2

1511325192
Report to moderator
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
June 26, 2012, 08:12:44 PM
 #2

The only driver-related problem I know of is when you're running more than 4 GPUs (ie. more than two 5970s) on the same mobo with drivers higher than 11.12.  It'll bluescreen every time.

Mousepotato
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
June 26, 2012, 08:48:21 PM
 #3

Try running both cores at 600,300,0.95 and see what happens.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
A_CardeN
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 26, 2012, 09:39:59 PM
 #4

kk thanks

try again
A_CardeN
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 26, 2012, 10:35:35 PM
 #5

So far no sickness or failure at 600 core.

try again
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
June 27, 2012, 12:42:48 AM
 #6

725 is the stock speed. You might need to just keep it underclocked below stock.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
naz86
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
June 27, 2012, 01:07:58 PM
 #7

do you have enough power ?
A_CardeN
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 27, 2012, 11:14:54 PM
 #8

do you have enough power ?

Yes, a PC Power and Cooling 950w PSU with only two 5970 on them.  I cannot clock them over 600 or one of them fails.

Got it from a guy on the forum too, looks like he sold me his dud 5970.

try again
Definit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
June 28, 2012, 12:00:19 AM
 #9

do you have enough power ?

Yes, a PC Power and Cooling 950w PSU with only two 5970 on them.  I cannot clock them over 600 or one of them fails.

Got it from a guy on the forum too, looks like he sold me his dud 5970.

u might need to take it apart, clean off the gpu's and put new thermal paste & pads on it.
Definit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
June 28, 2012, 12:01:02 AM
 #10

and yeah, he sold you his dud that he may have already tried to fix... or didnt attempt to fix atleast, lol
GernMiester
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 284


View Profile
June 28, 2012, 12:46:37 AM
 #11

What are the temps? Dirty, clogged up heat sinks and fans mess up all kinds of things
Make sure nothing is over clocked before going too crazy troubleshooting stuff. Verify PC BIOS is up to date.
Run a Video card stress test and and look for artifacts to narrow it down to a specific card then swap PCIe slots.
See if the issues follows the card or stays with a PCIe socket.
A_CardeN
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 28, 2012, 04:11:33 AM
 #12

What are the temps? Dirty, clogged up heat sinks and fans mess up all kinds of things
Make sure nothing is over clocked before going too crazy troubleshooting stuff. Verify PC BIOS is up to date.
Run a Video card stress test and and look for artifacts to narrow it down to a specific card then swap PCIe slots.
See if the issues follows the card or stays with a PCIe socket.

Temps at around 70 per core.

Will try the rest.  Thank you!!

try again
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
June 29, 2012, 06:02:05 PM
 #13

Thermal pads on frozencpu.com:

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/7863/thr-49/EK_Replacement_Liquid_Block_Thermal_Pad_60mm_x_50mm_x_05mm_.html

I feel like ordering some right now!

Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
June 29, 2012, 08:44:32 PM
 #14


For the ram sure. For the vrm those are crap and will cause problems.

You need these at least http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l3/g8/c487/s1292/list/p1/Thermal-Thermal_Pads_Tape-Premium_Thermal_Pads-Page1.html

6W/mK minimum for the vrm or it'll throttle like crazy.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
June 29, 2012, 08:50:37 PM
 #15


For the ram sure. For the vrm those are crap and will cause problems.

You need these at least http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l3/g8/c487/s1292/list/p1/Thermal-Thermal_Pads_Tape-Premium_Thermal_Pads-Page1.html

6W/mK minimum for the vrm or it'll throttle like crazy.

Enlighten me: what does mK stand for?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
GernMiester
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 284


View Profile
June 29, 2012, 09:22:03 PM
 #16

70 is not very hot as far as GPU's go. GPU-z will let you see voltages and temps not show by some miners. If you have an overheating voltage regulator you may not see it without GPU-z running. Put a fan to really get air flowing with the side cover off. Moving more air may keep the VRM cool, if thats the issue it may run longer than 10 minutes.


rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


1ngldh


View Profile
June 29, 2012, 09:51:45 PM
 #17

Enlighten me: what does mK stand for?
SI unit of temperature: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Millikelvin

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
disclaimer201
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


View Profile
June 30, 2012, 03:38:04 PM
 #18

Be careful when removing the card or handling it. One of my older cards showed such symptoms, and when I tried to renew the thermal pads one tiny resistance on the back of the card, which already looked cooked, fell off. Now, I don't get a picture anymore, the fan goes full speed, but the system still appears to be loading in the background. Also, the card doesn't seem to get detected anymore together with another one. Now I wish I had kept my fingers off it and let it run on half speed. But it wasn't the first card I worked on, and I never had issues before that. I'm thinking many months of frying temps will just do that. Again, just be super careful with handling old cards, esp. in smaller cases.
AndrewBUD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


Moirai ICO starts on 10/11/2017


View Profile
June 30, 2012, 04:36:41 PM
 #19

I am having that EXACT issue with a 5850.. a tiny resistor fell off when I was cleaning it... It was having issues... Would mine for a minute.. temps would go to 127.5 and lock up... the entire rig.


Everything looks perfect on the card except this one tiny transistor.

         ▀█████▀
▀▄         ███         ▄▀
  █▄       ███       ▄█
   ██      ███      ██
    ██     ███     ██
    ▀██▄▄  ███  ▄▄██▀
      ▀███████████▀
         ▀▀███▀▀
           ███
           ███
           ███
           ███
         ▄█████▄
.MOIRAI.
  ██████
██████
█████
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

██████
██████
  █████
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
        ███

    ▄█████
    ██████
    ███▀
    ███
███████
███████
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███

█▄                ▄████▄
██▄             ███████▄▄▄
▀███▄▄      █████████▄
  ▀███████████████▀
▀████████████████
    ▀█████████████
  ▀█████████████
      ▀▀█████████
    ▄▄████████▀
██████████▀
    ▀▀▀▀▀

                              ▄▄██
                        ▄██████
                  ▄████▀▀███
            ▄█████▀  ▄████
      ▄██████▀  ▄██████
▄███████▀  ▄████████
  ▀▀▀▀███    █████████
            ██    █████████
            ▀█  ▄█▀    ▀████
              ██▀            ▀██
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 30, 2012, 04:43:20 PM
 #20

Can you two post some pictures of the location of this resistor that keeps falling off ?

Might be helpful for me and others with hot cards liable to "falling resistor" problem !

What temps where you running at BTW, 100 C ?
AndrewBUD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


Moirai ICO starts on 10/11/2017


View Profile
June 30, 2012, 04:47:34 PM
 #21

no, the temps on this card were good... my cutoff was set @ 90.....

         ▀█████▀
▀▄         ███         ▄▀
  █▄       ███       ▄█
   ██      ███      ██
    ██     ███     ██
    ▀██▄▄  ███  ▄▄██▀
      ▀███████████▀
         ▀▀███▀▀
           ███
           ███
           ███
           ███
         ▄█████▄
.MOIRAI.
  ██████
██████
█████
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

██████
██████
  █████
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
        ███

    ▄█████
    ██████
    ███▀
    ███
███████
███████
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███

█▄                ▄████▄
██▄             ███████▄▄▄
▀███▄▄      █████████▄
  ▀███████████████▀
▀████████████████
    ▀█████████████
  ▀█████████████
      ▀▀█████████
    ▄▄████████▀
██████████▀
    ▀▀▀▀▀

                              ▄▄██
                        ▄██████
                  ▄████▀▀███
            ▄█████▀  ▄████
      ▄██████▀  ▄██████
▄███████▀  ▄████████
  ▀▀▀▀███    █████████
            ██    █████████
            ▀█  ▄█▀    ▀████
              ██▀            ▀██
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 30, 2012, 04:48:53 PM
 #22

no, the temps on this card were good... my cutoff was set @ 90.....


Please share a picture because I really am curious about this.

Touched my naked card on some places and I saw myself some of the resistors were damn hot !
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
June 30, 2012, 04:51:08 PM
 #23

I am having that EXACT issue with a 5850.. a tiny resistor fell off when I was cleaning it... It was having issues... Would mine for a minute.. temps would go to 127.5 and lock up... the entire rig.


Everything looks perfect on the card except this one tiny transistor.
Like DNA, which is comprised of 4 heterocyclic bases, there are only 4 electronic components, the resistor, capacitor, transistor and memristor. So which is it that fell off?

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
AndrewBUD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


Moirai ICO starts on 10/11/2017


View Profile
June 30, 2012, 05:09:49 PM
 #24

HOLY SHIT....

I JUST TRIED the card after removing the burnt out transistor... AND ITS MINING AGAIN Smiley


Picture showing transistor that fell off...

Card is now mining at very low settings to see if it sets fire or not Tongue



Uploaded with ImageShack.us

         ▀█████▀
▀▄         ███         ▄▀
  █▄       ███       ▄█
   ██      ███      ██
    ██     ███     ██
    ▀██▄▄  ███  ▄▄██▀
      ▀███████████▀
         ▀▀███▀▀
           ███
           ███
           ███
           ███
         ▄█████▄
.MOIRAI.
  ██████
██████
█████
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

██████
██████
  █████
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
        ███

    ▄█████
    ██████
    ███▀
    ███
███████
███████
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███

█▄                ▄████▄
██▄             ███████▄▄▄
▀███▄▄      █████████▄
  ▀███████████████▀
▀████████████████
    ▀█████████████
  ▀█████████████
      ▀▀█████████
    ▄▄████████▀
██████████▀
    ▀▀▀▀▀

                              ▄▄██
                        ▄██████
                  ▄████▀▀███
            ▄█████▀  ▄████
      ▄██████▀  ▄██████
▄███████▀  ▄████████
  ▀▀▀▀███    █████████
            ██    █████████
            ▀█  ▄█▀    ▀████
              ██▀            ▀██
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
June 30, 2012, 08:07:19 PM
 #25

That's a capacitor. One of my cards has one melted/cooked up by the power connectors.from someone dropping a screw there between the pcie connectors  Works fine without..
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 30, 2012, 08:12:16 PM
 #26

That's a capacitor. One of my cards has one melted/cooked up by the power connectors.from someone dropping a screw there between the pcie connectors  Works fine without..

If it works fine without then why not include it from the beginning Roll Eyes

If anything is missing then you can bet that something is not right with the card when you want to game on it or use it as display card !
AndrewBUD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


Moirai ICO starts on 10/11/2017


View Profile
July 01, 2012, 01:10:37 AM
 #27

Sorry a Cap then.


Well it won't work properly as a desktop card....

It's running as a half borked 5850...

         ▀█████▀
▀▄         ███         ▄▀
  █▄       ███       ▄█
   ██      ███      ██
    ██     ███     ██
    ▀██▄▄  ███  ▄▄██▀
      ▀███████████▀
         ▀▀███▀▀
           ███
           ███
           ███
           ███
         ▄█████▄
.MOIRAI.
  ██████
██████
█████
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

██████
██████
  █████
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
        ███

    ▄█████
    ██████
    ███▀
    ███
███████
███████
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███

█▄                ▄████▄
██▄             ███████▄▄▄
▀███▄▄      █████████▄
  ▀███████████████▀
▀████████████████
    ▀█████████████
  ▀█████████████
      ▀▀█████████
    ▄▄████████▀
██████████▀
    ▀▀▀▀▀

                              ▄▄██
                        ▄██████
                  ▄████▀▀███
            ▄█████▀  ▄████
      ▄██████▀  ▄██████
▄███████▀  ▄████████
  ▀▀▀▀███    █████████
            ██    █████████
            ▀█  ▄█▀    ▀████
              ██▀            ▀██
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
July 01, 2012, 04:51:40 AM
 #28

It's running as a half borked 5850...

Haha, im lmao @ that statement. I'm def, siggying this.
AndrewBUD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


Moirai ICO starts on 10/11/2017


View Profile
July 01, 2012, 12:36:42 PM
 #29

lol....

does 157mhash/s Sad without crashing... was too tired last night to screw with it any.....

         ▀█████▀
▀▄         ███         ▄▀
  █▄       ███       ▄█
   ██      ███      ██
    ██     ███     ██
    ▀██▄▄  ███  ▄▄██▀
      ▀███████████▀
         ▀▀███▀▀
           ███
           ███
           ███
           ███
         ▄█████▄
.MOIRAI.
  ██████
██████
█████
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

██████
██████
  █████
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
        ███

    ▄█████
    ██████
    ███▀
    ███
███████
███████
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███

█▄                ▄████▄
██▄             ███████▄▄▄
▀███▄▄      █████████▄
  ▀███████████████▀
▀████████████████
    ▀█████████████
  ▀█████████████
      ▀▀█████████
    ▄▄████████▀
██████████▀
    ▀▀▀▀▀

                              ▄▄██
                        ▄██████
                  ▄████▀▀███
            ▄█████▀  ▄████
      ▄██████▀  ▄██████
▄███████▀  ▄████████
  ▀▀▀▀███    █████████
            ██    █████████
            ▀█  ▄█▀    ▀████
              ██▀            ▀██
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


I have some bitcoins. Somewhere.


View Profile WWW
July 01, 2012, 03:46:29 PM
 #30

Title.

Anyone experienced this before?

I try to downclock... got it at 700-725 and it still crashes and gets sick.

Drivers?

i had one that was doing this about 2-3 days ago

it went pretty quickly from being stable at 810/150 @ 1.010v to 720/150 @ 0.990v to 600/150 @ 0.95v

then i decided to try to go to 650/150 @ 0.950v, it crashed.  powered computer off & on (is there some way in linux to not have to do that when a card crashes?? wtf), and now it won't even run at 550/150.  it says 0.00mhash/s, but it does get like the whole 'new work' messages and stuff.

that room is too hot, and i've been too lazy to take it out of the computer.  besides, the 1st gpu can run at 850/150 @ 1.050v now, since the 2nd gpu isnt giving off any heat

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
AndrewBUD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


Moirai ICO starts on 10/11/2017


View Profile
July 01, 2012, 05:08:05 PM
 #31

I am about to screw with RBE and edit the bios a bit... get it stuck on 2d clocks and it'll be fine Smiley

         ▀█████▀
▀▄         ███         ▄▀
  █▄       ███       ▄█
   ██      ███      ██
    ██     ███     ██
    ▀██▄▄  ███  ▄▄██▀
      ▀███████████▀
         ▀▀███▀▀
           ███
           ███
           ███
           ███
         ▄█████▄
.MOIRAI.
  ██████
██████
█████
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

██████
██████
  █████
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
        ███

    ▄█████
    ██████
    ███▀
    ███
███████
███████
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███

█▄                ▄████▄
██▄             ███████▄▄▄
▀███▄▄      █████████▄
  ▀███████████████▀
▀████████████████
    ▀█████████████
  ▀█████████████
      ▀▀█████████
    ▄▄████████▀
██████████▀
    ▀▀▀▀▀

                              ▄▄██
                        ▄██████
                  ▄████▀▀███
            ▄█████▀  ▄████
      ▄██████▀  ▄██████
▄███████▀  ▄████████
  ▀▀▀▀███    █████████
            ██    █████████
            ▀█  ▄█▀    ▀████
              ██▀            ▀██
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
July 01, 2012, 05:23:40 PM
 #32

I am about to screw with RBE and edit the bios a bit... get it stuck on 2d clocks and it'll be fine Smiley

Hey, gotta milk the crap out it, what ever works. Sucks to hear that the card works like so but gotta admit, I even tease my father for milking his vehicle, oh gawd the laughter though we have.
AndrewBUD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


Moirai ICO starts on 10/11/2017


View Profile
July 01, 2012, 06:33:36 PM
 #33

Thing is pissing me off...Seems to work sometimes.

         ▀█████▀
▀▄         ███         ▄▀
  █▄       ███       ▄█
   ██      ███      ██
    ██     ███     ██
    ▀██▄▄  ███  ▄▄██▀
      ▀███████████▀
         ▀▀███▀▀
           ███
           ███
           ███
           ███
         ▄█████▄
.MOIRAI.
  ██████
██████
█████
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

██████
██████
  █████
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
        ███

    ▄█████
    ██████
    ███▀
    ███
███████
███████
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███

█▄                ▄████▄
██▄             ███████▄▄▄
▀███▄▄      █████████▄
  ▀███████████████▀
▀████████████████
    ▀█████████████
  ▀█████████████
      ▀▀█████████
    ▄▄████████▀
██████████▀
    ▀▀▀▀▀

                              ▄▄██
                        ▄██████
                  ▄████▀▀███
            ▄█████▀  ▄████
      ▄██████▀  ▄██████
▄███████▀  ▄████████
  ▀▀▀▀███    █████████
            ██    █████████
            ▀█  ▄█▀    ▀████
              ██▀            ▀██
disclaimer201
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


View Profile
July 01, 2012, 10:33:55 PM
 #34

perhaps it's time to let it die... at least this way the costs for your time spent on maintenance doesn't skyrocket. possibly could try to repair one single card for days. rip my beloved 5870. you paid yourself off months ago.
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
July 01, 2012, 10:36:17 PM
 #35

Thing is pissing me off...Seems to work sometimes.

I wonder if you have a tv repair shop in you neighborhood, find out the info on the resistor or cap that fell off, have the tv repair man solder it on.

Prob nearly 20 bucks to do it. And the part is probably only a few bucks.
AndrewBUD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


Moirai ICO starts on 10/11/2017


View Profile
July 01, 2012, 11:36:24 PM
 #36

I asked on the market place if anyone has a reference 5850 with a dead fan they want to part with.


I don't want to put the work in to fixing it... I bought this card new in 2009 Tongue

         ▀█████▀
▀▄         ███         ▄▀
  █▄       ███       ▄█
   ██      ███      ██
    ██     ███     ██
    ▀██▄▄  ███  ▄▄██▀
      ▀███████████▀
         ▀▀███▀▀
           ███
           ███
           ███
           ███
         ▄█████▄
.MOIRAI.
  ██████
██████
█████
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

██████
██████
  █████
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
        ███

    ▄█████
    ██████
    ███▀
    ███
███████
███████
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███

█▄                ▄████▄
██▄             ███████▄▄▄
▀███▄▄      █████████▄
  ▀███████████████▀
▀████████████████
    ▀█████████████
  ▀█████████████
      ▀▀█████████
    ▄▄████████▀
██████████▀
    ▀▀▀▀▀

                              ▄▄██
                        ▄██████
                  ▄████▀▀███
            ▄█████▀  ▄████
      ▄██████▀  ▄██████
▄███████▀  ▄████████
  ▀▀▀▀███    █████████
            ██    █████████
            ▀█  ▄█▀    ▀████
              ██▀            ▀██
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


1ngldh


View Profile
July 02, 2012, 12:32:01 PM
 #37

A cap falling off or being removed might not result in immediate damage, but the one you pointed out is in the power regulation section of the card, on one of the power phases. I wouldn't be surprised if it was crashing due to unsteady regulation or spikes.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Pages: 1 2 [All]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!