Bitcoin Forum
September 22, 2018, 11:57:45 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Router recommedations for home mining  (Read 1763 times)
elokk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 572
Merit: 502


View Profile
November 11, 2016, 02:49:08 AM
 #1

Looking for recommendations for a wifi router that will work well with home mining.

I am currently using an outdated dlink router which does not like when I try to watch netflix and running miners all at the same time

EDIT: miners are run off ethernet cable, wifi is is used for all other devices on the network
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537660665
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537660665

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537660665
Reply with quote  #2

1537660665
Report to moderator
1537660665
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537660665

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537660665
Reply with quote  #2

1537660665
Report to moderator
1537660665
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537660665

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537660665
Reply with quote  #2

1537660665
Report to moderator
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1095


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
November 11, 2016, 03:15:08 AM
 #2

Short and quick answer:
Even by itself, WiFi is bad idea for mining as the connection is rather variable. Alwayss use hardwire connections.

Throw in media streaming over the same WiFi connection and forget it. Aside from the really latest/greatest and $$ WiFi bandwidth sux plus, to use the latest WiFi standards both ends of the connection have to support them.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
elokk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 572
Merit: 502


View Profile
November 11, 2016, 03:21:49 AM
 #3

My mining equipment is connected to the router via ethernet but the same router is also used for wifi
Finksy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 11, 2016, 03:33:04 AM
 #4

Ever since I went with enterprise grade networking equipment, I have never looked back.  Ubiquiti stuff works good for me, way more reliable vs consumer routers, separated wifi (via access point) from router, etc.  And the difference in price isn't even that much, especially considering it won't crap out in a couple years, or become out-dated.  I'll never go back.

IBM 2880W PSU Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=966135 IBM 4K PSU Breakout Boards & Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296 
Server PSU-powered GPU rig solutions! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1864539  Wallet address: 1GWQYCv22cAikgTgT1zFuAmsJ9fFqq9TXf 
elokk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 572
Merit: 502


View Profile
November 11, 2016, 03:54:56 AM
 #5

Ever since I went with enterprise grade networking equipment, I have never looked back.  Ubiquiti stuff works good for me, way more reliable vs consumer routers, separated wifi (via access point) from router, etc.  And the difference in price isn't even that much, especially considering it won't crap out in a couple years, or become out-dated.  I'll never go back.

Thanks for the suggestion. I am going to try out the Ubiquti AirRouter
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1000


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
November 11, 2016, 09:07:49 AM
 #6

you can try making a Pfsense box

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1022


View Profile
November 12, 2016, 12:05:27 AM
 #7

My long-time "router" for my mining (and everything else) was an old AMD K6-450 based Slackware LINUX box - which had more CPU horsepower than a lot of the current router "appliances".

 Currently use a Netgear "Blue Box" appliance unit - I've had VERY good results with Netgear professional line equipment over the years, NEVER had one die in less than 15 years of usage (and some over 20 STILL RUNNING).

 I don't do wifi - PERIOD. Security is a joke, reliability is poor, speed isn't really an issue but wifi is still trying to catch up with Gigabit Ethernet that's 15+ years old, dropped packets are a way of life which causes issues, etc ad nausium.
 IMO wifi is just junk that should only be used when you need a net connection to gear that *MUST BE PORTABLE*.

I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1022



View Profile
November 12, 2016, 01:59:09 AM
 #8

Hard connection is a must for miners. Otherwise you get dropped packets, missed shares, stale shares and even stale and bad blocks mined if you hit one. Wifi just isn't reliable as it's a half duplex connection that can only send data one way at a time, where ethernet and hard connections are full duplex and two way data transfer can be done.

You can run miners on wifi still, however, at low speeds and not get reductions in shares too much as long as range is good.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
bl1nd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53
Merit: 1


View Profile
November 12, 2016, 05:08:08 PM
 #9

Ether over powerline is the best thing for mining just plug 1 adapter near your router and 1 adapter near your miners VOILA
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1103


View Profile
November 12, 2016, 05:12:18 PM
 #10

Looking for recommendations for a wifi router that will work well with home mining.

I am currently using an outdated dlink router which does not like when I try to watch netflix and running miners all at the same time

EDIT: miners are run off ethernet cable, wifi is is used for all other devices on the network

I'm not sure the router you need really matters very much. If the miner is quick, it has been said here that the miners use a maximum of 1mb/s.
This being said, you'd need requirements for:
• 1mb/s per miner
• ~10-20mb/s for each device you wish to stream from using other content.

It is probably helpful to get two routers and two internet cables, or to try to combine the miners in any way you can (like the way you can join 3 antminers of the same type to one control computer).

vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1877
Merit: 1070


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
November 20, 2016, 08:48:54 PM
 #11

This being said, you'd need requirements for:
• 1mb/s per miner

1 mbit/s?? negative.

last i checked on my ubuntu box my two gpu zec miner running claymore (statum) used like 20k/sec.

even getwork is nowhere near that.
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1022


View Profile
November 21, 2016, 03:21:54 AM
 #12

More like 1 MByte / HOUR at most even for larger ASIC rigs.

 My entire farm was using less than 100 MB / DAY back when I was on a metered Sat connection (which I strongly recommend against, the high latancy was hard on stale shares, but the options I had at that location were ALL bad). 5 A2 Terminators, 5 S5 and a SP20, and some GPU rigs doing various stuff at the time.




I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1151

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
November 21, 2016, 03:47:00 AM
 #13

I run a 100KW datacenter off a custom pfsense box on a 3mbit synchronous line, and can stream netflix through it just fine.

jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1103


View Profile
November 21, 2016, 10:34:40 PM
 #14

This being said, you'd need requirements for:
• 1mb/s per miner

1 mbit/s?? negative.

last i checked on my ubuntu box my two gpu zec miner running claymore (statum) used like 20k/sec.

even getwork is nowhere near that.

For a faster connection and a way to limit any latency then  I'd say it's probaly useful to get something at that speed. They're not exactly scarce in production. He said he wanted to do other things with the router other than host miners so 1mb/s is probably quite good to use for a faster speed per miner and to allow for extra for other devices.
I didn't realise that mining used so little bandwith as it's not something I constantly monitor.

leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1022



View Profile
November 21, 2016, 10:36:52 PM
 #15

This being said, you'd need requirements for:
• 1mb/s per miner

1 mbit/s?? negative.

last i checked on my ubuntu box my two gpu zec miner running claymore (statum) used like 20k/sec.

even getwork is nowhere near that.

For a faster connection and a way to limit any latency then  I'd say it's probaly useful to get something at that speed. They're not exactly scarce in production. He said he wanted to do other things with the router other than host miners so 1mb/s is probably quite good to use for a faster speed per miner and to allow for extra for other devices.
I didn't realise that mining used so little bandwith as it's not something I constantly monitor.
I run my entire rig of 3S5s and 1S3 as well as a variety of small stickminers controlled by a Pi on just 1,5Mbps wifi, and nothing too bad happens. Latency isn't much of an issue for me, I rarely get missed shares even though I sometimes bump it up to 5mbps randomly just to be sure. Bandwidth really is the least of your worries in mining. Just make sure range is not too far or you might face issues.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1103


View Profile
November 21, 2016, 10:47:01 PM
 #16

This being said, you'd need requirements for:
• 1mb/s per miner

1 mbit/s?? negative.

last i checked on my ubuntu box my two gpu zec miner running claymore (statum) used like 20k/sec.

even getwork is nowhere near that.

For a faster connection and a way to limit any latency then  I'd say it's probaly useful to get something at that speed. They're not exactly scarce in production. He said he wanted to do other things with the router other than host miners so 1mb/s is probably quite good to use for a faster speed per miner and to allow for extra for other devices.
I didn't realise that mining used so little bandwith as it's not something I constantly monitor.
I run my entire rig of 3S5s and 1S3 as well as a variety of small stickminers controlled by a Pi on just 1,5Mbps wifi, and nothing too bad happens. Latency isn't much of an issue for me, I rarely get missed shares even though I sometimes bump it up to 5mbps randomly just to be sure. Bandwidth really is the least of your worries in mining. Just make sure range is not too far or you might face issues.

That's good to note. Do you do anything as well as mining on that router or is that connection merely for mining? The range will definitely solve as an issue as it's too far away.
Also, is the internet speed you need for mining greater if solo mining than it is if using a mining pool?

BigFun
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 22, 2016, 01:18:47 AM
 #17

I run a 100KW datacenter off a custom pfsense box on a 3mbit synchronous line, and can stream netflix through it just fine.

Agreed, I run two S9s and two S7s on a satlink as that is my only internet connection option.  It's not ideal but works just fine with invalid shares at worst less than .2%
leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1022



View Profile
November 22, 2016, 09:26:16 PM
 #18

This being said, you'd need requirements for:
• 1mb/s per miner

1 mbit/s?? negative.

last i checked on my ubuntu box my two gpu zec miner running claymore (statum) used like 20k/sec.

even getwork is nowhere near that.

For a faster connection and a way to limit any latency then  I'd say it's probaly useful to get something at that speed. They're not exactly scarce in production. He said he wanted to do other things with the router other than host miners so 1mb/s is probably quite good to use for a faster speed per miner and to allow for extra for other devices.
I didn't realise that mining used so little bandwith as it's not something I constantly monitor.
I run my entire rig of 3S5s and 1S3 as well as a variety of small stickminers controlled by a Pi on just 1,5Mbps wifi, and nothing too bad happens. Latency isn't much of an issue for me, I rarely get missed shares even though I sometimes bump it up to 5mbps randomly just to be sure. Bandwidth really is the least of your worries in mining. Just make sure range is not too far or you might face issues.

That's good to note. Do you do anything as well as mining on that router or is that connection merely for mining? The range will definitely solve as an issue as it's too far away.
Also, is the internet speed you need for mining greater if solo mining than it is if using a mining pool?
I have 100Mbps internet, and I have those miners hooked up to a repeater that is limited to however much wifi bandwidth I allow to pass through on it. It's all I use on that repeater. I suspect solo will have slightly higher bandwidth requirements, but that should still be negligible. You could try dial-up if you only have a few miners, but latency could be an issue.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!