Bitcoin Forum
August 21, 2018, 01:01:35 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: UPS backup on an s2  (Read 969 times)
rkinnin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 316
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 04, 2014, 08:56:21 PM
 #1

My power has been abit erratic lately with quick bursts of outages. My concern that as winter continues to roll in more quick flickers of outages will occur. The s2 doesn't always reboot properly - I think its more a function of the power supply that BitMain used than anything.  In order to keep the s2 alive I would like to install a UPS on it. 

Any recommendations on the specific model from say APC ?

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534813295
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534813295

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534813295
Reply with quote  #2

1534813295
Report to moderator
1534813295
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534813295

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534813295
Reply with quote  #2

1534813295
Report to moderator
pak13
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 04, 2014, 09:02:30 PM
 #2

My power has been abit erratic lately with quick bursts of outages. My concern that as winter continues to roll in more quick flickers of outages will occur. The s2 doesn't always reboot properly - I think its more a function of the power supply that BitMain used than anything.  In order to keep the s2 alive I would like to install a UPS on it. 

Any recommendations on the specific model from say APC ?



apc 3000va on ebay used.

Alternatively, you could always put some caps on the 12v output with a slow charge circuit.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1293


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
December 05, 2014, 01:22:29 AM
 #3

 yeah there is a good usa seller of big refurbished ups on ebay I will find a link


this seller is very good

http://www.ebay.com/itm/APC-SMART-UPS-RT-3000-3000VA-2100W-208V-SURT3000XLT-/350959719941?pt=US_Uninterruptible_Power_Supplies&hash=item51b6d45605

http://www.ebay.com/itm/APC-SMART-UPS-XL-3000-Rackmpunt-3U-UPS-Extended-Run-Time-Option-/111312820775?pt=US_Uninterruptible_Power_Supplies&hash=item19eac2da27



this is a maybe   . but my guess is this would work for you  and it is cheaper

http://www.ebay.com/itm/APC-SMART-UPS-2200VA-SU2200NET-TOWER-W-NEW-BATTERIES-/111392626002?pt=US_Uninterruptible_Power_Supplies&hash=item19ef849552

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Soros Shorts
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1591
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 05, 2014, 01:40:37 AM
 #4

My power has been abit erratic lately with quick bursts of outages. My concern that as winter continues to roll in more quick flickers of outages will occur. The s2 doesn't always reboot properly - I think its more a function of the power supply that BitMain used than anything.  In order to keep the s2 alive I would like to install a UPS on it. 

Any recommendations on the specific model from say APC ?



If you have reboot problems due to a marginal power supply check to see if your S2 already has the capacitor modification - https://www.bitmaintech.com/files/download/Guideline%20of%20Soldering%20Capacitor%20to%20S2.pdf.

These mods are supposed to fix chip disabling problems but it also seems to fix reboot problems, at least for me.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2014, 12:39:09 PM
 #5

How long are the outages you're trying to bridge?

wpgdeez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 20, 2014, 12:01:33 AM
 #6

If its going on all the time this is just a band aid.
rkinnin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 316
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 29, 2014, 12:39:48 AM
 #7

How long are the outages you're trying to bridge?

not even 5 minutes....most of the time, less than 1 minute.
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 29, 2014, 01:22:15 AM
 #8

Try Walmart,they have up to 800 watt ones for about $160 & free ship to store.I've gotten several from them & have had no problems.

Cyber power ones are just fine,just don't expect an 800 watter to supply 800 watts for more than 30 seconds,you gotta give leeway of about 20% to get several minutes of runtime  Wink

Here's what walmart offers:

http://www.walmart.com/search/?query=cyberpower%20ups&typeahead=cyberpower

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
pak13
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 29, 2014, 01:28:54 AM
 #9

How long are the outages you're trying to bridge?

not even 5 minutes....most of the time, less than 1 minute.

I stand by the APC 3000VA UPS's on ebay. Cheapest option for decent reliability. The downside, the batteries will need replacing every 3 to 5 years.

Alternatively you could invest in remote power point/outlet, so if the S2 doesn't reboot correctly you can force a power cycle on it.

I've had s3's after a brown out, that will "mysteriously" keep the IP network settings but reset the mining config to bitmain's. So when you walk past them, they all appear to be working but in fact, they are farming for bitmain, not you. 2 ways to fix that, a monitor on each worker from the pool you are using, and/or add specific routes to your router to redirect or null route bitmain's default mining config.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!