Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 04:46:34 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Need help connecting to mining pools  (Read 4145 times)
ItsASpork
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile
May 20, 2011, 07:13:19 AM
 #1

I've been trying for a couple days now to start mining, but I've been unable to connect to a mining pool. I've tried mining straight from the Bitcoin client, and using GUIminer with slush's pool, but it wont connect. Help would be much appreciated.

Feeling Generous? 16Zo6werKP4akoTfHc9P5XXBGS2jFqeuSt
Support the Bitcoin Faucet
1480913194
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480913194

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480913194
Reply with quote  #2

1480913194
Report to moderator
"Apparently, so I am told, there exist "people" who prefer to wipe sitting down. From the front. Initial research indicates it could be up to half the population." -- benjamindees
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480913194
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480913194

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480913194
Reply with quote  #2

1480913194
Report to moderator
ledskof
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
May 20, 2011, 07:26:45 AM
 #2

1) We need to know what graphics card and operating system you are using.

2) If you're using windows, guiminer is probably easier:
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=3878.0

3) If you haven't, Create a login on slush's pool
http://mining.bitcoin.cz/accounts/register/

4) If you haven't, register a new worker on slush's pool
http://mining.bitcoin.cz/accounts/profile/worker-edit/

The main login and worker login are not the same.

5) Use the worker login in the guiminer interface.

6) Check here for tweaks to your graphics card
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_Hardware_Comparison

Just type it into the Extra Flags field like this:
-w128

That should do it.  I'd try to be a little more clear but I'm about to pass out.

If you need more help PM me or something and I'll try to help tomorrow.

13ThJTiHF3BvW6TTWtdN5nCEZrrNrnb9o4
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 20, 2011, 10:31:44 AM
 #3

You need to create a "worker" after joining one of the mining pools as far as I know - and then use that username/password to mine with. Look in you account settings on the pool's website.
ItsASpork
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile
May 20, 2011, 05:00:39 PM
 #4

Thanks for the replies.

I have a gtx 460 and am running Win7. I know it's bad to use Nvidia to mine, but I'm just doing it for fun, and I'm getting a 6990 next month sometime.

I am using guiminer, but it won't connect either.'

I did register for sush's pool (Same username as my forum name).

I saw this, but how do I know my login suffix?

Thanks again for the help.

EDIT: I've created a worker with Slush's pool, but I'm still stuck on connecting.

Feeling Generous? 16Zo6werKP4akoTfHc9P5XXBGS2jFqeuSt
Support the Bitcoin Faucet
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!