Bitcoin Forum
October 28, 2021, 03:08:42 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Cheapest way to run a full node ?  (Read 2181 times)
cozk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 01, 2015, 03:41:08 AM
 #1

What is the cheapest way to run a full node. I do have a few external HDDs and rasp pi laying around.
No unused laptops though.

Suggestions ? ideas ?
"Your bitcoin is secured in a way that is physically impossible for others to access, no matter for what reason, no matter how good the excuse, no matter a majority of miners, no matter what." -- Greg Maxwell
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1635390522
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1635390522

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1635390522
Reply with quote  #2

1635390522
Report to moderator
allgoodthings1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 270
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 02:11:06 PM
 #2

You can normally run only one instance on your network. So fire up the node on the computer you already have running all the time, and forget about all the other equipment you have lying around.

IRS 501(c)(3) Public Charities That Accept Bitcoin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=758674.0
Avoid U.S. Taxes on Bitcoin. Give to Charity. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=627860.0
OrientA
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 01, 2015, 04:58:00 PM
 #3

We can use the home computer and launch the bitcoin wallet when we turn on the computer. That is a kind of full node, although it is off some time.
SirChiko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 01, 2015, 07:18:26 PM
 #4

We can use the home computer and launch the bitcoin wallet when we turn on the computer. That is a kind of full node, although it is off some time.
I don't know what you're trying to say, but answer to op: if you want to rent/pay for it then price shouldn't be above 20$/year.

The only online casino on which i won something. I made 17mBTC from 1mBTC in like 15 minutes.  This is not paid AD!

▀Check it out yourself▀
Buffer Overflow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1015



View Profile
January 01, 2015, 07:22:34 PM
 #5

What is the cheapest way to run a full node. I do have a few external HDDs and rasp pi laying around.
No unused laptops though.

Suggestions ? ideas ?
You'll have difficulty running a full node on a pi. It doesn't have enough ram and will end up using swap.

tonygal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 504



View Profile
January 01, 2015, 07:26:25 PM
 #6

What is the cheapest way to run a full node. I do have a few external HDDs and rasp pi laying around.
No unused laptops though.

Suggestions ? ideas ?
You'll have difficulty running a full node on a pi. It doesn't have enough ram and will end up using swap.
Would it be possible using a bananapi or cubietruck or something similar? Can you say something
about the "realistic" minimal requirements? I'd also interested in how much traffic this would cause
per month.
cozk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 01, 2015, 07:30:23 PM
 #7

What is the cheapest way to run a full node. I do have a few external HDDs and rasp pi laying around.
No unused laptops though.

Suggestions ? ideas ?
You'll have difficulty running a full node on a pi. It doesn't have enough ram and will end up using swap.
Would it be possible using a bananapi or cubietruck or something similar? Can you say something
about the "realistic" minimal requirements? I'd also interested in how much traffic this would cause
per month.

3-5gb upload per day i heard.
tl121
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 278
Merit: 251


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 11:02:15 PM
 #8

Not the cheapest, but has been running well since it was installed 6 weeks ago.

$300:
Intel Atom E3815.1 1.46GHz Fanless NUC Barebone Kit
Crucial 8 GB Single DDR3 1600 Mt/s
Intel 520 SSD 120 GB
Ubuntu 14.04.1 LTS x86_64









Buffer Overflow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1015



View Profile
January 01, 2015, 11:19:31 PM
 #9

Can you say something
about the "realistic" minimal requirements? I'd also interested in how much traffic this would cause
per month.
My full node is currently using 660MB of ram, connected to 54 peers.

Not sure how much bandwidth I use each month. I have an unlimited home broadband package, so I don't worry about it.

shorena
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1411


No I dont escrow anymore.


View Profile WWW
January 02, 2015, 09:07:03 AM
 #10

-snip-
Would it be possible using a bananapi or cubietruck or something similar? Can you say something
about the "realistic" minimal requirements? I'd also interested in how much traffic this would cause
per month.

Traffic depends on the number of connections obviously. I limited them to 50 a while back.

the last days:



the bussiest days yet:


Im not really here, its just your imagination.
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1003

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 10:10:39 AM
 #11

What is the cheapest way to run a full node. I do have a few external HDDs and rasp pi laying around.
No unused laptops though.

Suggestions ? ideas ?
You'll have difficulty running a full node on a pi. It doesn't have enough ram and will end up using swap.
With some configuration, it is possible to reduce the memory footprint to as low as 200 or lower megabytes.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
tonygal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 504



View Profile
January 02, 2015, 10:31:43 AM
 #12

Thanks for your answers. So I'm lead to the conclusion the cheapest option (without much tweaking)
would be to rent out a virtual server. They can be had for a couple of $'s and should
be sufficient ram-wise and traffic-wise (usually at least 50-100 GB/month is included in these
contracts). Did someone try that?
shorena
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1411


No I dont escrow anymore.


View Profile WWW
January 02, 2015, 11:40:54 AM
 #13

Thanks for your answers. So I'm lead to the conclusion the cheapest option (without much tweaking)
would be to rent out a virtual server. They can be had for a couple of $'s and should
be sufficient ram-wise and traffic-wise (usually at least 50-100 GB/month is included in these
contracts). Did someone try that?

Mine [1] is a VServer (single core, 2 GB Ram, 50(?)GB SSD) and its fine as a node. Its a bit slow from time to time for the analysis of the mempool I want to run, but Im working on another baremetal server at home for that.


[1] http://213.165.91.169/

Im not really here, its just your imagination.
Buffer Overflow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1015



View Profile
January 02, 2015, 01:38:18 PM
 #14

What is the cheapest way to run a full node. I do have a few external HDDs and rasp pi laying around.
No unused laptops though.

Suggestions ? ideas ?
You'll have difficulty running a full node on a pi. It doesn't have enough ram and will end up using swap.
With some configuration, it is possible to reduce the memory footprint to as low as 200 or lower megabytes.

Can you show me how to do this? I would prefer to use a Pi instead of an x86_64 motherboard setup.

Buffer Overflow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1015



View Profile
January 02, 2015, 01:41:54 PM
 #15

Thanks for your answers. So I'm lead to the conclusion the cheapest option (without much tweaking)
would be to rent out a virtual server. They can be had for a couple of $'s and should
be sufficient ram-wise and traffic-wise (usually at least 50-100 GB/month is included in these
contracts). Did someone try that?

Mine [1] is a VServer (single core, 2 GB Ram, 50(?)GB SSD) and its fine as a node. Its a bit slow from time to time for the analysis of the mempool I want to run, but Im working on another baremetal server at home for that.


[1] http://213.165.91.169/

What program did you use to get those stats?

ranochigo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 2742

@ me if you need my response


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 02:25:26 PM
 #16

What is the cheapest way to run a full node. I do have a few external HDDs and rasp pi laying around.
No unused laptops though.

Suggestions ? ideas ?
You'll have difficulty running a full node on a pi. It doesn't have enough ram and will end up using swap.
You can use swap and also take steps to reduce memory usage but you would need to have a hard disk/SSD connected to the pi. AFAIK, SD cards aren't designed to have a heavy read and write cycles and can be relatively slow.

Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1003

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 05:52:24 PM
 #17

What is the cheapest way to run a full node. I do have a few external HDDs and rasp pi laying around.
No unused laptops though.

Suggestions ? ideas ?
You'll have difficulty running a full node on a pi. It doesn't have enough ram and will end up using swap.
With some configuration, it is possible to reduce the memory footprint to as low as 200 or lower megabytes.

Can you show me how to do this? I would prefer to use a Pi instead of an x86_64 motherboard setup.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=765934.msg8632982#msg8632982

However, setting -listen to 0 means you will not be relaying transactions to other nodes, and that is the most important part of being a full node. You will still be receiving transactions, just not relaying them to other peers.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
Lincoln6Echo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2460
Merit: 1057


Don't use bitcoin.de if you care about privacy!


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 06:05:52 PM
 #18

How about an Banana Pi as full node? It costs nearly the same as RPI but has 1GB of Ram (which should be sufficient,right) and a SATA Port.
In March I will try to get a full node running on Banana Pi with 10Mbit upload. Will there be a significant benefit for using an old SSD for Blockchain storage instead of oldschool HDD? Maybe I/O performance?

Another cool Project: Bitcoin full node using Intel Edison!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=809090.msg9064556#new

tonygal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 504



View Profile
January 02, 2015, 06:13:50 PM
 #19

Thanks for your answers. So I'm lead to the conclusion the cheapest option (without much tweaking)
would be to rent out a virtual server. They can be had for a couple of $'s and should
be sufficient ram-wise and traffic-wise (usually at least 50-100 GB/month is included in these
contracts). Did someone try that?

Mine [1] is a VServer (single core, 2 GB Ram, 50(?)GB SSD) and its fine as a node. Its a bit slow from time to time for the analysis of the mempool I want to run, but Im working on another baremetal server at home for that.


[1] http://213.165.91.169/

That looks really nice. Is there a step-by-step guide how to set up a full node available somewhere?
Reynaldo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1143
Merit: 1000


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 10:26:19 PM
 #20

http://blog.pryds.eu/2014/06/compile-bitcoin-core-on-raspberry-pi.html

instead of the sdcard, get one external hdd and use it full time /home/ and move all the partitions to external hdd, use just a 4 gb sd for the other partitions.

Get an usb hub or use latest raspberry pi b+ with the 4 usb hubs, should do well, im planning my self to set one up in later january Smiley
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!