Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 06:25:18 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: help: LTC mining in ubuntu  (Read 2602 times)
Jbanna
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132

dandiilion


View Profile WWW
July 02, 2012, 07:18:06 AM
 #1

Hey everybody,
I've been trying to setup ltc mining on ubuntu 11.04 with 4 6870's, sdk 2.7 and catalyst 12.6.. but have come to an impasse. .
Everything is set up to mine with litecoinpool.org, but when I run I get....

jason@litecoin:~/Desktop/reaper$ ./reaper
\|||||||||||||||||||||/
-  Reaper v12 64-bit  -
-   coded by mtrlt    -
/|||||||||||||||||||||\

Share thread started
List of platforms:
   0   AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing
Using platform number 0

Using all devices
   0   Barts
Program built from saved binary.
Creating 2 GPU threads
1...2...done
2012-07-02 03:15:56 Error with server: {"id":1,"error":{"code":-1,"message":"method not getwork"},"result":null}
Activating long polling.
Long polling URL: [/LP]. trying to parse.
LP Path: /LP
2012-07-02 03:15:58 Error with server: {"id":1,"error":{"code":-1,"message":"method not getwork"},"result":null}
2012-07-02 03:16:00 Error with server: {"id":1,"error":{"code":-1,"message":"method not getwork"},"result":null}

Is there any way to get around this?
Thanks guys.

1481437518
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437518

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437518
Reply with quote  #2

1481437518
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481437518
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437518

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437518
Reply with quote  #2

1481437518
Report to moderator
1481437518
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437518

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437518
Reply with quote  #2

1481437518
Report to moderator
daybyter
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 965


View Profile
July 02, 2012, 12:21:48 PM
 #2

I don't know, how to get around this, but I can tell you, that I also got 2 kinds of curl errors, when trying to get work. At the moment, I've setup solo mining.

Maybe there's a better pool for GPU mining?

abbeytim
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333


View Profile
July 02, 2012, 01:14:20 PM
 #3

thats reaper 12 you need reaper 13 to ltc mine
Jbanna
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132

dandiilion


View Profile WWW
July 02, 2012, 02:52:02 PM
 #4

oh wow it is v12. Thank you! that was a major brainfart.
But now after having it set up correctly it only displays the first GPU (device 0)

my litecoin.conf setting is
host litecoinpool.org
port 9332
user jbanna.5
pass 1
protocol litecoin
worksize 256
aggression 16
threads_per_gpu 1
sharethreads 18
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 6144


reaper.conf:
kernel reaper.cl

save_binaries yes

enable_graceful_shutdown no

mine litecoin



Could it be a problem with the drivers?












dizzy1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
July 02, 2012, 09:28:15 PM
 #5

In my experience it is. The drivers I have on my 3 5970 rig are 12.6 and 2.4 because after that I just got way too many problems. It is probably easier to use BAMT and manually run the miner. Either that or use windows.
Jbanna
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132

dandiilion


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2012, 05:07:26 PM
 #6

hey dizzy1, thanks for the reply. I'm honestly having such a terrible time trying to get this to work. and now with LTC prices on the rise I NEED to get it working!!! I've been trying to use BAMT, but get OPENCL errors when trying to compile. So, I updated to SDK2.6, but still had openCL errors when running "make".
Have you (or anyone else for that matter) had success with BAMT?

I'll put a 2 BTC bounty out for anyone who can help!

Lumpy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237


View Profile
July 08, 2012, 05:42:10 PM
 #7

hey dizzy1, thanks for the reply. I'm honestly having such a terrible time trying to get this to work. and now with LTC prices on the rise I NEED to get it working!!! I've been trying to use BAMT, but get OPENCL errors when trying to compile. So, I updated to SDK2.6, but still had openCL errors when running "make".
Have you (or anyone else for that matter) had success with BAMT?

I'll put a 2 BTC bounty out for anyone who can help!

What I did was edit CMakeLists.txt and find each instance of:

$ENV{AMDAPPSDKROOT}

and replace it with

/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64

It starts on line 74 or so. For some reason setting the environment variable didn't help, but manually adding the path in did. I did a find-replace, as there are a few lines that need the replacement. Use your actual SDK path, of course (2.6?).
Jbanna
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132

dandiilion


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2012, 06:30:02 PM
 #8

cool, thanks for the replies guys.
What I did was edit CMakeLists.txt and find each instance of:

$ENV{AMDAPPSDKROOT}

and replace it with

/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64

It starts on line 74 or so. For some reason setting the environment variable didn't help, but manually adding the path in did. I did a find-replace, as there are a few lines that need the replacement. Use your actual SDK path, of course (2.6?).

Okay I'll definitely give this a shot. Right now I'm wiping BAMT and re-making it. Probably got it all botched up when I updated to 2.6. So, are you doing this on a fresh install? No other drivers besides what come with?

Jbanna
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132

dandiilion


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2012, 07:52:56 PM
 #9

IT WORKED! Lumpy! where can i send your coins

Lumpy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237


View Profile
July 08, 2012, 08:09:17 PM
 #10

IT WORKED! Lumpy! where can i send your coins

Sent you a PM. Smiley
Lumpy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237


View Profile
July 08, 2012, 08:47:10 PM
 #11

IT WORKED! Lumpy! where can i send your coins

Got them, many thanks! Smiley
Jbanna
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132

dandiilion


View Profile WWW
July 09, 2012, 03:26:13 AM
 #12

 Smiley

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!