Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:20:42 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Relatively n00b miner here wanting to make the big switch to FPGA  (Read 1190 times)
Trance104
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199


View Profile WWW
July 02, 2012, 06:08:27 PM
 #1

Hello all! :0)

Can anyone recommend some things about mining using FPGA boards?

I would like to know what OS is most "energy efficient" to idle with and if I was to build a PC to "house" this, what would I be looking at buying? Unless I'm mistaken, a cheap dual core processor would be more than enough for "just a PC".

Any links to guides appreciated!

Also, if you can link me to some boards that are worth buying I would be interested in checking them out.

Can't stop the Trance! Dance!! DANCE!!!
www.youtube.com/pixelfixgaming
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480854042
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480854042

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480854042
Reply with quote  #2

1480854042
Report to moderator
1480854042
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480854042

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480854042
Reply with quote  #2

1480854042
Report to moderator
Definit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
July 02, 2012, 06:16:52 PM
 #2

You mean BFL/ASIC?

FPGA is about to be phased out in October by the asic's that BFL is providing.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
July 02, 2012, 06:33:17 PM
 #3

Right now is a precarious time to get invested into mining. You can ether invest in FPGAs, and hope they pay off before the reward half / ASIC explosion, or you can invest in ASICs and not mine until they start shipping in an estimated 4-6 months (yes, months)

Your best bet? Pick up some cheap GPUs or some used BFL singles (mine now, trade in later).

As far as setting up a computer to run FPGAs on, any FPGA can be run on a laptop/netbook. My EeePc pulls 10watts while idle (everything disabled in the BIOS except for LAN). CGMiner uses almost no resources, and can be run on almost any hardware, regardless of specs.

As far as OS choice, it's not going to matter for power consumption that much. It's actually better to disable any hardware you don't need in the BIOS, as that will net you some power savings.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Trance104
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199


View Profile WWW
July 02, 2012, 08:02:26 PM
 #4

Thanks! I guess I have to start reading about ASIC's now. lol...

I have a 5570 and a 5770 currently. I'm looking to amp it up.

Can't stop the Trance! Dance!! DANCE!!!
www.youtube.com/pixelfixgaming
GernMiester
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 285


View Profile
July 03, 2012, 01:14:26 AM
 #5

Mine with what you have now.  Maybe order a jalapeno or 2 to play with. If difficulty skyrockets like it appears it will with ASIC, GPU's will be kinda lame for mining.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!