Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 04:29:33 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Electrum lite GUI  (Read 3964 times)
genjix
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
July 05, 2012, 04:38:08 PM
 #21

Yeah, much better, good job!

Thanks for the latest commits. There's still some "ugly flashing" at startup though (noticeable at least on my slow netbook)

I just fixed that if you see my last commit. Does it still show for you?

bitcats: nice, tyty Smiley that made me really happy.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480912173
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912173

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912173
Reply with quote  #2

1480912173
Report to moderator
1480912173
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912173

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912173
Reply with quote  #2

1480912173
Report to moderator
1480912173
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912173

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912173
Reply with quote  #2

1480912173
Report to moderator
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
July 05, 2012, 04:55:48 PM
 #22

Yeah, much better, good job!

Thanks for the latest commits. There's still some "ugly flashing" at startup though (noticeable at least on my slow netbook)

I just fixed that if you see my last commit. Does it still show for you?

bitcats: nice, tyty Smiley that made me really happy.

Yes, my previous post was with the latest commit.
There's less flashing than before the commit, but there's still something unfortunately.
Anyway, I think it can only be noticed on slower computers, so probably not too urgent
to fix. I might even try to take a shot at it later.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
bitcats
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile
July 05, 2012, 05:01:10 PM
 #23

Bitcats is becoming one of Electrum's biggest sponsors! Smiley
Thanks  Roll Eyes
Not as much as you guys deserve. Great job - respectable!

"Unser Problem ist nicht ziviler Ungehorsam, unser Problem ist ziviler Gehorsam."  - Howard Zinn
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
July 05, 2012, 06:11:14 PM
 #24

About the paths to resources... ("background.png", "style.css" and the icons folder):

I think it's not ideal yet. Right now, on Windows, gui_lite appears to be looking for them in %AppData%\Electrum  (which, until now, only ever contained the wallet file).

I'm afraid this will cause a problem when I make my portable builds (the ones that can be run off a USB stick).

If that's no issue to you, please could you consider changing that path to a subfolder (for instance "lite_data") in what I call the "Electrum root directory" - you know, where directories "ecdsa", "lib", "aes", etc are located?

I think it could be more robust and consistent that way. What do you think?


1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
July 05, 2012, 06:38:11 PM
 #25

About the paths to resources... ("background.png", "style.css" and the icons folder):

I think it's not ideal yet. Right now, on Windows, gui_lite appears to be looking for them in %AppData%\Electrum  (which, until now, only ever contained the wallet file).

I'm afraid this will cause a problem when I make my portable builds (the ones that can be run off a USB stick).

If that's no issue to you, please could you consider changing that path to a subfolder (for instance "lite_data") in what I call the "Electrum root directory" - you know, where directories "ecdsa", "lib", "aes", etc are located?

I think it could be more robust and consistent that way. What do you think?

indeed, the resource files (png, css) should be included in the qrc file

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
genjix
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
July 05, 2012, 08:14:12 PM
 #26

I fixed the paths problem. You can now run it from the local directory.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
July 06, 2012, 06:29:05 AM
 #27

I fixed the paths problem. You can now run it from the local directory.

Thanks! Just tested it and it works fine Smiley

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
July 06, 2012, 12:13:27 PM
 #28

Yeah, much better, good job!

Thanks for the latest commits. There's still some "ugly flashing" at startup though (noticeable at least on my slow netbook)

I just fixed that if you see my last commit. Does it still show for you?

bitcats: nice, tyty Smiley that made me really happy.

Yes, my previous post was with the latest commit.
There's less flashing than before the commit, but there's still something unfortunately.
Anyway, I think it can only be noticed on slower computers, so probably not too urgent
to fix. I might even try to take a shot at it later.

It wasn't easy, but I finally found the cause of the flicker...
It's actually an issue with gui_qt.py, not gui_lite.py:

by moving the w.show() statement as shown below, the flashing is completely solved.
 
Code:
        QShortcut(QKeySequence("Up"), w, w.focusPreviousChild)
        QShortcut(QKeySequence("Down"), w, w.focusNextChild)
        w.setLayout(grid)
                                           #   <------ was here

        w2 = QWidget()
        vbox = QVBoxLayout()
        vbox.addWidget(w)
        vbox.addStretch(1)
        w2.setLayout(vbox)
        w.show()                           #   <------ move it here
        
        def entry_changed( is_fee ):
            self.funds_error = False
 

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
genjix
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
July 06, 2012, 12:48:19 PM
 #29

Ah you probably weren't using the latest git version:

"* dcff721 (tag: 0.61b-r1) stop ugly flash because qt gui is trying to show itself."

https://gitorious.org/electrum/electrum/commit/76474c7eed6bf2ed2cedbdacd0161de333d122c7/diffs/dcff721aa9e52298ce58a494a239db237804f2fa

That line was deleted. Hopefully it should also work if you pull.

btw if you're on IRC, we have a channel #electrum on Freenode.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
July 06, 2012, 06:16:39 PM
 #30

Ah you probably weren't using the latest git version:

"* dcff721 (tag: 0.61b-r1) stop ugly flash because qt gui is trying to show itself."

https://gitorious.org/electrum/electrum/commit/76474c7eed6bf2ed2cedbdacd0161de333d122c7/diffs/dcff721aa9e52298ce58a494a239db237804f2fa

That line was deleted. Hopefully it should also work if you pull.

btw if you're on IRC, we have a channel #electrum on Freenode.

Yup that was it, not sure how I missed that... thanks!

Sure, next time I'm on IRC, I'll pay a visit to #electrum  Smiley

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Lumpy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237


View Profile
July 06, 2012, 06:25:39 PM
 #31

Just tried this out from git. Some comments:

1) The Receive button does indeed select a random address. Wouldn't it make more sense for it to select the next unused address? My wallet already has addresses labeled for specific people and selecting one of those would confuse things quite a bit.
2) Could there be settings to choose whether to default to the lite vs. full GUI and default fiat currency?
3) How is the fiat value calculated? I can go to Clark Moody and have it calculate my USD value based on the MtGox order book and it is hundreds of dollars higher than what Electrum is giving me. Which exchange is the price coming from?
4) Is there a way to get back to the lite GUI from the full GUI other than closing the client?
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
July 06, 2012, 06:34:01 PM
 #32

2) Could there be settings to choose whether to default to the lite vs. full GUI and default fiat currency?
4) Is there a way to get back to the lite GUI from the full GUI other than closing the client?

I agree with this.
It makes sense to start the lite gui when Electrum is launched by a web browser, in order not to interfere with browsing.
However, when a user starts Electrum from the command line, I think it is more sensible to give direct access to the the full gui

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
July 06, 2012, 06:38:15 PM
 #33

1) The Receive button does indeed select a random address. Wouldn't it make more sense for it to select the next unused address? My wallet already has addresses labeled for specific people and selecting one of those would confuse things quite a bit.

please clarify. an address can be unused and have a label, or it can be used and have no label.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Lumpy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237


View Profile
July 06, 2012, 06:54:37 PM
 #34

1) The Receive button does indeed select a random address. Wouldn't it make more sense for it to select the next unused address? My wallet already has addresses labeled for specific people and selecting one of those would confuse things quite a bit.

please clarify. an address can be unused and have a label, or it can be used and have no label.


Unused as in no TXs.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
July 06, 2012, 06:56:04 PM
 #35

1) The Receive button does indeed select a random address. Wouldn't it make more sense for it to select the next unused address? My wallet already has addresses labeled for specific people and selecting one of those would confuse things quite a bit.

please clarify. an address can be unused and have a label, or it can be used and have no label.


Unused as in no TXs.
yes, I agree, it is the most sensible thing to do.  we don't want to manage labels in the lite gui

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
genjix
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
July 07, 2012, 11:41:37 AM
 #36

Just tried this out from git. Some comments:

1) The Receive button does indeed select a random address. Wouldn't it make more sense for it to select the next unused address? My wallet already has addresses labeled for specific people and selecting one of those would confuse things quite a bit.
2) Could there be settings to choose whether to default to the lite vs. full GUI and default fiat currency?
3) How is the fiat value calculated? I can go to Clark Moody and have it calculate my USD value based on the MtGox order book and it is hundreds of dollars higher than what Electrum is giving me. Which exchange is the price coming from?
4) Is there a way to get back to the lite GUI from the full GUI other than closing the client?

1. Fixed
2. Won't fix (for now). Default fiat currency setting - fixed.
3. It's a simple rate * amount.
4. Not for now. Needs some thought how to do this nicely.

Good suggestions. Added them here: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum/TODO
Lumpy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237


View Profile
July 07, 2012, 05:22:40 PM
 #37

Just tried this out from git. Some comments:

1) The Receive button does indeed select a random address. Wouldn't it make more sense for it to select the next unused address? My wallet already has addresses labeled for specific people and selecting one of those would confuse things quite a bit.
2) Could there be settings to choose whether to default to the lite vs. full GUI and default fiat currency?
3) How is the fiat value calculated? I can go to Clark Moody and have it calculate my USD value based on the MtGox order book and it is hundreds of dollars higher than what Electrum is giving me. Which exchange is the price coming from?
4) Is there a way to get back to the lite GUI from the full GUI other than closing the client?

1. Fixed
2. Won't fix (for now). Default fiat currency setting - fixed.
3. It's a simple rate * amount.
4. Not for now. Needs some thought how to do this nicely.

Good suggestions. Added them here: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum/TODO

1. It's working better, but still not ideal for me. Now it alternates between two addresses. One is the most recent address from the gap limit and the other is my... imported address? The imported address does have transactions. I realize that the target userbase isn't likely to have imported addresses, but why is it doing this?
3. I see from the code that it is from Intersango. Now the discrepancy makes sense.
Andreas Schildbach
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 563



View Profile WWW
July 10, 2012, 03:35:43 PM
 #38

The first row column of image buttons looks like it meant as icons for the text fields to the right. That's irritating IMHO.

I'd try to get rid of them:
- Expanding the UI should go into the window title. Actually is there any difference to the maximize window button?
- Options should either go away or can also go into the window title.
- Fetching addresses from the address book (that's what the upper left image button is meant for?) could perhaps be moved next to "copy address" (which should also be an image button).

Contrasts are much to harsh. Get rid of the black background as long as your text fields have white background.

That coin in the background does not work. It just distracts from the UI.

For mockups, try to insert actual values. For example, how does the interface look like if your balance is BTC 12.50034563?

That said, it's good to have non-intrusive UI on Desktop PCs as well. Spending is mostly an implicit activity and I'd like to not be distracted from what I am actually doing.

Bitcoin Wallet for Android: Your own Bitcoins, in your own pocket!
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=de.schildbach.wallet
Andreas Schildbach
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 563



View Profile WWW
July 10, 2012, 03:50:14 PM
 #39

More comments:

What's the diagonal cross right to the address field supposed to do? If it's a shortcut for clearing the field (to enter a fresh address), move it to inside the field like all modern UIs do.

For generic operations like "clear field", use standard icons of each platform. Don't invent your own icons. If you need to (for example because it is Bitcoin specific), follow the style guide of each platform. On Windows though, probably all hope is lost :-)

IMHO, the ellipsises ("Enter a Bitcoin address..." + "...and amount") do not work well, because it adds an unnecessary textual reference. I'd try "enter Bitcoin address" and "enter amount".

Bitcoin Wallet for Android: Your own Bitcoins, in your own pocket!
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=de.schildbach.wallet
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
July 10, 2012, 05:15:45 PM
 #40


IMHO, the ellipsises ("Enter a Bitcoin address..." + "...and amount") do not work well, because it adds an unnecessary textual reference. I'd try "enter Bitcoin address" and "enter amount".

I think postfix ellipsises typically indicate 'click on this to open a dialog box' as in 'Save As...'  . I presume this is not the case here and hence will cause a small amount of dissonance.

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!