Bitcoin Forum
July 20, 2018, 07:23:33 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [All]
  Print  
Author Topic: Sapphire HD 5850 Xtreme Overclock Discussion (Post your stable overclocks)  (Read 14801 times)
russelljohnson
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 20, 2011, 07:22:58 PM
 #1

There's been a lot of discussion for the Sapphire HD 5850 Xtreme all over the place, making it hard to find important information.

Let's have it all condensed into one thread. I'll start first by posting my current settings:

I use Sapphire Trixx to change voltage and MSI Afterburner to change clock and fan speed.

HD5850 Xtreme CrossfireX
ULPS Disabled
Voltage 1.150V
Core: 945
Memory: 300
Catalyst 11.5 / SDK 2.4

357MH/s

I tried 1000MHz @ 1.200V but it got kinda hot so I dropped it down to 1.15V and worked from there. At 1.15V, 950 core, I had a few instances where the miner just stopped mining (no errors or anything) and GPU load dropped down to 0%. So now I'm running it at 945 core and seeing where it takes me.

Post your settings!

If you've found my post helpful, send me some bitcoins!
1FkGxXmesGbhoFewYGrtNEmifzwvNaNCXH
The Bitcoin software, network, and concept is called "Bitcoin" with a capitalized "B". Bitcoin currency units are called "bitcoins" with a lowercase "b" -- this is often abbreviated BTC.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532071413
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532071413

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532071413
Reply with quote  #2

1532071413
Report to moderator
zimpixa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 20, 2011, 08:26:44 PM
 #2

Single Sapphire Xtreme
985/300 @ 1.2V
74-75C @ 75% fan
Guiminer with flags -v -f1
To be honest after 1.2V wattage cost grows faster than income from hashing ( checked with watt-a-kill thing)

PS
at 990/300 @ 1.2V miner crashes after about 2h

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 20, 2011, 08:32:21 PM
 #3

Multiple Reference 5850's
Ubuntu 10.10
No Crossfire
ATI 5870 BIOS
900 Core/300 Mem @ 1.08 V
65-70C @ 65% Fan, Open Air and extra slot between cards
Phoenix Miner - VECTORS AGGRESSION=12 BFI_INT (no WORKSIZE)

360 Mh/s

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
OtaconEmmerich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 20, 2011, 09:18:43 PM
 #4

My clocks are at 780/300 at Stock (1.088v), I get around 310MHs with Phoenix with phatk, I know I can run higher but I'm waiting on my new PSU as mine is lacking enough wattage for higher overclocking. Once I get the new PSU I'm planning on upping the voltage to 1.15 and 850+ clockspeed.
um0rion
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 02:41:26 AM
 #5

Im using a Sapphire 5850 Xtreme, overclocked using Trixx

1000mhz core, 800mhz memory @ 1.3v
Windows Vista x64
GUI Miner 5-21-11 version  -v -w128 -f 25
Watercooled, full load @ 43C

374.6 Mhash/s

Im still tweaking the memory settings and just arbitrarily put 1.3v there to ensure stability at 1000mhz core. 1.250v failed after a few hours, and I didnt want to play with finding exactly the right spot. Its on the to-do list.
PabloW
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 02:43:59 AM
 #6

Im getting my 5850 this friday. Is it really necessay to change the voltage to do overclock or you can do something with the stock voltages?
um0rion
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 02:50:32 AM
 #7

Im getting my 5850 this friday. Is it really necessay to change the voltage to do overclock or you can do something with the stock voltages?

You can do some overclocking with stock voltage, I made it to 325 mhash/s on one of my cards using stock voltage. You can use catalyst control center for that, or download Trixx. Trixx will also let you adjust your voltage up if you want to do that in the future.
grue
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100
Merit: 1140



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 02:54:30 AM
 #8

403 MH/s
1025 core
225 memory
1.175 v
phoenix with phatk kernel. WORKSIZE=128 VECTORS BFI_INT

runs at 75 C

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Adblock for annoying signature ads | Enhanced Merit UI
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 03:10:30 AM
 #9

Im getting my 5850 this friday. Is it really necessay to change the voltage to do overclock or you can do something with the stock voltages?

Stock the highest I've gone is 860Mhz, and the display driver crashed after a few hours.  No problems so far at 830Mhz stock voltage.  Might try tweaking the voltage later.

I get about 310M/hashes at 830Mhz.
PcChip
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 03:29:55 AM
 #10

Just a note, I've seen reports of highest megahashes per second from people using the latest stream SDK (2.4 I believe) + the latest PhatK kernel for phoenix.
Also lowering your memory to 300 MHz and then playing with bumping it up random amounts to find the sweet spot works well too, and cuts heat output (compared to 1000 MHz memory)

Legacy signature from 2011: 
All rates with Phoenix 1.50 / PhatK
5850 - 400 MH/s  |  5850 - 355 MH/s | 5830 - 310 MH/s  |  GTX570 - 115 MH/s | 5770 - 210 MH/s | 5770 - 200 MH/s
bitjet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 694
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 06:59:23 AM
 #11

Just a note, I've seen reports of highest megahashes per second from people using the latest stream SDK (2.4 I believe) + the latest PhatK kernel for phoenix.
Also lowering your memory to 300 MHz and then playing with bumping it up random amounts to find the sweet spot works well too, and cuts heat output (compared to 1000 MHz memory)

If I touch the mem on my 5830's they lock up. Sad

CENTRA

            ▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
        ▄▄████████████████████▄▄
      ▄███████▀▀         ▀▀███████▄
    ▄█████▀                  ▀██████
   █████▀      ▄▄▄█████▄▄      ▀█████▄
  █████     ▄██████████████▄     ▀████▄
 █████     ██████▀▀  ▀▀██████▄    ▀████
▐████     █████          █████     █████
█████    ▐████                     ▐████
█████    █████                     ▐████
█████     █████          ▄████▌    █████
 ████▌    ▀█████▄▄    ▄▄█████▀    ▄████▌
 ▀████▄     ▀██████████████▀     ▄████▀
  ▀█████▄     `▀████████▀▀     ▄█████▀
   `██████▄                  ▄██████
     ▀███████▄▄          ▄▄███████▀
       ▀██████████████████████▀
           ▀▀▀█████████████▀▀

.
.
.
.
nzbtc
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 07:18:06 AM
 #12

Running one HD5850 on XP.

75c, Clock = 890MHz, MemClock = 995MHz, running at 330Mhash/s. Stable (4 days uptime)

13EXX23oQX7CA1qLrM2EDemnYNZDdmngsS
bitlackey
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 08:10:56 AM
 #13

Just a note, I've seen reports of highest megahashes per second from people using the latest stream SDK (2.4 I believe) + the latest PhatK kernel for phoenix.
Also lowering your memory to 300 MHz and then playing with bumping it up random amounts to find the sweet spot works well too, and cuts heat output (compared to 1000 MHz memory)

If I touch the mem on my 5830's they lock up. Sad
I had that problem using msi afterburner, I had to set it to 600 and restart the program to set it in the 300 range w/o lockups. I switched to trixx which doesn't limit the memory frequency range .
5830@300MH/s, 1000/300 @1.163v(stock), appears stable
Nilarium
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 08:18:36 AM
 #14

x2 sapphire xtreme 5850
stock voltage 850 clock, 328mhash
phoenix 1.46 phatk
temp 75and 77,fan auto
Dyaheon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 121
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 08:35:33 AM
 #15

5850 Xtreme
960/375 @ 1200mV
~75C at 70% fan

383 MHash/s, Phoenix 1.4 + phatk kernel VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=11
Cat 11.4 SDK 2.4

Btw, anyone with a wattmeter know how much power these take while mining? Would be nice to know the difference between stock voltage and 1.2V
Tukotih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 03:07:59 PM
 #16

I have run at 875/300 for about 12h now with stock voltage. Fan is locked at 55% speed and temp is about 74C constant when mining.
This gives me 345Mh/s.

I have run before at 900/1000 with stock voltage but it causes the display driver to crash after a few hours if left alone and more frequently if computer is used.

Donations always appreciated: 1GkRu9rZxk5iMRzsrcZxZ3BUHV1SWNZ9RB
IMPORTANT! Switch from deepbit: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=8653.0
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1000


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:05:21 PM
 #17

4x Sapphire HD 5850 Xtreme
Core: 807Mhz
Mem: 269Mhz
Voltage: 1.040V
Fans: Auto, 83-93%
Temps: 80°-88°C at 27°C Ambient
(I consider 88°C too high, but will let it run before difficulty goes insane)
Phoenix poclbm
SDK2.1, Driver 10.12
Windows XP
~620W at plug
~325MHash/s (1st ~315MHash/s so reaction time is faster)

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
exahash
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 276
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:30:51 PM
 #18

I have 30+ of these in all different configurations in my office...

The best one is in a one-card board, stable doing 370-375 MH/s at 1.25V 960/300 (core/mem) under Win 7 with phoenix/phatk.

Most of them are in 3- and 4-card mobo's running under ubuntu (where I can't tweak the voltage nor way underclock the memory) doing 300-345 MH/s at stock voltage and 800-890/900-1000 (core/mem).  The outermost cards tend to do best (they get the most fresh air) and mostly run at 890 or 880 core.  The inner card(s) tend to like 850 core and can do 325-330 MH/s at that speed.   A handful of duds will only go 800-820 and just break 300 MH/s at that rate.  The ubuntu's are all 11.04 using ATI APP SDK 2.4, the current fglrx driver from ppa:ubuntu-x-swat/x-updates and latest phoenix/phatk

I'm looking for a way to raise the voltage and/or downclock the memory under Ubuntu 11.04 from the cli... if you know how, or have a link to a specific bios that enables it on the Sapphire Xtreme 5850's, please hit me up!
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1000


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:47:04 PM
 #19

I have 30+ of these in all different configurations in my office...
[...]
I'm looking for a way to raise the voltage and/or downclock the memory under Ubuntu 11.04 from the cli... if you know how, or have a link to a specific bios that enables it on the Sapphire Xtreme 5850's, please hit me up!

30+?    Shocked

I thought that would be easy on linux with amdoverdrivectrl - as easy as with my new tool on windows that is =)

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
exahash
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 276
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 06:21:23 PM
 #20

I have 30+ of these in all different configurations in my office...
[...]
I'm looking for a way to raise the voltage and/or downclock the memory under Ubuntu 11.04 from the cli... if you know how, or have a link to a specific bios that enables it on the Sapphire Xtreme 5850's, please hit me up!

30+?    Shocked

I thought that would be easy on linux with amdoverdrivectrl - as easy as with my new tool on windows that is =)

Yeah, we actually have 40 here, but they're not all running because we keep blowing breakers.  My electrician is bringing more juice in next week.

amdoverdrivectrl doesn't want to go outside the overdrive (ccc) ranges set in the bios on this card.  I have used trixx in windows and that's how we got the solo card I mentioned to go to 375 MH/s.  Trixx is windows-only, doesn't let you choose which card to apply settings to, and I don't want to run windows on all the dedicated miner boards... so I'm still looking for a way to tweak this model under linux.

presha
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 06:39:28 PM
 #21

my personal record with my 'asus eah5850 top' was

~420 mhash with 1070/300 @ 1.32V / 72C / Fan 69%
phoenix + phatk
newest drivers (11.5)

but it was too hot for me, dont wanna fry it. and was only stable for mining, opening firefox or mpc resulted in driver crash. currently getting stable 1030/300 @ 1.26V with 60-63C temps, 400-405 mhash

loving the cooling on this card.



1JnkNJrdDDUFywkz8KAMhN7jnFHXvt8JTe
disq
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 07:11:14 PM
 #22

amdoverdrivectrl doesn't want to go outside the overdrive (ccc) ranges set in the bios on this card.  I have used trixx in windows and that's how we got the solo card I mentioned to go to 375 MH/s.  Trixx is windows-only, doesn't let you choose which card to apply settings to, and I don't want to run windows on all the dedicated miner boards... so I'm still looking for a way to tweak this model under linux.

Same here (well except for the 39 more cards you have) looking for a way to overvolt this card on Linux.

1LFWHcXqRAfq6GiS3s7disq1p7iKkinshp <-- just to show off my address, who tips to forum signatures anyway?

Rug Monitor (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=10214) - Monitor your mining rigs, generate useful if not pretty charts.
Raize
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 1004


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 04:57:24 AM
 #23

How hot is too hot?

OrganofCorti's Neighbourhood Pool Watch - The most informative website on blockchain health
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 08:40:52 AM
 #24

How hot is too hot?

I try to keep temps <80C.
CubedRoot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 290
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 06:08:10 PM
 #25

amdoverdrivectrl doesn't want to go outside the overdrive (ccc) ranges set in the bios on this card.  I have used trixx in windows and that's how we got the solo card I mentioned to go to 375 MH/s.  Trixx is windows-only, doesn't let you choose which card to apply settings to, and I don't want to run windows on all the dedicated miner boards... so I'm still looking for a way to tweak this model under linux.

Same here (well except for the 39 more cards you have) looking for a way to overvolt this card on Linux.

I am looking for a way to overvolt the card in linux as well.  I think my overclocking problem is due to not being able to adjust the voltage of the card.  I cant get much more than 900 on my cards in linux using the stock voltages.
ius
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 01:26:15 AM
 #26

So, does anyone know what regulator is being used on this card? I've managed to write some code to allow voltage regulator control on Linux, but unfortunatelty it only works for reference cards. It appears quite many cards happen to be custom cards.

I googled for a picture of the PCB of the card, but I can't seem to find a proper shot (Sapphire doesn't really help by having quite a few different 5850 cards).

PGP: 0xCC06E446 Bitcoin: 19kdfgW1KXQgV7SCLEPAojtHxN9xotGkGH
Zagitta
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 312
Merit: 100


Presale is live!


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 02:03:57 AM
 #27

So, does anyone know what regulator is being used on this card? I've managed to write some code to allow voltage regulator control on Linux, but unfortunatelty it only works for reference cards. It appears quite many cards happen to be custom cards.

I googled for a picture of the PCB of the card, but I can't seem to find a proper shot (Sapphire doesn't really help by having quite a few different 5850 cards).

Is this prehaps what you need? (This is the regular ASUS version which i should be getting on monday or tuesday):




ius
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 02:09:58 AM
 #28

That's an Asus non-reference (DirectCU?) card. uP6208 if I'm not misreading the chip. The Sapphire might very well have a different controller..

PGP: 0xCC06E446 Bitcoin: 19kdfgW1KXQgV7SCLEPAojtHxN9xotGkGH
Zagitta
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 312
Merit: 100


Presale is live!


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 02:11:45 AM
 #29

Should be the reference card... I mostly posted it to ask what you'd take for developing volt controling on linux for it :p

jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 04:36:54 AM
 #30

I've got a question....

I have 2x 5850's, Trixx only seems to OC one card.

I see the OP mentioned adjusting the voltage with Trixx, then overclocking with afterburner.

Will Trixx apply the voltage increase to both cards, even though its not capable of overclocking more than one card?

Thanks!
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1000


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 05:27:07 AM
 #31

That's an Asus non-reference (DirectCU?) card. uP6208 if I'm not misreading the chip. The Sapphire might very well have a different controller..
chil chl 8014  --> http://chilsemi.com

http://www.pcgameshardware.de/aid,822129/Sapphire-Radeon-HD-5850-Xtreme-im-Test-Was-kann-der-Preisbrecher/Grafikkarte/Test/bildergalerie/?iid=1514600&vollbild

I have not yet managed to get the data sheet but it should be possible if they let you register on their site.

I am also interested in programming this chip but on windows systems.

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
ius
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 11:41:38 AM
 #32

Nice find. If you manage to get the data sheet, let us know.

For the ASUS card - are you able to provide remote desktop access on a Windows box with the card? Afraid I'll need that to take a shot at figuring out the relevant GPIOs.

PGP: 0xCC06E446 Bitcoin: 19kdfgW1KXQgV7SCLEPAojtHxN9xotGkGH
Zagitta
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 312
Merit: 100


Presale is live!


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 12:02:00 PM
 #33

yeah that shouldn't be an issue as long as you don't overvolt and kill my card  Grin

Tukotih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 10:39:21 PM
 #34

Im getting my 5850 this friday. Is it really necessay to change the voltage to do overclock or you can do something with the stock voltages?

You can do some overclocking with stock voltage, I made it to 325 mhash/s on one of my cards using stock voltage. You can use catalyst control center for that, or download Trixx. Trixx will also let you adjust your voltage up if you want to do that in the future.
You can easily get to 345Mh/s with stock voltages.

I run my 875/355 with Phoenix (phatk) and it is stable at 75C with fan speed around 70%. It gives me 345Mh/s.
Note that i have an 4850 right above pumping out hot air, you should get much lower temps normally.

Donations always appreciated: 1GkRu9rZxk5iMRzsrcZxZ3BUHV1SWNZ9RB
IMPORTANT! Switch from deepbit: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=8653.0
Pages: 1 2 [All]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!