Bitcoin Forum
June 22, 2018, 10:09:40 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [All]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5970 - 1 GHash/s - Bad Temps?  (Read 4318 times)
QiVX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 05, 2012, 09:08:35 AM
 #1

Hey guys,
I just recently got myself a 5970 with a waterblock, and so have that 5970 watercooled, while my other 2 cards, another 5970 and a 5870 are still on air lol.

Are these temps dangerous for a 5970 on WATER?



Overclock settings:
Voltage: 1250
Engine: 1100
Memory: 350

---------------

I am running just a simple water loop just cooling the 1 5970.
Just using some XSPC D5 Res Pump thingo, GTX 480 Radiator (yes I know overkill but got a good price on it), and 4 (yes four) 5400 RPM Gentle Typhoon.

The fans are pretty powerful so I'm not really sure why I get 30C core and 100C VRM. Totally strange IMO.
Each block is stacked on top of the previous one. Adding another block to the top makes all lower blocks more difficult to remove: there is more "weight" above each block. A transaction in a block 6 blocks deep (6 confirmations) will be very difficult to remove.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529662180
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529662180

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529662180
Reply with quote  #2

1529662180
Report to moderator
D4CH
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 05, 2012, 01:47:25 PM
 #2

Is your watercooling functioning correct?

BTC: 1FPdKgBw2MKRUUwB6DtSKfP3JyrN5DMd2y LTC: LSHxgTHmYZzq2AyUL4WfQLA6YSzGH5qSrr BTE: 8FCuGmC39M86FoBh7WqNCacpabmQtHHbEa
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1000


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2012, 03:50:34 PM
 #3

That's a helluva clock.  I would downclock it a bit, 95C is too high for my liking, I usually like to stay in the 80's personally.  Those are some voodoo temps.

GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 05, 2012, 03:57:18 PM
 #4

No, that temp (28c) is awesome for the core.
My concern would be the VRM's those are pretty dang hot. I try to keep my VRM under 100C. Also, I dont know what the max current rating is for the VRM's or even if there is such a thing given they stay under their temp thresholds.

Also, I dont know what the max fan speed is for the 5870 but running at 100% speed will kill that fan pretty quickly.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1000


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2012, 05:50:51 PM
 #5

No, that temp (28c) is awesome for the core.
My concern would be the VRM's those are pretty dang hot. I try to keep my VRM under 100C. Also, I dont know what the max current rating is for the VRM's or even if there is such a thing given they stay under their temp thresholds.

Also, I dont know what the max fan speed is for the 5870 but running at 100% speed will kill that fan pretty quickly.
yeah i was referring to the VRM's.  I didn't even notice how chilly that core was, that's very impressive!  See if you can get some better cooling on the VRMs and you're styling.

Shadow383
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 05, 2012, 07:42:49 PM
 #6

Very impressive clocks and core cooling - Are you using thermal tape for the VRMs or what? Might want to take a look at that...

Also how much power is this thing getting through? I know for example I can mine on my 7970s up past 1200Mhz, but if I do so my humble rig will draw >1200W at the wall and it's no longer worth it  Cheesy Peak profitability for me is ~970Mhz @ 0.96V. Wouldn't be at all surprised if you can increase your actual profitability by downclocking and reducing voltages anyway...
Creeky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 05, 2012, 08:44:40 PM
 #7

Yes, those VDDC temps are too high, they should be in the mid to high 80s preferably lower. I would perhaps change the coolant tape between your waterblock and them.

I'm currently in the midst of rmaing a card for running lower temps than that but on air.
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1004



View Profile
July 07, 2012, 06:39:12 AM
 #8

VRM's are "high" but they are also rated to 125C and within tolerance. Your waterblock probably just has a big chunk of metal over the VRMs and no fluid nearby to take away the heat. Either that or the heat output from those tiny little VRM chips is too concentrated to effectively pull away. This is why I think many people complain about high temperatures from Ivy Bridge CPU's. You're running a much smaller die with marginal power improvements, so the heat output per square millimeter is much higher and more difficult to draw away (less surface area), even with the use of a heatspreader

naz86
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 07, 2012, 06:44:37 AM
 #9

1 gh/s is really sick by the way  Tongue

very impressive
Electricbees
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


We are bees, and we hate you.


View Profile
July 07, 2012, 11:11:39 AM
 #10

I was not aware that 1Gh/s was even possible on a 5970... That is just outrageous hashing power for an old card...
Mine would only do about 700Mh/s a piece... Tongue

Donations are welcome!
1BEES19ds5gEnRBoU1qNFPfjRXe94trMG3
Saturn7
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 07, 2012, 01:13:01 PM
 #11

Your VRM's will burn out. 
Eventually you will see your hash rate fluctuated by 50 or so m/hashes
Once that happens your card will burn out in a couple of weeks or days.


First there was Fire, then Electricity, and now Bitcoins Wink
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 07, 2012, 11:01:18 PM
 #12

Your VRM's will burn out. 
Eventually you will see your hash rate fluctuated by 50 or so m/hashes
Once that happens your card will burn out in a couple of weeks or days.



Exactly.

But let him push his 5870 to 500 mhash and his 5970 to 1000 mhash because then lower difficulty for ME !

So this dood is getting 470 on 5870 and much more than 2*470 on a 5970 ?

I thought 5970 < 5870 * 2 ?

Whatever, it is his wallet he will burn ... we have warned him.

I suggest OP try for 1100 MHz clocks and 1100 mhash next !
QiVX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 08, 2012, 12:08:06 AM
 #13

Your VRM's will burn out. 
Eventually you will see your hash rate fluctuated by 50 or so m/hashes
Once that happens your card will burn out in a couple of weeks or days.



I leave all my VRM temps below 100 now. 5970 is now hashing at 950 mhash/s and clocked at 1000 MHz. Will VRM temps in the 90s burn my VRMs?

Thanks
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1004



View Profile
July 08, 2012, 12:29:13 AM
 #14

Your VRM's will burn out. 
Eventually you will see your hash rate fluctuated by 50 or so m/hashes
Once that happens your card will burn out in a couple of weeks or days.



I leave all my VRM temps below 100 now. 5970 is now hashing at 950 mhash/s and clocked at 1000 MHz. Will VRM temps in the 90s burn my VRMs?

Thanks

Looks like my post was ignored.

VRMs are rated for 125c.

Shadow383
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 08, 2012, 03:49:34 AM
 #15

Your VRM's will burn out. 
Eventually you will see your hash rate fluctuated by 50 or so m/hashes
Once that happens your card will burn out in a couple of weeks or days.



I leave all my VRM temps below 100 now. 5970 is now hashing at 950 mhash/s and clocked at 1000 MHz. Will VRM temps in the 90s burn my VRMs?

Thanks

You should be alright I think...

What's the power draw on that thing?
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 08, 2012, 02:09:59 PM
 #16

Your VRM's will burn out. 
Eventually you will see your hash rate fluctuated by 50 or so m/hashes
Once that happens your card will burn out in a couple of weeks or days.



I leave all my VRM temps below 100 now. 5970 is now hashing at 950 mhash/s and clocked at 1000 MHz. Will VRM temps in the 90s burn my VRMs?

Thanks

You should be alright I think...

What's the power draw on that thing?

Tell me if the VRM was rated for 24/7 BTC mining ( which is known to force VRM and even power circuits in FPGA to extreme limits ) ?

NO. It is rated for 125 degrees for a few seconds mostly but not 24/7 at all.

Let us know when your card is fried and you can't even game on it anymore due to overheat and damaged components in that area !
QiVX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 11, 2012, 09:08:11 AM
 #17

Your VRM's will burn out. 
Eventually you will see your hash rate fluctuated by 50 or so m/hashes
Once that happens your card will burn out in a couple of weeks or days.



I leave all my VRM temps below 100 now. 5970 is now hashing at 950 mhash/s and clocked at 1000 MHz. Will VRM temps in the 90s burn my VRMs?

Thanks

You should be alright I think...

What's the power draw on that thing?

My VRMs are all running under 100 C.
That shouldn't be a problem running 24/7.

Then again, why should I listen to you, you do have scammer written all over you. (Nice guy that is)

Tell me if the VRM was rated for 24/7 BTC mining ( which is known to force VRM and even power circuits in FPGA to extreme limits ) ?

NO. It is rated for 125 degrees for a few seconds mostly but not 24/7 at all.

Let us know when your card is fried and you can't even game on it anymore due to overheat and damaged components in that area !
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 11, 2012, 02:49:38 PM
 #18

get better tim for the vrm's

needs to be >=6w/mk

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/11654/thr-87/Fujipoly_Premium_System_Builder_Thermal_Pad_-_14_Sheet_-_150_x_100_x_15_-_Thermal_Conductivity_60_WmK.html?tl=g8c487s1292&id=8egaB6Cd
ummas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 11, 2012, 09:16:01 PM
 #19

It wont help.
I got 7 and that situation:
engine 750, mem 150, 1.05 vcore - DEAD every 3-4 Days and red liight on VRM every 2-3 weeks.
5970 Is watercooled, and max temp on it is 55.
I was using once 5970 with 1100 engine at 1.2 Vocre - temps had 45, and 90 at VRM - after 1h of crunching(boinc) i had hard hung.
It takes large amounts of power. VRM cant take it for a long run.
QiVX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 11, 2012, 10:24:47 PM
 #20

It wont help.
I got 7 and that situation:
engine 750, mem 150, 1.05 vcore - DEAD every 3-4 Days and red liight on VRM every 2-3 weeks.
5970 Is watercooled, and max temp on it is 55.
I was using once 5970 with 1100 engine at 1.2 Vocre - temps had 45, and 90 at VRM - after 1h of crunching(boinc) i had hard hung.
It takes large amounts of power. VRM cant take it for a long run.

I have my 5970 clocked at 1000 MHz and voltage at 1212. VRM temps are below 100 and in the high 80s now. Hashing at about 465 mhash/s 24/7 for about 1 week non-stop ad I haven't ran into any problems at all.

Maybe your card is faulty, because I ran my card for 3 days straight with the VRM temps in the high 90s and had no issue.

Then again, it depends on what watercooling gear you are running. I've got a GTX 480 Rad with 4 5400 RPM Gentle Typhoons on full blast, so yeah that's why my temps are so sweet. You may ask if noise is an issue, but I have this rig setup in my garage Smiley
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 12, 2012, 01:24:34 AM
 #21

I'm running my 5970s on air and my vrm are under 100c at 900mhz and 1.1v

If you are on water and can't get it stable it's because you farked up your water block install or used poor quality TIM. Yes it really is that important. It's needs extreme thermal conductivity and the proper thickness.
QiVX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 12, 2012, 09:59:29 AM
 #22

I'm running my 5970s on air and my vrm are under 100c at 900mhz and 1.1v

If you are on water and can't get it stable it's because you farked up your water block install or used poor quality TIM. Yes it really is that important. It's needs extreme thermal conductivity and the proper thickness.

I actually bought the 5970 with the block already put on, so I don't really know how well it was put on. Then again the seller told me he spent like $200 on thermal pads. Then again, I'm not sure about that.

I'm happy with my 5970 now, it's hashing at around 450 mhash/s, at 1000 MHz, 1212 Voltage.
VRM temps are now in the 80s.
fankih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 12, 2012, 06:23:20 PM
 #23

I was seriously impressed of your 1Ghash/s and I would like to know which brand is this 5970?
Is it XFX Black Edition or something or just a reference card?

-fankih-

-fankih-
QiVX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 13, 2012, 11:49:42 AM
 #24

I was seriously impressed of your 1Ghash/s and I would like to know which brand is this 5970?
Is it XFX Black Edition or something or just a reference card?

-fankih-

Haha it was actually a HIS.
It's now hashing away at 465 mhash/s per core. I prefer seeing the VRM temps in the 80s. Smiley

I just got another 5970, XFX Black Edition, with a Koolance block, but unfortunately when I clock over 900 MHz, the VRMs in the second GPU skyrocket. So at 900, GPU 1 VRMs are at like 70, while GPU 2 jumps to 110. Probably just thermal pads or something, but I don't have time for that, so I just down clocked them to 850 and VRMs are below 80.

Personally, I really liked the EK Block on my HIS Card, but the Koolance block on the XFX didn't look to bad.

I was looking around and didn't really see anybody else doing that, so I decided to not push my cards that hard and so keep all my VRMs under 80 now. Smiley

Clocks for the 1 ghash/s are on first post.
film2240
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
July 13, 2012, 08:43:05 PM
 #25

I was not aware that 1Gh/s was even possible on a 5970... That is just outrageous hashing power for an old card...
Mine would only do about 700Mh/s a piece... Tongue
Yeah that 1Gh/s is pretty damn impressive.I just wish I could buy an HD5970 easily in UK (it's out of stock everywhere in UK) and reach those clocks (although I should factor in the cost of watercooling that monster as well). Impressive.I wonder what the power use is and what your PSU is rated at? As you'd need a pretty strong PSU to run that and a watercooler plus the rest of the system.

[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
QiVX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 14, 2012, 11:43:29 PM
 #26

I was not aware that 1Gh/s was even possible on a 5970... That is just outrageous hashing power for an old card...
Mine would only do about 700Mh/s a piece... Tongue
Yeah that 1Gh/s is pretty damn impressive.I just wish I could buy an HD5970 easily in UK (it's out of stock everywhere in UK) and reach those clocks (although I should factor in the cost of watercooling that monster as well). Impressive.I wonder what the power use is and what your PSU is rated at? As you'd need a pretty strong PSU to run that and a watercooler plus the rest of the system.

PSU is a Seasonic X-1250. I'm thinking the system itself is pulling more than 1.2 kW from the PSU, but I don't have a watt meter to tell.

It's a great PSU, everybody was recommending that over a Corsair AX1200. Also, I wasn't sure if the AX1200 could support 8 Pci-e cables, because it comes with 6 (as said on website), so that would limit me to 3 cards. While my SS has 8, so up to 4 cards.

ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1004



View Profile
July 16, 2012, 12:39:35 AM
 #27

I was not aware that 1Gh/s was even possible on a 5970... That is just outrageous hashing power for an old card...
Mine would only do about 700Mh/s a piece... Tongue
Yeah that 1Gh/s is pretty damn impressive.I just wish I could buy an HD5970 easily in UK (it's out of stock everywhere in UK) and reach those clocks (although I should factor in the cost of watercooling that monster as well). Impressive.I wonder what the power use is and what your PSU is rated at? As you'd need a pretty strong PSU to run that and a watercooler plus the rest of the system.

PSU is a Seasonic X-1250. I'm thinking the system itself is pulling more than 1.2 kW from the PSU, but I don't have a watt meter to tell.

It's a great PSU, everybody was recommending that over a Corsair AX1200. Also, I wasn't sure if the AX1200 could support 8 Pci-e cables, because it comes with 6 (as said on website), so that would limit me to 3 cards. While my SS has 8, so up to 4 cards.



PCI-E power splitters and molex/sata > pci-e power adapters are your friend

QiVX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 18, 2012, 09:50:52 PM
 #28

I was not aware that 1Gh/s was even possible on a 5970... That is just outrageous hashing power for an old card...
Mine would only do about 700Mh/s a piece... Tongue
Yeah that 1Gh/s is pretty damn impressive.I just wish I could buy an HD5970 easily in UK (it's out of stock everywhere in UK) and reach those clocks (although I should factor in the cost of watercooling that monster as well). Impressive.I wonder what the power use is and what your PSU is rated at? As you'd need a pretty strong PSU to run that and a watercooler plus the rest of the system.

PSU is a Seasonic X-1250. I'm thinking the system itself is pulling more than 1.2 kW from the PSU, but I don't have a watt meter to tell.

It's a great PSU, everybody was recommending that over a Corsair AX1200. Also, I wasn't sure if the AX1200 could support 8 Pci-e cables, because it comes with 6 (as said on website), so that would limit me to 3 cards. While my SS has 8, so up to 4 cards.



PCI-E power splitters and molex/sata > pci-e power adapters are your friend

Sometimes it's just safer to use something which is designed for what you are going to do. And you obviously can have risks using to many power adapters, I think I saw one guy fry a molex adapter.

But why economise a few bucks to risk any additional issues? I went out straight to a SS so I knew that I wouldn't have to touch the PSU again. And it's still there running 24/7 for 1 month do far.
Shadow383
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 26, 2012, 03:08:28 PM
 #29

I was not aware that 1Gh/s was even possible on a 5970... That is just outrageous hashing power for an old card...
Mine would only do about 700Mh/s a piece... Tongue
Yeah that 1Gh/s is pretty damn impressive.I just wish I could buy an HD5970 easily in UK (it's out of stock everywhere in UK) and reach those clocks (although I should factor in the cost of watercooling that monster as well). Impressive.I wonder what the power use is and what your PSU is rated at? As you'd need a pretty strong PSU to run that and a watercooler plus the rest of the system.

PSU is a Seasonic X-1250. I'm thinking the system itself is pulling more than 1.2 kW from the PSU, but I don't have a watt meter to tell.

It's a great PSU, everybody was recommending that over a Corsair AX1200. Also, I wasn't sure if the AX1200 could support 8 Pci-e cables, because it comes with 6 (as said on website), so that would limit me to 3 cards. While my SS has 8, so up to 4 cards.



Great PSU - best I've seen so far is the Enermax Platimax 1500W - 10 Pci-e cables with that one  Tongue
If I didn't worry about them being obsolete soon I'd get 3 7970X2 cards and one of those and have a little 3.8Ghash box  Cheesy
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 11:58:08 AM
 #30

DeathAndTaxes has an all out watercooling 5970 set up, or at least he did. You should check out some of his build pics.

Cooler is always better for electronics parts.

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
Pages: 1 2 [All]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!