Bitcoin Forum
May 28, 2018, 04:23:13 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: The network just hit 40 PetaFLOPS!  (Read 1844 times)
epi 1:10,000
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 10:12:12 PM
 #1

All Your Base Are Belong To Us!!!!!!!!!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1527481393
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527481393

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527481393
Reply with quote  #2

1527481393
Report to moderator
1527481393
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527481393

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527481393
Reply with quote  #2

1527481393
Report to moderator
Xer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 10:51:27 PM
 #2

So, Skynet next?
jarly
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 11:01:59 PM
 #3

Why are you measuring hashes/s in FLOPS?

Use Eligius? Want to see your stats? Head over to coin-control.appspot.com
Donate to 1DhFR2vR6w17BVzowKuySjzWXmP9ap29jA Smiley
Convery
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 316
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
May 22, 2011, 11:12:33 PM
 #4

Why are you measuring hashes/s in FLOPS?
What else would you measure it in?

As of Oct 2017, the Droxne platform has been taken over by a new dev team http://droxne.net/about.html. We have no affiliation with the former developer.
Quantumplation
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


“Blockchain Just Entered The Real World”


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 11:17:12 PM
 #5

What else would you measure it in?

... Hashes per second?  1 FLOP is Float Operation, and there are many float operations per hash, so it's kind of a misleading unit of measurement when talking about network performance.

      ███████████████████████
     ███▄ ▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄█▀▀  █████
    ███  █▀  ▀█▀▀▀       ▐█ ███
   ███  ▄██▄▄█▀▄▄▄        █▌ ███
  ███ ▄█▀  █     ▀█▄▄     ▐█  ▐██
 ███▄█▀    █        ▀█▄▄  ▄▄▄ ██
████▀      █           ▀██▀   ▀█ ██
 ██▀█▄     █          ▄█▀▀█▄▄▄█▀██
  ██ ▀█▄   █      ▄▄█▀▀    ▐█  ██
   ██  ▀█▄█▀▀█▄▄█▀▀        █▌ ██
    ███  █▄  ▄█▀█▄▄▄      █▌███
     ███  ▀▀▀▀     ▀▀▀█▄▄▐████
      ███████████████████████

 ▄▄       ▄▄▄        ▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄ 
  ▀█▄   ▄█▀ ▀█▄    ▄█▀ ▄█▀▀   ▀▀█▄
    ▀█▄█▀     ▀█▄▄█▀  ▐█         █▌
    ▄█▀█▄      ▄█▀    ▐█         █▌
  ▄█▀   ▀█▄  ▄█▀       █▄       ▄█
▄█▀       ▀██▀          ▀▀█▄▄▄█▀▀


Network
BLOCKCHAIN JUST ENTERED THE REAL WORLD
  Decentralized Crypto-Location Oracle Network
GET WHITELISTED FOR TOKEN SALE ( Limited )

WHITE PAPER  ││  ANN Thread  Telegram   Medium   Twitter   Reddit
LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 22, 2011, 11:20:02 PM
 #6

Why are you measuring hashes/s in FLOPS?
I assume it's because bitcoinwatch shows TeraFLOP/s (as well as Gigahashs/s).

This space intentionally left blank.
epi 1:10,000
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 12:17:27 AM
 #7

So, Skynet next?

The land of Oz is building Skynet

http://www.cio.com.au/article/387097/exclusive_ska_bid_looks_skynet_computing/

Bitcoin v. SkyNet v. Folding
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1047



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 12:23:46 AM
 #8

Why are you measuring hashes/s in FLOPS?
I assume it's because bitcoinwatch shows TeraFLOP/s (as well as Gigahashs/s).
What does that even mean?  There is no floating point in hashing.
1bitc0inplz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 01:09:05 AM
 #9

Why are you measuring hashes/s in FLOPS?

because hashes/sec is meaning outside of Bitcoin. If we want to know how big the network is versus a super computer, what else would you measure it in?

Mine @ http://pool.bitp.it - No fees, virtually 0 stales, what's not to love!
Chat with us @ #bitp.it on irc.freenode.net
Learn more about our pool @ http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=12181.0
xenon481
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 01:17:17 AM
 #10

Why are you measuring hashes/s in FLOPS?

because hashes/sec is meaning outside of Bitcoin. If we want to know how big the network is versus a super computer, what else would you measure it in?

Integer Operations and Floating Point Operations are not comparable.

Tips Appreciated: 171TQ2wJg7bxj2q68VNibU75YZB22b7ZDr
1bitc0inplz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 01:20:08 AM
 #11

Integer Operations and Floating Point Operations are not comparable.

Of course... but then the whole hash/sec on Bitcoin Watch is an estimate anyway...

So, when you get down to it, all these numbers are meaningless.

However, knowing a rough ballpark of a FLOPs rate *is* interesting, because it does help you think in scale of the TOP 500.

Mine @ http://pool.bitp.it - No fees, virtually 0 stales, what's not to love!
Chat with us @ #bitp.it on irc.freenode.net
Learn more about our pool @ http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=12181.0
xenon481
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 01:26:55 AM
 #12

Integer Operations and Floating Point Operations are not comparable.

Of course... but then the whole hash/sec on Bitcoin Watch is an estimate anyway...

So, when you get down to it, all these numbers are meaningless.

However, knowing a rough ballpark of a FLOPs rate *is* interesting, because it does help you think in scale of the TOP 500.

But you can't actually assume any kind of estimate of how many FLOPs our network is. If I can do 2 Integer operations in one clock but only Floating Point operation per clock, you can't just say my 8 million integer operations per second are the equivalent of 8MFLOPS. Some hardware can even do 4 Integer operations in the same time it takes to do one single Floating Point operation.


Edit: For hashing, the proper network computational power unit is MIPS instead of FLOPS.

Tips Appreciated: 171TQ2wJg7bxj2q68VNibU75YZB22b7ZDr
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 01:35:10 AM
 #13

I get about half that assuming vast majority of hashrate is ATI 5xxx GPUs.
3Thps = about 8300 5870s = about 22.5PFLOPS peak single precision, 4.5PFLOPS peak double precision.

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 08:18:02 PM
 #14

Why are you measuring hashes/s in FLOPS?
I assume it's because bitcoinwatch shows TeraFLOP/s (as well as Gigahashs/s).
What does that even mean?  There is no floating point in hashing.

It means exactly what I said: that bitcoinwatch displays TeraFLOP/s as well as Gigahashs/s. I have no idea why; you'd need to ask them.

This space intentionally left blank.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!