Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2024, 12:03:48 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: MT Gox: Green Address, what does that mean?  (Read 2251 times)
OhShei8e (OP)
Legendary

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1059

View Profile
July 25, 2012, 10:18:54 PM

Hello,

sorry I'm stupid. Could someone explain what this mean:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=48170.0

Also there is a second check box: "6 transactions". What does that mean? Are this most accurate transfers or what? Anything that sheds some light on the matter would be very welcome. Should I click on it? (I am a beginner.)

regards
OhShei8e

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
The Bitcoin software, network, and concept is called "Bitcoin" with a capitalized "B". Bitcoin currency units are called "bitcoins" with a lowercase "b" -- this is often abbreviated BTC.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
Maged
Legendary

Activity: 1204
Merit: 1015

View Profile
July 25, 2012, 10:37:07 PM

Green Address means that MtGox will send the funds from an address that other companies may or may not automatically trust without waiting for confirmations because the funds are being sent and backed by MtGox's reputation, much like a cashier's/certified check. Sites that support Green Addresses will specifically tell you. Otherwise, there's little harm in checking that box - all that will happen is that it might take longer for the transaction to confirm.