Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 04:12:03 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Blogger: Is It Better To Buy Or Generate Bitcoins?  (Read 9057 times)
FreeMoney
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Strength in numbers


View Profile WWW
September 07, 2010, 07:52:29 PM
 #21

I set up a Kill-a-Watt to my computer and calculated with 2200 khash/s, I was using 140 watts (monitors off). According to the calculator, I should produce a block every 14 days, 2 hours, 3 minutes, or every 338.05 hours. It would cost me 47.327 Kwh to produce a block, at 12 cents per Kwh, thats $5.68 per block, a net loser.

What is interesting is the reports of the people producing 25,000 khash/sec with their video cards in the CUDA thread. If they are using less than 1000 watts (and should be), it would be profitable again to produce, electricity wise.

Difficulty level 1000 by year end.

2000 at least imo, but my guess is 8500.

Play Bitcoin Poker at sealswithclubs.eu. We're active and open to everyone.
1480824723
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480824723

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480824723
Reply with quote  #2

1480824723
Report to moderator
1480824723
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480824723

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480824723
Reply with quote  #2

1480824723
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480824723
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480824723

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480824723
Reply with quote  #2

1480824723
Report to moderator
1480824723
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480824723

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480824723
Reply with quote  #2

1480824723
Report to moderator
1480824723
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480824723

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480824723
Reply with quote  #2

1480824723
Report to moderator
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
September 07, 2010, 08:10:54 PM
 #22

What is interesting is the reports of the people producing 25,000 khash/sec with their video cards in the CUDA thread. If they are using less than 1000 watts (and should be), it would be profitable again to produce, electricity wise.

Difficulty level 1000 by year end.
i just did a short test on the lately released cuda-client, here's the results

AMD X3 @2.8ghz
->stock client
~3800khs ~150Watt


GTX260
->puddinpop's cuda client
~33000khs ~200Watt

cpu-work isn't profitable for me anymore, i already shut down most generators at the latest diff.step,
gfx-crunching would indeed be profitable again,
i don't really wanna trust a client that fondles with my balance on it's own though, so i don't use it.
hopefully we'll see an open source client some day.


but your joking about that 1000, arent ya?
end of the year?
maybe end of the week.  Grin

TTBit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1136


View Profile
September 08, 2010, 11:12:50 AM
 #23

using seconds from 12/18/2009 3:56:01 as base 0 (the last time difficulty was 1.0000), A y=mx+b linear regression of the log of difficulty levels:

m=2.87698e-07
b=-0.611057

use b=-363.4351 for the seconds you programmers use.

example: block 46368 was generated at 1269212064. exp(1269212064*2.87698e-07 - 363.4351) = exp(1.71409) = predicted level of 5.551602 vs actual level of 4.565162.



The correlation factor was 0.957 between the date and log of difficulty level.

This predicts future difficulty levels of:

9/30/2010 : 677.7963
10/31/2010 : 1,464.7148
11/30/2010 : 3,087.5334
12/31/2010 : 6,672.1461
1/31/2011 : 14,418.4781
2/28/2011 : 28,919.2776
3/31/2011 : 62,494.4307
4/30/2011 : 131,734.6149
5/31/2011 : 284,677.9188
6/30/2011 : 600,084.4486
12/31/2011 : 58,149,375.6523

If the trend continues, it will be quite difficult to generate coins in the near future  Tongue

good judgment comes from experience, and experience comes from bad judgment
Immanuel
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
September 08, 2010, 12:09:42 PM
 #24

I don't like the total cost of the computer. You could do without the keyboard, mouse, monitor. In addition, get the cheapest RAM stick you can find, a cheap 8GB SSD (energy saving) then install Debian 5. Access it through SSH and turn on bitcoin. You could easily do it to $300-$500 less and cut power costs by getting a high-efficiency PSU.

"I swear by my life, and my love of it, that I will never live for the sake of another man, nor ask another man to live for mine."
Anonymous
Guest

September 08, 2010, 01:42:34 PM
 #25

Someone should set up a newegg affiliate program and recommend the best bitcoin generation gear. Smiley
Immanuel
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
September 08, 2010, 01:51:52 PM
 #26

Someone should set up a newegg affiliate program and recommend the best bitcoin generation gear. Smiley
Once the GPU client gets perfected, I'm going to get a GTX 465, throw in a cheap dual-core CPU, 512MB RAM, and a case/cpu combo; then I am going place it in a closet and let it print Bitcoins for a year or two. Tongue It's about a $500 investment but with patience and careful energy management it might profit.

"I swear by my life, and my love of it, that I will never live for the sake of another man, nor ask another man to live for mine."
satoshi
Founder
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
September 08, 2010, 08:27:39 PM
 #27

AMD X3 @2.8ghz
->stock client
~3800khs ~150Watt
Did you try -4way?

Quote
How many hashes can I expect with a 24 core machine? I have a quad-core generating 4,300 hashes-per-second, so I am estimating a 24-core machine could mine bitcoins at 25,000 hashes-per-second.
AMD Phenom (I think 4-core) CPUs are doing about 11,000khps with -4way, about 100% speedup.  24 cores should get 66,000khps.  AMD is the best choice because it has the best SSE2 implementation. (or maybe because tcatm had an AMD and optimised his code for that)

There's been so much else to do that I haven't had time to make -4way automatic.  For now you still have to do it manually.
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=820.0
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2010, 09:58:10 PM
 #28

AMD X3 @2.8ghz
->stock client
~3800khs ~150Watt
Did you try -4way?

not 'til now,
i just did, no difference at all with or without the switch it seems,
tested systems
AMD x3 720 winXPx64
AMD x2 5000+ winXPx32
AMD x2 BE-2350 win7x64

LZ
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


Satoshi everywhere!


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2010, 01:39:48 AM
 #29

Afaik, -4way is for *nix only.

"Never invest unless you can afford to lose your entire investment." © S3052
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2010, 02:20:47 PM
 #30

i guessed that, that's why i never used it before,
but satoshi asked (after me posting cuda-WIN-client-results), so i just tried.

Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!