Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 12:38:09 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: What tool do you use to overclock?  (Read 1282 times)
tospace
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
July 27, 2012, 12:43:17 AM
 #1

I don't know if AMD overdrive is like this for everybody but the range I have to overclock is limited and I can't under-clock my memory either.  I'm happy to be getting 350 Mhash/s but I'm sure I could be getting a little better.

Card is a dual fan gigibyte 5850 oc.  Brought clock from 765 to the max... 920 easily. 

I don't know if I need to flash the bois to allow for higher clocks or just use different program?

Just got this card in the mail this morning :exited:
1513341489
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513341489

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513341489
Reply with quote  #2

1513341489
Report to moderator
1513341489
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513341489

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513341489
Reply with quote  #2

1513341489
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513341489
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513341489

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513341489
Reply with quote  #2

1513341489
Report to moderator
1513341489
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513341489

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513341489
Reply with quote  #2

1513341489
Report to moderator
1513341489
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513341489

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513341489
Reply with quote  #2

1513341489
Report to moderator
Portnoy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988

My money; Our Bitcoin.


View Profile
July 27, 2012, 01:13:52 AM
 #2

MSI Afterburner.  If you reach a point where you can't set it any higher, save those setting, shut it down, and then restart it, and you will be able to move it higher.
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
July 27, 2012, 02:44:07 AM
 #3

My 58xx family use Sapphire Trixx exclusively.

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

tospace
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
July 27, 2012, 02:47:53 AM
 #4

MSI Afterburner.  If you reach a point where you can't set it any higher, save those setting, shut it down, and then restart it, and you will be able to move it higher.
Well I tried that program now and it won't let me go above 920 on the core still, at-least I can under clock the mem with it and get it to run a little bit cooler.   I knew the bois was probably going to be locked when I got this card but I still got a great oc out of it,  I don't think I wana change the bois unless I could safely get 400+ mhashes
OgNasty
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2394


Irrational Exuberance


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2012, 03:03:37 AM
 #5

Have you tried cgminer?

BITSLER                 ▄███
               ▄████▀
             ▄████▀
           ▄████▀  ▄██▄
         ▄████▀    ▀████▄
       ▄████▀        ▀████▄
     ▄████▀            ▀████▄
   ▄████▀                ▀████▄
 ▄████▀ ▄████▄      ▄████▄ ▀████▄
█████   ██████      ██████   █████
 ▀████▄ ▀████▀      ▀████▀ ▄████▀
   ▀████▄                ▄████▀
     ▀████▄            ▄████▀
       ▀████▄        ▄████▀
         ▀████▄    ▄████▀
           ▀████▄▄████▀
             ▀██████▀
               ▀▀▀▀
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄            
▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀    ▄▄█▄▄ ▀▀▄         
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄      
█  ▀▄▄  ▀█▀▀ ▄      ▀████   ▀▀▄   
█ █▄  ▀▄   ▀████       ▀▀ ▄██▄ ▀▀▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█  ▀▀       ▀▄▄ ▀████      ▄▄▄▀▀▀  █
█            ▄ ▀▄    ▄▄▄▀▀▀   ▄▄  █
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█ ▄▄   ███   ▀██  █           ▀▀  █ 
█ ███  ▀██       █        ▄▄      █ 
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  
▀▄            █        ▀▀      █  
▀▀▄   ███▄  █   ▄▄          █   
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀    
▀▀▄   █   ▀▀▄▄▄▀▀▀         
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▄▄▀▀▀▀              
              ▄▄▄██████▄▄▄
          ▄▄████████████████▄▄
        ▄██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▄
▄     ▄█████▀             ▀█████▄
██▄▄ █████▀                ▀█████
 ████████            ▄██      █████
  ████████▄         ███▀       ████▄
  █████████▀▀     ▄███▀        █████
   █▀▀▀          █████         █████
     ▄▄▄         ████          █████
   █████          ▀▀           ████▀
    █████                     █████
     █████▄                 ▄█████
      ▀█████▄             ▄█████▀
        ▀██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▀
          ▀▀████████████████▀▀
              ▀▀▀██████▀▀▀
            ▄▄▄███████▄▄▄
         ▄█▀▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀▀█▄
       █▀▀ ▄█████████████▄ ▀▀█
     █▀▀ ███████████████████ ▀▀█
    █▀ ███████████████████████ ▀█
   █▀ ███████████████▀▀ ███████ ▀█
 ▄█▀ ██████████████▀      ▀█████ ▀█▄
███ ███████████▀▀            ▀▀██ ███
███ ███████▀▀                     ███
███ ▀▀▀▀                          ███
▀██▄                             ▄██▀
  ▀█▄                            ▀▀
    █▄       █▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█
     █▄      ▀█████████▀
      ▀█▄      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
        ▀▀█▄▄  ▄▄▄
            ▀▀█████
[]
Semprini
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 27, 2012, 03:05:05 AM
 #6

MSI Afterburner seems to be the best I've used with an MSI Motherboard, any other board I use AMD overdrive.
For benchmarking, I use PC Wizard, seems to be unbiased towards a certain brand.
tospace
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
July 27, 2012, 03:26:44 AM
 #7

Have you tried cgminer?
Nope, only the simple GUIMiner with the -v -w128 flag to make it faster.
Does this one do unofficial overclocking or something that would get around the bois limit possibly?

MSI Afterburner seems to be the best I've used with an MSI Motherboard, any other board I use AMD overdrive.
For benchmarking, I use PC Wizard, seems to be unbiased towards a certain brand.
yeah MSI afterburner seems to be exactly the same as EVGA precision which I've used for years on my old 9800gt.  AMD overdrive is kinda yuk. 

Set custom fan curve, right now its sitting at around 81c and 66% fan speed and silent.
Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820



View Profile
July 27, 2012, 04:15:30 AM
 #8

Try cgminer. It allows you to set the core/memory clock as desired. No need for afterburner, trixx, etc.
NorCalEinstein
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
July 28, 2012, 05:39:34 AM
 #9

You can overclock past 920 with MSI Afterburner (or whatever the limit is you currently see). All you need to do is "unlock" MSI Afterburner to allow for overclocking/underclock past the predetermined limits.

- Go to the folder where Afterburner is installed. For Win7, I believe it's /Program Files (x86)/MSI Afterburner
- Find the .CFG file and edit it with notepad or other text editor
- Scroll to the bottom and find: "UnofficialOverclockingEULA ="
- Change to (without quotations, no period at end of sentence): "UnofficialOverclockingEULA = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it"
- Find: "UnofficialOverclockingMode = 0"
- Change to (without quotations): "UnofficialOverclockingMode = 1"
- Save .CFG file and close
- Restart Afterburner and you should now be able to change core and memory clock higher or lower than before.
Portnoy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988

My money; Our Bitcoin.


View Profile
July 28, 2012, 03:57:37 PM
 #10

You can overclock past 920 with MSI Afterburner (or whatever the limit is you currently see). All you need to do is "unlock" MSI Afterburner to allow for overclocking/underclock past the predetermined limits.

- Go to the folder where Afterburner is installed. For Win7, I believe it's /Program Files (x86)/MSI Afterburner
- Find the .CFG file and edit it with notepad or other text editor
- Scroll to the bottom and find: "UnofficialOverclockingEULA ="
- Change to (without quotations, no period at end of sentence): "UnofficialOverclockingEULA = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it"
- Find: "UnofficialOverclockingMode = 0"
- Change to (without quotations): "UnofficialOverclockingMode = 1"
- Save .CFG file and close
- Restart Afterburner and you should now be able to change core and memory clock higher or lower than before.


Ah yes. I have been using it so long now I forgot about that part. 
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512


I have some bitcoins. Somewhere.


View Profile WWW
July 29, 2012, 11:50:45 AM
 #11

i use 'barelyclocked' in windows

Dacentec Dedicated Servers (Lenoir, NC, USA) from $25/mo & Time4VPS Storage VPS' (Vilnius, Lithuania) from €18/qtr & Hetzner's serverbidding, from ~€20/mo -- had bitcoin nodes & p2pool (dacentec, hetzner) for several years on these.  Only two are affiliate links too, kek! -------  Feel free to join my G2A Goldmine Pyramid Scheme Team, or possibly even buy a Steam game from there.  Maybe.
tospace
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 12:57:07 AM
 #12

You can overclock past 920 with MSI Afterburner (or whatever the limit is you currently see). All you need to do is "unlock" MSI Afterburner to allow for overclocking/underclock past the predetermined limits.

- Go to the folder where Afterburner is installed. For Win7, I believe it's /Program Files (x86)/MSI Afterburner
- Find the .CFG file and edit it with notepad or other text editor
- Scroll to the bottom and find: "UnofficialOverclockingEULA ="
- Change to (without quotations, no period at end of sentence): "UnofficialOverclockingEULA = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it"
- Find: "UnofficialOverclockingMode = 0"
- Change to (without quotations): "UnofficialOverclockingMode = 1"
- Save .CFG file and close
- Restart Afterburner and you should now be able to change core and memory clock higher or lower than before.

Thanks for the info, I'm sure it will be useful someday.  unfortunately I don't think thats an option with my card with this bois, I tried it and it wouldn't change clocks speeds at all (was stuck at stock).  thats ok anyways because I might end up selling the card for reference ones instead...  I feel dumb for spending $150 on a dual fan cooler one with a rattly fan, just wanted to get started already.

Right now Iv'e been having other problems, waking up in the morning and my miner quit running, also the card goes into some power save mode possibly, under-clocking the core clock to around 300 so I would have to restart.
So far the only thing that seemed to have caused that to happen is youtube so I turned off hardware acceleration and I haven't seen low clock speeds yet. 

It seems like people really know their stuff on this forum tho, even the noob section, thanks  Wink
Vorksholk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
August 02, 2012, 01:29:58 AM
 #13

As well with overclocking using cgminer, I have found that sometimes if I have an instance of cgminer running along with another overlock software such as MSI Afterburner, or Catalyst Control Center, an overclock in one software won't go through, almost as if the other programs are holding it at their setting. Just a heads-up, if things don't seem to be OCing make sure you don't have another similar program open at the same time Smiley.

Fold Proteins, earn cryptos! CureCoin.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=603757.0
Blank
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43



View Profile
August 02, 2012, 09:45:18 AM
 #14

For my cards 6870's 1 reference and 1 MSI HAWK i have found:

MSI Afterburner - Works well changing voltage and clocks but can't go lower than 525mhz on the memory underclocking. (use 1st)
Sapphire TRIXX - Changes core clock well only does voltage for the ref card, and oddly won't change mem clock unless i have already changed it with afterburner then i can get my lower memory clock(use 2nd)
CGminer & BarelyClocked - only core clock can be change has no effect on memory or voltage (no need)

generally memory underclocking is funny with the 6870 card's for a while MSI Afterburner could get lower clocks if you opened/closed it but after hours messing around with settings/versions/drivers i couldn't figure out how to get it working again. I messed around with my brothers 5850 a bit and that seems to work well with all the program's with none of these issues.

tiberiandusk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 572


The North Remembers


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2012, 10:38:41 AM
 #15

I use AOCLBF to mine and overclock with. I use MSI Afterburner to set custom fan speeds for certain temps.

Bitcoin Auction House http://www.BitBid.net BTC - 1EwfBVC6BwA6YeqcYZmm3htwykK3MStW6N | LTC - LdBpJJHj4WSAsUqaTbwyJQFiG1tVjo4Uys Don't get Goxed.
DryPowder
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144



View Profile
August 02, 2012, 05:08:53 PM
 #16

Linux BAMT easy set up and for Windows CGminer.

Keep Your Powder Dry
iano128
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
August 02, 2012, 10:15:34 PM
 #17

I find on 5000 series cards trixx just seems to work straight away. When i tired afterburner even after unlocking it, it still wouldn't do what i wanted. With trixx i can down clock the memory to 280mhz and overclock the core to 810mhz. Which seems to be the sweet spot for my 5970's.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!