Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 02:15:45 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining server room (cooling development help)  (Read 21435 times)
Gameover
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:40:11 AM
 #101

hds are typically 5-15w where a usb stick will be less than 1w, plus you might save some more watts by not having the hdd controller in use.
1481249745
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249745

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249745
Reply with quote  #2

1481249745
Report to moderator
1481249745
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249745

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249745
Reply with quote  #2

1481249745
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:47:40 AM
 #102

bah i give up Tongue lol i know that heat rises and cold stays low lol give me a bit of a break

He's right about deltaT though.  It's going to be really hard to keep the room at a reasonable temperature when it's 35+ outside.  One approach is to just plan for a bit of downtime when it gets too hot. 


He needs to move this operation to the Northwest Territories (Just above Alberta where he is) or as close as possible to the north pole as possible Tongue. When it's -30 outside I don't think cooling shall be a problem. I'm being facetious here but lol someone crazy enough may do this Smiley

allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:50:44 AM
 #103

hds are typically 5-15w where a usb stick will be less than 1w, plus you might save some more watts by not having the hdd controller in use.

He could also massively underclock each CPU and the RAM. If they're all AMD boards then turn on that cool'n'quiet junk. If he wants to be even more extreme maybe underclock the cpus so much that he can passively cool them?

warweed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 06:56:32 AM
 #104

What I was reading in the linuxcoin thread was this list

Enable overclocking ..
Code:
aticonfig --enable-od

next lets get the clocks

Code:
aticonfig --odgc --adapter=your adapter

Set them to what you want.

Code:
aticonfig --odsc 900,900 --adapter=youradapter

And commit them

Code:
aticonfig --odcc --adapter=youradapter

And set the fan speed to 70% (a good setting for most 5XXX&6XXX cards)

Code:
DISPLAY=:0.youradapter aticonfig --pplib-cmd="set fanspeed 0 70"

Here's a little bash magic to test your card temps.


Code:
while true; do
        aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-gettemperature | tail -n1 | awk '{print "Current temp: " $5}' ;
        aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-gettemperature | tail -n1 | awk '{print "Current temp: " $5}' ;
        echo $(aticonfig --odgc --adapter=0| grep GPU);
        echo $(aticonfig --odgc --adapter=1| grep GPU);
# Next lines are to check your balance if solo mining
#        BALANCE=$(bitcoind getbalance)
#        echo -ne "Bitcoin Balance: ${BALANCE}\r";
        sleep 35;
        clear
done

But I will look into adding AMDoverdrivectl. Diablo miner will be added on the next version and I will take a look at hashkill.

The MD5 hash don't match with the file i downloaded from this site today.
my hash is   MD5: d50c4d3a38a1349111bac5f69b9571f1  linuxcoin-v0.1b-ati-cd.iso
while it says CD MD5: 71e5253bc5bda47003c57d71c52db869  linuxcoin-v0.1b-ati-cd.iso
My file size is 684 MB (717,387,776 bytes) on win7 32.
Who is wrong?

The md5sun for the CD version is 28bc5b424e3f33779f67fbe4fe1a9a67 I'll update now.

Don't forget the USB version is uploaded now Wink
[/quote]
warweed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 07:00:42 AM
 #105

With this Your right I could fairly easily adjust the clock speed to suit the cooling needs the usual temp in Edmonton hovers around 25 in the summer an hits maybe 32 ish for 2 weeks the bonus is both sides of the room face north or south so no direct sunlight Smiley


warweed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 07:02:59 AM
 #106

I forgot to ask thou I know Linux a bit but to be honest I'm pretty much a n00b I can make my way around terminal and such not much for GUIs ect but is there any good software from overclocking past what overdrive will let you ? In the linuxcoin distro ?

Assuming I can figure out why I'm getting rpc errors ?
namley
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 07:09:28 AM
 #107

I know this is a bit off topic, but back to the beginning of the thread.

I am planning something similar, but on a much smaller scale

You think it would by more cost efficient to isolate the racks in a semi-sealed environment and use portable air conditioners?

By that I mean, Isolate an entire shelf with isolating plastic, available at most hardware stores. Use velcro strips to make a door, and buy portable air conditioning units from walmart.

Make an outlet to vent and keep your AirFlow CFM up.

I'm not an engineer by anymeans, if you haven't noticed  yet.

Basiley
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 07:24:18 AM
 #108

use tubes attached to ordinary desktop/midtower cases fans to exhaust heat rather than messing/mixing it in room fighting with aerodynamic.
PVC-made isn't strong enough termally, but rest can do the trick.

in case if you prefer cool room enteriely, as usual for 19'' racks-based data-centers, keep in mind thats not so energy-efficient[even meaning air loses in tubes]
noobboon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 11:14:16 AM
 #109

burn!!!!!!!!!

don't forget to call 911 Smiley
w128
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 12:18:07 PM
 #110

I know this is a bit off topic, but back to the beginning of the thread.

I am planning something similar, but on a much smaller scale

You think it would by more cost efficient to isolate the racks in a semi-sealed environment and use portable air conditioners?

By that I mean, Isolate an entire shelf with isolating plastic, available at most hardware stores. Use velcro strips to make a door, and buy portable air conditioning units from walmart.

Make an outlet to vent and keep your AirFlow CFM up.

I'm not an engineer by anymeans, if you haven't noticed  yet.

Yes.

This is what I was talking about with partitioning early on.
bitcool
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1441

Live and enjoy experiments


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 02:17:13 PM
 #111

He needs to move this operation to the Northwest Territories (Just above Alberta where he is) or as close as possible to the north pole as possible Tongue. When it's -30 outside I don't think cooling shall be a problem. I'm being facetious here but lol someone crazy enough may do this Smiley
Here is the idea:
1. Gather all mining equipment you can get
2. Get one of these portable nuclear power station. http://www.hyperionpowergeneration.com/
3. Find a remote place in NWT at the cost of $1/acre. http://www.ehow.com/facts_6775117_homestead-act-canada.html
4. Build biosphere 3, powered by mining rigs.
5. The birth of Bitcointopia!

allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 02:55:55 PM
 #112

I forgot to ask thou I know Linux a bit but to be honest I'm pretty much a n00b I can make my way around terminal and such not much for GUIs ect but is there any good software from overclocking past what overdrive will let you ? In the linuxcoin distro ?

Assuming I can figure out why I'm getting rpc errors ?

Well you should be able to set any clock rate you want with AMDoverdrivectl or even with aticonfig. To be honest I haven't tried to overclock my cards under linuxcoin but theoretically it should work just the same as in windows except that you're doing it via command line.

RPC errors means your miner lost connectivity to the master bitcoin daemon. Are you mining solo, pool? This usually means there is a network connectivity issue or massive packet loss/lag.

allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 02:57:59 PM
 #113

He needs to move this operation to the Northwest Territories (Just above Alberta where he is) or as close as possible to the north pole as possible Tongue. When it's -30 outside I don't think cooling shall be a problem. I'm being facetious here but lol someone crazy enough may do this Smiley
Here is the idea:
1. Gather all mining equipment you can get
2. Get one of these portable nuclear power station. http://www.hyperionpowergeneration.com/
3. Find a remote place in NWT at the cost of $1/acre. http://www.ehow.com/facts_6775117_homestead-act-canada.html
4. Build biosphere 3, powered by mining rigs.
5. The birth of Bitcointopia!



That Hyperiod mini nuclear reactor is really cool. I'd definitely get one if I was super rich. I bet that the thing costs millions of dollars so I don't think it's within the reach of even the most hardcore bitcoin miner.

pwnyboy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 06:56:37 AM
 #114

Yes.

This is what I was talking about with partitioning early on.

To add to this, I would think regular plywood for the partitions, assuming the original scheme as depicted in the OP's drawings is used.  You could go as far as to space the plywood off of the shelving with a 2x4, this would give you almost 2" that you could use to staple insulation to the inside of the plywood.  You can hinge the plywood at the top, where it fastens to the 2x4 beam, to make the shelves accessible by simply flippling the plywood up.  If the shelves are made of a solid material as-depicted, I'd envision ventilation ducts for input and output attaching to each side of the shelf ends (so at a 90 degree angle to the plywood which runs the length of the shelf, input at one end, output at the other end).  This would also be extremely easy to build up and test because you could do it with just one level of one shelf.  If you settled on a good vendor for the fans (like some place akin to Walmart) which sold fans with a rated CFM, you could test, adjust, test some more, and have a pretty good idea of how your system will perform using the delta T calculation provided above.

But that's merely conjecture, and math is hard.  It's much easier to just go shopping for video cards and ignore the details.. yanno?

mathx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 07:30:48 AM
 #115

Oh geez. I didnt even read the whole thread. In a former life I ran a 10,000 sq ft data centre, and build cluster computers for many different outfits.

Luckily we had real budgets so we bought AC's and proper server rooms.

Cheaper solution is to use environmental cooling. see intel's site for more info on that.

You can move regular temperature air in, just gotta move more faster (exponentially) as the temp diff between outside air and your cards is lower (course ,the cards
will just get hotter if you arent cooling them enough, then fail or otherwise). Obviously having them throttle down based on operating temp will keep your investment safe.

Try to keep your exhaust air from incoming air as seperate as possible - duct away from the cards as you can. Beware however, if there's a failure of incoming air for any reason,  your ducting may insulate your cards from new cool air, and you'll quickly achieve burnout (or possibly fire)? One way to do this is to keep two air moving systems on the same circuit as the rig itself, so if the power goes out then everything is off, not just the AC/air mover. You dont want your gear in a small box with a tiny air buffer that it can heat up to very hot in a short time while still powered. Thermal trips on the mobos will also help of course, they can just shut off the whole system if too hot.

Ducting upwards is a good way to keep exhaust from one row away from the next. (course you need to get it back away from the shelf as per the diagrams first, so back, then up), so you need incoming air coming from the 3rd dimention, from the side, then thru the back, then up and out, then there's no mixing of air, or exhaust air becoming input air to the next row. (You could also have air coming in the bottom, but now you're talking raised floor).

Im thinking at approx 0.7-0.9W/W to cool with a professional chiller, that it isnt worth it. Cheaper to throttle on hot days and use ambient air. 1.8x the cost of power is a big increase in cost.

a 1 ton chiller will cool 12000 BTU/hr, or about 3500W of cooling ish. That will cool 4000-5000 W of dissipated heat. a 1 ton chiller is about $5000 USD new in places, i see some for $3k used. Install is going to be at least that (then count shipping).

 http://www.dimplexthermal.com/UsedChillerStore.aspx

15 ton for $18.5 K, add in $5-8k for ship/install assuming you have some power busses in place already for 3phase etc. Pushing $25K gives you cooling using ~50kva for 60-75,000VA (depending on many factors). 50kva is about $6.25/hr in my market (assuming you're not enjoying industrial rates, in which case it's about 60-90% of that), which is ~$30/day or ~~$1k/mo. not huge, the capital cost and install will beat operating in amortization for 24 months or more.

However, I think bigger blowers will give you more ambient environmental air, just gotta clean your gear more often. Itll turn black if you're in a city/near any roads due to diesel particulate. Pretty gross.
Filtering the air just means lower airflow due to backpressure/drag. Cleaning is cheaper Smiley Doesnt affect operation for the most part, unless your fans are getting gummed up. Watch for humidity issues however in very dry climates/winter, could get static and sparks and dead gear. Wetness wont be an issue if the room is always 20F > outside... however, gear may really suffer when its 90F out and 110-130F inside. So will the humans.



Chucksta
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
May 29, 2011, 08:13:32 AM
 #116

LOL, mug... you've only got a month at best before this becomes unprofitable... that's if the price does not change and the we continue getting similar increases in difficulty.

I hope I am wrong, as it would be nice to make a bit more than a few hundred dollars profit from this.
CalibrataBG
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 09:08:36 AM
 #117




for mining that's OVERKILL!

Question is are you that stupid to invest in this at this time or you know something we don't? Please do tell!
All distributed computing projects I know are unpayed, made for dumb people that don't get they're being used, so maybe I'm missing something...

PS. I wonder why you ask about cooling ... when the answer is obvious ...
colossus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


Obey me and live or disobey and die.


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 05:37:37 AM
 #118

Remember to put this on youtube after your done building it.
warweed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 07:14:30 AM
 #119

Its all in the works 27 miners are up ATM but there all in cases ATM the others are a work in progress were are having issues getting enough power to our location ATM so were looking into other options As for The last poster WTF are you talking about man are you on glue ?

My power bill comes in at 700/mo. Right now

I'm currently at current difficulty mining average 35 btc a day ...

Do the math it is certainly worth it for me to mine and expand my mining operations and I put aside a certain % dependent on a few variables for expanding my mining operation to stay ahead of the game right now I'm operating at zero loss what so ever and a rather large net. Profit


So yes I know something you obviosily don't mining is profitable
inh
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 01:14:34 PM
 #120

Its all in the works 27 miners are up ATM but there all in cases ATM the others are a work in progress were are having issues getting enough power to our location ATM so were looking into other options As for The last poster WTF are you talking about man are you on glue ?

My power bill comes in at 700/mo. Right now

I'm currently at current difficulty mining average 35 btc a day ...

Do the math it is certainly worth it for me to mine and expand my mining operations and I put aside a certain % dependent on a few variables for expanding my mining operation to stay ahead of the game right now I'm operating at zero loss what so ever and a rather large net. Profit


So yes I know something you obviosily don't mining is profitable

So each machine only gets about 500 Mh/s ? Seems like there is a LOT of room for improvement here.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!