Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 02:35:09 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining server room (cooling development help)  (Read 21403 times)
warweed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
May 24, 2011, 07:35:03 PM
 #41

Another thought was to incorporate it into the existing heating system at the location to warm it during the winter Smiley rather then waste all the heat
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246



View Profile
May 24, 2011, 07:54:03 PM
 #42

Arduino that takes temp readings across multiple probes and adjust the fan speed based on a set base temp Smiley

Yes just hook up the 1260 CFM fans to one of the output pins on the Arduino, use analogWrite() and you are good to go.  Don't forget the flyback diode.

Smiley
w128
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
May 24, 2011, 07:57:39 PM
 #43

i mean using open stand is no-go situation: not cooling benefits, no management benefits, except visual state control, not dust/bio-proof&etc and less energy efficient[to cool it down].

I tend to agree with this.

Years of working in poorly designed/maintained datacenters and a few good ones has taught me that "open air" only works with an overabundance of space and airflow (inefficient and more inefficient).
warweed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
May 24, 2011, 08:02:42 PM
 #44

Intresting ok I'm no pro so I don't have a leg to stand on i shall talk to the partner and give open air a shot an see results and can test as nessicary to see optimal results thanks for the input
Gameover
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 04:07:21 AM
 #45

lol you are so in over your head I hope you actually make it Cheesy

each system is 690watts = 2400btu/hr (a drastically small estimate IMO)
x48 machines = 115,000 btu
so you will need 8 of these window air conditioners
http://www.amazon.com/LG-Electronics-LW1511ER-Window-Conditioner/dp/B004U4MLYU

I would just cool with outside air, build a wall of box fans, remove the fan from the box and grills, make a custom wall with round holes to increase fan efficiency, air comes in one window, out another, prepare for the FEDs to show up a few weeks later due to energy usage and IR imaging...
warweed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 07:59:06 AM
 #46

lol you are so in over your head I hope you actually make it Cheesy

each system is 690watts = 2400btu/hr (a drastically small estimate IMO)
x48 machines = 115,000 btu
so you will need 8 of these window air conditioners
http://www.amazon.com/LG-Electronics-LW1511ER-Window-Conditioner/dp/B004U4MLYU

I would just cool with outside air, build a wall of box fans, remove the fan from the box and grills, make a custom wall with round holes to increase fan efficiency, air comes in one window, out another, prepare for the FEDs to show up a few weeks later due to energy usage and IR imaging...

Now why the hell would you make a statement like that ? you don't know me or what I am capable of or not .. or the budget in which im doing this so why would you even assume im in over my head ?

I do have a cooling solution one that will work just fine .. what I'm asking for is Idea's on possible alternatives that may be cheaper and more cost effective

secondly did you not see by reading my posts that the power company is coming to run a new 200+ amp line to the place as currently the service is only 100 amp ? so with that combined with a electrical engineer and city permit's I do not have to worry about the "FED's" kicking in my door this has already been thought of and both the power company and the local Law Enforcement have been notified of the goings on and are welcome to come out and inspect provided they have a warrant for entry as we nixed there "Reasonable probable grounds" of entry by notifying them of what was transpiring so they can not unlawfully enter without warrant now  
bobR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 12:23:25 PM
 #47

lol you are so in over your head I hope you actually make it Cheesy

each system is 690watts = 2400btu/hr (a drastically small estimate IMO)
x48 machines = 115,000 btu
so you will need 8 of these window air conditioners
http://www.amazon.com/LG-Electronics-LW1511ER-Window-Conditioner/dp/B004U4MLYU

I would just cool with outside air, build a wall of box fans, remove the fan from the box and grills, make a custom wall with round holes to increase fan efficiency, air comes in one window, out another, prepare for the FEDs to show up a few weeks later due to energy usage and IR imaging...

 drastically small estimate -- NOT -- 1W=3.414 btu
 x48 machines -- NOT -- 48 gpu's not 48 machines

the 690w you misquote and use for your bad calculations Was a complete system with three 5870's
5870 draw 188w - 5850 draw almost 10% less 170w

48 gpu's 3 per system = 16 systems
even 16 x 2356 btu/hr = 37,632 btu/hr  less than 1/3 of your 115,000 btu


miner249er
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 01:30:36 PM
 #48

I'm looking at your load (non cooled) to be around 75amps@120v assuming the quantity of graphics cards noted by the OP - this comes out to about 9000 watts.

At this density you need about 2.5 tons of AC to cool this properly (that's 30,000 btu unit) which will draw roughly 40 amps @120v (though mostly likely it will come in a 230V configuration).

Your total consumption is about 115 amps - leaving around 50-60 amps or so before you reach your new 200 amp limit.

In short, sure it's mechanically feasible. Looking at the project and the overhead required along with the lower density (read not as efficient) machines there is probably some room for improvement.

Personally your "finished" cost per MH should be around $1. That is a machine that does 1.2/GigH should be $1200.

Gameover
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 02:08:46 PM
 #49

Now why the hell would you make a statement like that ? you don't know me or what I am capable of or not .. or the budget in which im doing this so why would you even assume im in over my head ?

secondly did you not see by reading my posts that the power company is coming to run a new 200+ amp line to the place as currently the service is only 100 amp ? so with that combined with a electrical engineer and city permit's I do not have to worry about the "FED's" kicking in my door this has already been thought of and both the power company and the local Law Enforcement have been notified of the goings on and are welcome to come out and inspect provided they have a warrant for entry as we nixed there "Reasonable probable grounds" of entry by notifying them of what was transpiring so they can not unlawfully enter without warrant now  

I don't have to know anything about you knowing you are spending $60,000 on a mining setup that may never pay for itself, given that for you to break even bitcoin is going to have to increase in value to $50 or $100, you should simply be buying bitcoins.

Do you think people raided for drugs are using illegal power drops connected to the grid?  They are not, having a legal drop means nothing, although contacting them is a great idea I wouldn't count getting raided out.  Law enforcement is notorious for not communicating internally.

drastically small estimate -- NOT -- 1W=3.414 btu
 x48 machines -- NOT -- 48 gpu's not 48 machines

the 690w you misquote and use for your bad calculations Was a complete system with three 5870's
5870 draw 188w - 5850 draw almost 10% less 170w

48 gpu's 3 per system = 16 systems
even 16 x 2356 btu/hr = 37,632 btu/hr  less than 1/3 of your 115,000 btu

The OP pic shows 48 machines with what I was assuming is 3 GPUs each.
bobR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 02:29:29 PM
 #50

Now why the hell would you make a statement like that ? you don't know me or what I am capable of or not .. or the budget in which im doing this so why would you even assume im in over my head ?

secondly did you not see by reading my posts that the power company is coming to run a new 200+ amp line to the place as currently the service is only 100 amp ? so with that combined with a electrical engineer and city permit's I do not have to worry about the "FED's" kicking in my door this has already been thought of and both the power company and the local Law Enforcement have been notified of the goings on and are welcome to come out and inspect provided they have a warrant for entry as we nixed there "Reasonable probable grounds" of entry by notifying them of what was transpiring so they can not unlawfully enter without warrant now 

I don't have to know anything about you knowing you are spending $60,000 on a mining setup that may never pay for itself, given that for you to break even bitcoin is going to have to increase in value to $50 or $100, you should simply be buying bitcoins.

Do you think people raided for drugs are using illegal power drops connected to the grid?  They are not, having a legal drop means nothing, although contacting them is a great idea I wouldn't count getting raided out.  Law enforcement is notorious for not communicating internally.

drastically small estimate -- NOT -- 1W=3.414 btu
 x48 machines -- NOT -- 48 gpu's not 48 machines

the 690w you misquote and use for your bad calculations Was a complete system with three 5870's
5870 draw 188w - 5850 draw almost 10% less 170w

48 gpu's 3 per system = 16 systems
even 16 x 2356 btu/hr = 37,632 btu/hr  less than 1/3 of your 115,000 btu

The OP pic shows 48 machines with what I was assuming is 3 GPUs each.

Maybe you should reread http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=9621.msg139579#msg139579

Gee if using 100 amps of power gets you a visit from the authorities
they are visiting every small business & factory in the country
Now back to REALITY
Basiley
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 03:36:01 PM
 #51

also consider buying more expensive[in terms of Mh/s per investments and PCi-e slots waste]cards w/o active coolers/fans. this time its something like 6870 or below.
JJG
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 04:11:18 PM
 #52

Whatever your plan is, I hope your top priority is to get as many of these machines up and running within your current cooling/power limits as you possible can.

Especially with the next difficulty jump at over 70% (!!)
bobR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 04:41:54 PM
 #53

cuting some 4x8 sheet of composite board with some u channel guides top & bottom
would make some cheep side panels-doors
six 20' box fans should give plenty of air flow even at low speed
cheep furnace filters in some u channel for filtering the fan intake side for dust
Gameover
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 05:09:00 PM
 #54

Maybe you should reread http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=9621.msg139579#msg139579

Gee if using 100 amps of power gets you a visit from the authorities
they are visiting every small business & factory in the country
Now back to REALITY

Yeah i missed that one, no worries with that size of a setup.  I am curious, what do you estimate your earnings to be in 20 days when difficulty is 1.2M or in 30 days when it is 2M?
acamus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 05:25:21 PM
 #55

He could possibly break even in a few months. Then he's just wasted the opportunity cost of his time.

Short Bitcoin  (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=12536.0) if you dare.
http://www.tradebitcoin.com/
http://oneminuteslow.com/bitcoin/100-20.png (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=8895.0)
15V8JNvmvuWnRF3r6hfTyLL1ukyfp
bitcool
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1441

Live and enjoy experiments


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 05:27:59 PM
 #56

cuting some 4x8 sheet of composite board with some u channel guides top & bottom
would make some cheep side panels-doors
six 20' box fans should give plenty of air flow even at low speed
cheep furnace filters in some u channel for filtering the fan intake side for dust
Don't forget buying a large fire insurance, from a company that has no swap trade with AIG.
You'll start a fire in no time.
warweed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 05:32:40 PM
 #57

First off my cost is no were near 60g lol try more like 12g haha like I said this is a cheap setup check YouTube.com/warweed for what we were running before that's all brig consolidated into one room and tripled then add cooling ontop of that


And like I said it's epcor (power company) that flags a house for excessive usage they have already been contacted same with local law if the proceed we will sue the
 And don't worrie we will recover our costs easily in hardware and when power starts to be to mch in relation to payout we shall lease out the gpu cluster to university researchers Smiley or something to that effect
bobR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 05:35:42 PM
 #58

cuting some 4x8 sheet of composite board with some u channel guides top & bottom
would make some cheep side panels-doors
six 20' box fans should give plenty of air flow even at low speed
cheep furnace filters in some u channel for filtering the fan intake side for dust
Don't forget buying a large fire insurance, from a company that has no swap trade with AIG.
You'll start a fire in no time.

How cheap is ASSHOLE insurance Huh
Just what that I stated is a fire hazard Huh
Troll Troll go away
play your games another way
warweed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 05:39:57 PM
 #59

He does make a valid point thou about that actually but I already have the equipment already around for a CO2 argon fire suppression system Smiley
warweed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 05:48:56 PM
 #60

We have a source for complete single slot pcie machines in the amount of 50 machines a skid at a cost of 20 each then add 133 plus tax only on 133 of 5% for the gpu add psu that powers the gpu and board sufficiently for 30 that's 9600 just for the machines that's cheaper by far then what 90% of you even pay for a 5870

See bobR it's not who you know but who knows you ! That's how you get good deals buy in volume with a corporate account

Don't under estimate the cost and moving factor of volume purchases of end of life hardware
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!