Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 08:20:35 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Will this mining setup be profitable?  (Read 989 times)
KatNiss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 31, 2012, 09:51:41 PM
 #1

Im new to bitcoin mining and have only been mining on my gaming pc that gets around 50mhash/s

Motherboard: ASRock 970 EXTREME3 AM3+ AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157280

PSU: Rosewill Xtreme Series RX750-S-B 750W Continuous @40°C ,80 PLUS Certified, ATX12V v2.2 & EPS12V v2.91, SLI Ready CrossFire Ready, Active PFC Compatible with Core i7, i5 Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182067

Memory: Crucial Ballistix sport 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Desktop Memory Model BLS2KIT2G3D1339DS1S00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148541

Cpu: Will the am3 socket fit into the am3+ because the AM3+ cpu's are so expensive!

GPU: I plan on getting 2-3 5830's off ebay.

Whats the best program to mine with these? I plan on putting linux on it. What version of linux would be best?
I would of used the calculator but i dont know the hashrates. Ill start off with one gpu.
1513585235
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513585235

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513585235
Reply with quote  #2

1513585235
Report to moderator
1513585235
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513585235

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513585235
Reply with quote  #2

1513585235
Report to moderator
1513585235
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513585235

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513585235
Reply with quote  #2

1513585235
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513585235
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513585235

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513585235
Reply with quote  #2

1513585235
Report to moderator
1513585235
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513585235

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513585235
Reply with quote  #2

1513585235
Report to moderator
ChrisKoss
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169



View Profile WWW
July 31, 2012, 11:22:51 PM
 #2

Use this site to look up hashrates:
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

And this one to compute earnings:
http://www.alloscomp.com/bitcoin/calculator.php

Be mindful of the fact that the block reward is halving in ~ 4 months.  Your break even point will probably be at least 12 months at current rates.  However, ASICs or other factors cause many to expect mining difficulty is going to go up in the next year.

I think if you are looking to make a profit, you probably shouldn't be building a mining rig.  If you want to have an awesome gaming computer that happens to pay back dividends, looks like you are on the right track.

Also, it looks like the motherboard you are looking at only has 2 PCI-e x16 slots.  You'll need 3 for 3 cards.  750W is cutting is it close for 3, might bump up to 1kW if thats the plan. 

You won't be able to use a 3rd 5830 for gaming, so I'd recommend just getting the two, focusing on gaming, and buying bitcoins if you want to acquire them. 

If you are just trying to speculate on rising Bitcoin prices, you will get more coins from directly buying coins then spending the same amount on a rig.

I am a consultant providing services to CoinLab, Inc.
KatNiss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 31, 2012, 11:44:23 PM
 #3

Ok Thanks, i hope the BFL jalapeno will be profitable! I will be buying one when they come out. Do you know when they are releasing?
yepreally
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
August 01, 2012, 03:46:31 PM
 #4

Actually, you should be able to run 4 cards off of that board.  You just need to get PCI-e extenders http://amzn.com/B006DQRUZ8 for your x1 slots.  I'm currently doing it on my rig that's been running for 6 months now.

I'm running with three 5830s and one 5850.  My watt meter currently says it's pulling right around 650 Watts.  That being said, it's better to be safe than sorry and get a little bigger power supply.

Edit: If your focus is gaming, than ChrisKoss is right.  You can only use 2 of the cards for crossfire.

Good luck!

1yepmbxDDXmRbExRTo8jce8wAbCdvQcZ2
ChrisKoss
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169



View Profile WWW
August 03, 2012, 04:57:36 PM
 #5

Actually, you should be able to run 4 cards off of that board.  You just need to get PCI-e extenders http://amzn.com/B006DQRUZ8 for your x1 slots.  I'm currently doing it on my rig that's been running for 6 months now.

I'm running with three 5830s and one 5850.  My watt meter currently says it's pulling right around 650 Watts.  That being said, it's better to be safe than sorry and get a little bigger power supply.

Edit: If your focus is gaming, than ChrisKoss is right.  You can only use 2 of the cards for crossfire.

Good luck!

Can you run all PCI-e x 16 cards off a PCI-e x1 slot with an extender?  Does it run just as well as in an x16? 

I am a consultant providing services to CoinLab, Inc.
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
August 03, 2012, 05:56:25 PM
 #6

Can you run all PCI-e x 16 cards off a PCI-e x1 slot with an extender?  Does it run just as well as in an x16? 

Yes, and no.  Depends on the board.  Some boards require the shorting of certain pins on the extenders in order to get the boards to recognize them.  But others do not. Remember, bus speed doesnt factor into hashrate, its pure GPU power, so running a card out of PCIEx1 slot is just fine.  I currently have a 5870 running over clocked out of a 1x slot and am getting ~430MH/s out of it.

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
ChrisKoss
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169



View Profile WWW
August 06, 2012, 06:38:52 PM
 #7

Remember, bus speed doesnt factor into hashrate, its pure GPU power, so running a card out of PCIEx1 slot is just fine.  I currently have a 5870 running over clocked out of a 1x slot and am getting ~430MH/s out of it.

Yeah, that makes sense - the amount of data transmitted is tiny.  Thanks for the info!  Grin

I am a consultant providing services to CoinLab, Inc.
chowdan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 04:08:31 AM
 #8

how has this board worked out for you?

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!