Bitcoin Forum
December 13, 2017, 08:54:02 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 2x5970 Rig SICK  (Read 1911 times)
bjornsni
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
August 01, 2012, 07:16:40 PM
 #1

Keep having problems with this rig

Running 11.2 Cgminer 2.2.7

Installed SDK 2.1 and I keep getting this....
Any thoughts?


[2012-08-01 14:11:21] Started cgminer 2.2.7
[2012-08-01 14:11:23] AMD OpenCL SDK 2.6 installed giving POOR PERFORMANCE on R5
xxx and R6xxx.
[2012-08-01 14:11:23] Downgrade SDK, delete .bin files and restart cgminer to fi
[2012-08-01 14:11:21] Started cgminer 2.2.7
[2012-08-01 14:11:23] AMD OpenCL SDK 2.6 installed giving POOR PERFORMANCE on R5
xxx and R6xxx.
[2012-08-01 14:11:23] Downgrade SDK, delete .bin files and restart cgminer to fi
x this.
[2012-08-01 14:11:23] Need to specify at least one pool server.
Input server details.
URL:

+1 fjordbit +1 fefox +1 tgmarks
1513198442
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513198442

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513198442
Reply with quote  #2

1513198442
Report to moderator
1513198442
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513198442

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513198442
Reply with quote  #2

1513198442
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
ChanceCoats123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 680



View Profile
August 01, 2012, 08:10:58 PM
 #2

Looks like you had previously been running 2.6 and didn't fully clean that installation before you installed 2.1. The computer will run the newest installed software.

On top of that, you didn't correctly input the pool information...
AndrewBUD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
August 01, 2012, 08:12:36 PM
 #3

keep your cgminer.conf file.... upgrade cgminer.... make sure proper SDK is installed after driver sweep....


POPULTRADE| Create, join, or invest in any business
ICO | ANN  ❘|❘  ICO starts 11. December
bjornsni
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
August 01, 2012, 08:17:49 PM
 #4

Looks like you had previously been running 2.6 and didn't fully clean that installation before you installed 2.1. The computer will run the newest installed software.

On top of that, you didn't correctly input the pool information...

cgminer runs, but only runs 1 card, the other is SICK...this is just what comes up right away.

+1 fjordbit +1 fefox +1 tgmarks
AndrewBUD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
August 01, 2012, 10:37:40 PM
 #5

try a different kernel... Try Diablo instead of PhatK or pocblm

POPULTRADE| Create, join, or invest in any business
ICO | ANN  ❘|❘  ICO starts 11. December
ChanceCoats123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 680



View Profile
August 01, 2012, 10:54:23 PM
 #6

Looks like you had previously been running 2.6 and didn't fully clean that installation before you installed 2.1. The computer will run the newest installed software.

On top of that, you didn't correctly input the pool information...

cgminer runs, but only runs 1 card, the other is SICK...this is just what comes up right away.

It helps if you mention all of that in the OP.  Roll Eyes
AndrewBUD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
August 01, 2012, 11:21:06 PM
 #7

well it does say it in the title.....


Are you running this card at stock settings? (have you tried hitting it with a hammer?) J/K


Smiley

POPULTRADE| Create, join, or invest in any business
ICO | ANN  ❘|❘  ICO starts 11. December
ChanceCoats123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 680



View Profile
August 01, 2012, 11:58:57 PM
 #8

well it does say it in the title.....


Are you running this card at stock settings? (have you tried hitting it with a hammer?) J/K


Smiley

I was unaware hardware could contract disease...
bjornsni
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
August 02, 2012, 02:15:04 PM
 #9

well it does say it in the title.....


Are you running this card at stock settings? (have you tried hitting it with a hammer?) J/K


Smiley

Thought about it.

I've searched for ways to do a clean sweep of SDK, is there a thread out there I am not seeing on how to do this?

+1 fjordbit +1 fefox +1 tgmarks
AndrewBUD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
August 02, 2012, 07:19:27 PM
 #10

get "Driver Cleaner"  software


Uninstall catalyst.... use driver sweeper..... save your config file from cgminer folder.... delete everythign else....Install Catalyst, install cgminer 2.6.1 replace your config file in cgminer folder...


The end Smiley

POPULTRADE| Create, join, or invest in any business
ICO | ANN  ❘|❘  ICO starts 11. December
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 03, 2012, 10:40:45 AM
 #11

Whenever you change drivers or SDK with cgminer, if you are to actually get different performance, you MUST delete any .bin files that cgminer has generated from the previously installed drivers/sdk combo.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
August 03, 2012, 12:06:34 PM
 #12

Also,  driver sweeper does not get rid of SDK files that may be left. You need to check the system32 and syswow64 folders in the windows directory for files called atiocl*.dll and amdocl*.dll.

This is especially important when downgrading SDKs, not so much for upgrading.

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
AndrewBUD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
August 03, 2012, 12:09:09 PM
 #13

^ you're right..... that's what made me change kernels...... comparing identical rigs I am getting better performance with diablo kernel.....

POPULTRADE| Create, join, or invest in any business
ICO | ANN  ❘|❘  ICO starts 11. December
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!