Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2018, 07:33:46 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5970 energy efficiency  (Read 1714 times)
steveme
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 11:28:49 PM
 #1

Hi all,

Just thought I'd share my findings on power vs hashrate for a single 5970, 2.8ghz core 2 cpu, cgminer-2.6.3-win32, OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (923.1) :

Max hashes

-I 9 -v 2 -w 128 -k diablo --gpu-engine 825 --gpu-memclock 150 --gpu-vddc 1.051

726MH/s, 363w = 2MH/watt


Max efficiency

-I 9 -v 2 -w 128 -k diablo --gpu-engine 680 --gpu-memclock 150 --gpu-vddc 0.950

601MH/s, 252w = 2.39MH/watt



The cost of electricity in the UK is quite expensive, so I'm looking to move to FPGA where hopefully I'll be getting around 10MH/watt
1540323226
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540323226

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540323226
Reply with quote  #2

1540323226
Report to moderator
1540323226
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540323226

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540323226
Reply with quote  #2

1540323226
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540323226
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540323226

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540323226
Reply with quote  #2

1540323226
Report to moderator
1540323226
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540323226

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540323226
Reply with quote  #2

1540323226
Report to moderator
1540323226
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540323226

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540323226
Reply with quote  #2

1540323226
Report to moderator
kimmeriets
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 07, 2012, 03:36:35 AM
 #2

--gpu-memclock 150

Huh
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1000


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
August 07, 2012, 03:42:13 AM
 #3

Probably the OP wants to make memclock 150.

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
steveme
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 07, 2012, 08:38:39 AM
 #4


Yep. I got a slight speed improvement when I dropped memclock to the min value instead 1/3 of the GPU. Freeing myself from that 'requirements let me push the GPU a bit faster. YMMV, but it works for me and runs cooler.
Tomatocage
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1150

brb keeping up with the Kardashians


View Profile
August 07, 2012, 07:41:30 PM
 #5

Yep. I got a slight speed improvement when I dropped memclock to the min value instead 1/3 of the GPU. Freeing myself from that 'requirements let me push the GPU a bit faster. YMMV, but it works for me and runs cooler.
Try 167MHz for memory.  Same power but slightly better MH/s than 150.

Recommended Exchanges: Binance.com | Altcoin.io
GPG ID: 4880D85C | 1% Escrow | 8% IPO/ICO Escrow services Temporarily Closed | Bitcointalk is the ONLY place where I use this name (No Skype/IRC/YIM/AIM/etc) | 13CsmTqGNwvFXb7tD9yFvJcEYCDTB8wQTS | Beware of these SCAM sites! | *Sponsored Link
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 08, 2012, 01:00:37 AM
 #6

for me, 5970 gets best performance w/ phatk -w 256
As for improving effeciency further, if you can, drop the voltage on cpu and its clock speed to bout 1ghz, should be easily able to do 1v @ 1ghz, if not less voltage then the thing barely uses any power.
Also, run the RAM speed low as possible.
Disable any onboard components not needed(USB3, firewire, serial, parellel controller, ide controller, etc...)

My 5970's can do 810mhz @ 1.034v, give that a shot.
Also have one that does 760mhz @ .95v, pretty effecient.

Then of course the more effecient ur PSU...the better.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1004



View Profile
August 08, 2012, 03:06:15 AM
 #7

Optimum memory speed is highly dependant on the actual core speed. I'm working with blinky and chsx3 to find the optimum memory speeds for a cypress XT GPU (Hemlock, or 5970, uses the same GPU). So far I've gotten promising results from blinky's perl script. Basically, I'm brute forcing all of the normal combinations of memory and core speeds in multipels of 1 and 5 respectively. There is no set memory speed that is better than all the rest across ALL core speeds.

Chances are your miner for your 5xxx card is using phatk or phatk2 kernel, 128 worksize, vectors, and bfi_int, and hopefully yo uare using 2.1 SDK (not 2.6/2.7 which comes with the latest drivers. 2.4 and 2.5 is also suspected to be slightly slower). Here is some incomplete, but very GOOD information on what memory speeds you SHOULD be using. I have 4 5970 in 1 rig and was running 150 memory across all the cores. Using this spreadsheet, I was able to increase hashrate by 15 mhash. It's not much, but it WAS an increase. It's now doing exactly 2.7 Ghash with 910 watts, or 2.967 MHash/joule, compared to 2.685 earlier. Note that I can only recommend these speeds if you are using the above settings.


420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 08, 2012, 06:32:29 AM
 #8

Need over 830 core results too. im using CGMiner experimenting a lot, let me calculate my results and update here

with 3x5970's at 850mhz core, i got 2272 average mhash on cgminer after 12 hours that's 757.3mhash per card, 378.6 per core

memory i always have 1/3 of core, but i will test the 150, and perhaps 1/6th of core.

one thing is when i set memory clock to 284 it registers 282.8mhz in GPU-Z so im figuring out if i really need to force it to something else to get the REAL speed closer to 1/3

I may have lost my optimal settings in software that got me 2272 earlier, figuring them out again (juggling sapphire trixx with cgminer's OC settings, CGMiner doesn't seem to set the vcore)

also unaware if this had helped me:
open taskmgr as Admin and set cgminer priority to Realtime

best results was pulling about 990 watts from the wall. only 850 when i was getting 2135Mhash total

12.6 driver with builtin SDK win7 x64

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!