Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 04:06:08 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Just added a new graphics card..  (Read 899 times)
Strongbow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 02:24:23 PM
 #1

Hey there, i've been mining about a week on my old gaming rig which was a 5970, and i decided to get a new card and mine with that too, so i bought a 6990 and stuck that in the gaming machine. Trouble is my PC is now freezing all the time when i'm using it, and is basically unusable, even without running a mining program.

My PSU is only 850w and i think this might be the cause of the lock-ups. Anyone have any similar issues?
1481040368
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481040368

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481040368
Reply with quote  #2

1481040368
Report to moderator
1481040368
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481040368

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481040368
Reply with quote  #2

1481040368
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481040368
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481040368

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481040368
Reply with quote  #2

1481040368
Report to moderator
1481040368
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481040368

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481040368
Reply with quote  #2

1481040368
Report to moderator
1481040368
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481040368

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481040368
Reply with quote  #2

1481040368
Report to moderator
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 02:44:37 PM
 #2

Hey there, i've been mining about a week on my old gaming rig which was a 5970, and i decided to get a new card and mine with that too, so i bought a 6990 and stuck that in the gaming machine. Trouble is my PC is now freezing all the time when i'm using it, and is basically unusable, even without running a mining program.

My PSU is only 850w and i think this might be the cause of the lock-ups. Anyone have any similar issues?

if you're mining with a properly configured mining program, your 5970 is pulling over 325 watts - and your 6990 over 400.

if you're using a gaming computer you've got a lot of stuff that's unnecessary, pulling a lot of other wattage (high-end CPU, lots of RAM, speakers, CD/DVD drive, etc.).

even a +90% efficient 850W PSU would probably be toast driving all that stuff.
commlinx
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 03:03:30 PM
 #3

Yeah you'd be borderline on power. Try under-clocking to drop power and see how it goes, then at least you'll get some value from the 2nd card meanwhile while you work out if it's the problem and consider if it's worth getting a new PSU.

Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 03:20:44 PM
 #4

"...i've been mining about a week on my old gaming rig..."

it sounds like you might be the kind of person who has hardware laying around...

if so, you've probably got an old 450-500W PSU in a closet junk box.  a very cost-effective solution might be to add that old PSU to your system (there are how-tos on this minng sub-forum, if you've never done it), using it to drive the 5970 - with your 850 driving everything else.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!