Bitcoin Forum
May 22, 2018, 10:11:11 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [All]
  Print  
Author Topic: Power Supply - EVGA G2 1000Watt or Corsair RM1000 Watt  (Read 3235 times)
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2015, 06:58:13 AM
 #1

I see lots of people getting the EVGA power supply, plus the G2 has a 10 year warranty on it and is less expensive than the RM1000 model. Anyone have or use the EVGA G2 1000 watt model?

What I can't find is the small adapter that you plug in so you can turn it on without the main board. With the RM1000 all I used was a 14pin plastic adapter with two pins added, but not entirely sure what this EVGA G2 needs. It has a 28 pin power connector, so having a hard time finding that little adapter you would plug in.


Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1527027071
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527027071

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527027071
Reply with quote  #2

1527027071
Report to moderator
Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1005



View Profile
March 10, 2015, 08:28:39 AM
 #2

Paperclip rules.  Cheesy

From Siberia with love!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Профессионально занимаюсь развёртыванием ферм (ASIC, GPU, BURST), оборудованием помещений для майнинга.
Zich
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2015, 09:42:52 AM
 #3

I see lots of people getting the EVGA power supply, plus the G2 has a 10 year warranty on it and is less expensive than the RM1000 model. Anyone have or use the EVGA G2 1000 watt model?

What I can't find is the small adapter that you plug in so you can turn it on without the main board. With the RM1000 all I used was a 14pin plastic adapter with two pins added, but not entirely sure what this EVGA G2 needs. It has a 28 pin power connector, so having a hard time finding that little adapter you would plug in.



EVGA G2 1000 is indeed good unit. Jonnyguru give score 9.4 point.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100
Merit: 1211


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
March 10, 2015, 11:21:59 AM
 #4

I see lots of people getting the EVGA power supply, plus the G2 has a 10 year warranty on it and is less expensive than the RM1000 model. Anyone have or use the EVGA G2 1000 watt model?

What I can't find is the small adapter that you plug in so you can turn it on without the main board. With the RM1000 all I used was a 14pin plastic adapter with two pins added, but not entirely sure what this EVGA G2 needs. It has a 28 pin power connector, so having a hard time finding that little adapter you would plug in.



what do you want to run?

an upgrade to the evga 1300g2 could be a better choice.

the 1300 can run 2 s-5's at 1150gh each


 or 2 sp20e's   at 1150gh each

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
jonnybravo0311
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1015


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2015, 03:54:43 PM
 #5

I see lots of people getting the EVGA power supply, plus the G2 has a 10 year warranty on it and is less expensive than the RM1000 model. Anyone have or use the EVGA G2 1000 watt model?

What I can't find is the small adapter that you plug in so you can turn it on without the main board. With the RM1000 all I used was a 14pin plastic adapter with two pins added, but not entirely sure what this EVGA G2 needs. It has a 28 pin power connector, so having a hard time finding that little adapter you would plug in.


EVGA 1300 G2 comes with the adapter in the box - no need to do the paperclip trick.  I'm quite sure the EVGA 1000 does as well.  The Corsair RM 1000 does not - I know, I've got the PSU.

In terms of performance, both have been solid for me.  My personal preference is the EVGA, but there's really no scientific evidence behind that assertion.  I've got 2 EVGA 1300s and 1 Corsair RM1000.  The EVGAs run 3 S3s each, the RM1000 runs 2 - it used to run 2 S1s.  The RM1000 has been running non-stop since May of last year.  The EVGAs have been running non-stop since June/July.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
March 11, 2015, 06:41:26 PM
 #6

I don't think the EVGA G2 1000 has that PSU start up piece. All I'm trying to avoid is having to hook up that monster power cable. I grabbed a few of these, which I'll then insert the pins myself and jumper it. I have the tools to make them. This way I won't need to bother plugging in that heavy/long power cable.


Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
jonnybravo0311
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1015


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
March 11, 2015, 07:52:51 PM
 #7

I don't think the EVGA G2 1000 has that PSU start up piece. All I'm trying to avoid is having to hook up that monster power cable. I grabbed a few of these, which I'll then insert the pins myself and jumper it. I have the tools to make them. This way I won't need to bother plugging in that heavy/long power cable.


According to EVGA's "what's in the box" section in the manual for the 1000 G2:
(1) EVGA Power Supply
(1) EVGA Manual
(4) Mounting Screws
(1) EVGA PSU Tester (24-pin)
(1) EVGA Cable Bag
(1) 24-pin ATX Cable (2) 4+4 pin EPS12V CPU Cables
(4) 6+2 pin PCI-E VGA Cables
(2) 6+2 pin + 6 pin PCI-E VGA Cables
(2) 3 SATA cables
(2) 2 SATA cables
(1) 3 Molex cable
(1) 2 Molex cable + 1 Floppy connector
(1) Power Cord cable

The 1300s I have indeed had that part in the box, and is why I stated that I was quite sure the 1000 G2 did as well.

Anyway, there are plenty of people that make the jumpers, or as you've seen you can make your own with virtually no effort.  Of course you can always go the paperclip route, too Smiley

EDIT: Ohh... you don't even want the 24-pin ATX cable attached at all, you just want to jumper directly on the PSU.  Huh... you know, I didn't even attempt to plug the PSU tester directly into the PSU, I just plugged the ATX cable into the PSU and the PSU tester into the ATX cable.  Now I'm going to have to see if I could have just gotten away with plugging the tester into the PSU itself, and if it works I'm going to feel a bit silly for having that giant cable plugged in for no reason at all for the past 9 months Tongue

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
ezeminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1062

Lie down. Have a cookie


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 07:56:19 PM
 #8

I don't think the EVGA G2 1000 has that PSU start up piece. All I'm trying to avoid is having to hook up that monster power cable. I grabbed a few of these, which I'll then insert the pins myself and jumper it. I have the tools to make them. This way I won't need to bother plugging in that heavy/long power cable.


According to EVGA's "what's in the box" section in the manual for the 1000 G2:
(1) EVGA Power Supply
(1) EVGA Manual
(4) Mounting Screws
(1) EVGA PSU Tester (24-pin)
(1) EVGA Cable Bag
(1) 24-pin ATX Cable (2) 4+4 pin EPS12V CPU Cables
(4) 6+2 pin PCI-E VGA Cables
(2) 6+2 pin + 6 pin PCI-E VGA Cables
(2) 3 SATA cables
(2) 2 SATA cables
(1) 3 Molex cable
(1) 2 Molex cable + 1 Floppy connector
(1) Power Cord cable

The 1300s I have indeed had that part in the box, and is why I stated that I was quite sure the 1000 G2 did as well.

Anyway, there are plenty of people that make the jumpers, or as you've seen you can make your own with virtually no effort.  Of course you can always go the paperclip route, too Smiley

When I bought my miners, I bought this off amazon. Simple and has been going for 4 months.
http://www.amazon.com/24-Pin-STARTER-BRIDGE-WITHOUT-MOTHERBOARD/dp/B00K38IKRY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1426103688&sr=8-1&keywords=psu+jumper

jonnybravo0311
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1015


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
March 11, 2015, 07:57:33 PM
 #9

That piece is already included in the box with the EVGA PSUs...

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
ezeminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1062

Lie down. Have a cookie


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 07:59:58 PM
 #10

That piece is already included in the box with the EVGA PSUs...
I had a corsair PSU, so... I lost on that one.

charles2k
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 316
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 12, 2015, 01:18:14 PM
 #11

In RM1000 all PCIe connectors use 16AWG gauges. Also is more quiet.
Otherwise it is the same class.
aclass
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 12, 2015, 05:29:10 PM
 #12

G2 1300 is a better choice.
Between the 1000W models I like RM more

BTC: 1Bitcoin8dtPLLZcRtS6Kc8o4eXXZhxEaj | ZAN Coin
dunand
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 637
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 12, 2015, 08:07:03 PM
 #13

Take two old power cables with the mini fit jr female pin. Join them with a butt splice. You are done.

opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2015, 04:00:49 AM
 #14

That piece is already included in the box with the EVGA PSUs...

Guys, the piece that comes with the EVGA is the female version. It will not plug into the modular power supply itself. You still have to hook up that bulky cable. That's why I bought those 24pin female plugs (couple posts above) so I can pull the power cable out and put back in the box. Then just easily plug that little piece in.

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 13, 2015, 04:32:24 AM
 #15

Evga > RM series all day every day. Evga can do no wrong since they went with Super Flower as their OEM of choice.
ScryptAsic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 633
Merit: 500


GainerCoin.com 🔥 Masternode coin 🔥


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2015, 04:36:50 AM
 #16

I would agree that versus the RM the EVGA is probably a little better. Both PSU are really good choices though. It would come down to prices for me to go 1 way or the other.
Finksy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 13, 2015, 05:57:54 AM
 #17

I have had failures with a couple Corsair GS 800's, good success with Rosewill.  Heard nothing but good things about the EVGA's, they're just pricy.  But, you can't beat server PSU's for value & durability, nothing ATX even remotely compares in those regards.

IBM 2880W PSU Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=966135 IBM 4K PSU Breakout Boards & Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296 
Server PSU-powered GPU rig solutions! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1864539  Wallet address: 1GWQYCv22cAikgTgT1zFuAmsJ9fFqq9TXf 
pencas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 25, 2017, 11:22:34 AM
 #18

Which models you recommend for 13x rx580 to use with sata risers?
leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1012



View Profile
October 11, 2017, 11:50:00 AM
 #19

my ps evga 1300 w are broken  Huh Huh Huh Huh
And? It’s like calling tech support saying your computer stopped working without giving any information.

EVGA is my go to option for PSUs, Corsair never worked that well and somehow EVGA provide better PSUs for less money. RM series is known to be pretty bad anyways, if you are buying high wattage PSUs getting a slightly more expensive but reliable model helps. A lot.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
          
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                              
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
      ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
 ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
TheCarm
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 502


One Token to Move Anything Anywhere


View Profile
October 11, 2017, 12:02:56 PM
 #20

Evga platinum series the great choose but it's price too expensive..

                                                                               
███████████████▄▄▄                     ▄█▄     ▀█████▄                     ▄█████▀
████████████████████▄                ▄█████▄     ▀█████▄                 ▄█████▀
              ▀▀█████▄             ▄█████████▄     ▀█████▄             ▄█████▀
                 █████▌          ▄█████▀ ▀█████▄     ▀█████▄         ▄█████▀
                 ▐█████        ▄█████▀     ▀█████▄     ▀█████▄     ▄█████▀
                 █████▌      ▄█████▀         ▀█████▄     ▀█████▄ ▄█████▀
              ▄▄█████▀     ▄█████▀     ▄█▄     ▀█████▄     ▀█████████▀
████████████████████▀    ▄█████▀     ▄█████▄     ▀█████▄     ▀█████▀
███████████████▀▀▀     ▄█████▀     ▄█████████▄     ▀█████▄     ▀█▀
                                    ▀███████▀
                                      ▀███▀
                                        ▀
.
▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
.◆ ◆ ◆ ONE TOKEN TO MOVE ANYTHING ANYWHERE ◆ ◆ ◆.
▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁▁
Za1n
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1007



View Profile
October 11, 2017, 01:03:18 PM
 #21

Evga > RM series all day every day. Evga can do no wrong since they went with Super Flower as their OEM of choice.

Bah, they are both perfectly capable PSUs. While EVGA outsources their manufacturing to Super Flower, Corsair uses Seasonic, which is no slouch in the PSU industry on its own.

Corsair also consistently ranks high in JonnyGuru testing as shown here with the Corsair RM1000x receiving a perfect 10. http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story6&reid=449

I love EVGA too, but there is no need to preclude another perfectly good brand just because of some bias. I have owned and will continue to own both brands. I have also had to RMA power supplies from both brands, with both offering excellent customer service and a no hassle RMA process.

In reality you really cannot go wrong with either brand, just get whichever one is on sale at any given moment that suits your needs.

One final note, once you start looking past 5-6 GPUs you really should start to consider using a server PSU with a breakout board, as they are better suited for large rigs and can deliver the wattage you need from one unit using 220V input. Their pricing is also very competitive with the higher end consumer PSU's, especially considering the fact you would often need utilize two consumer PSUs once you go past 6 GPUs.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100
Merit: 1211


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
October 11, 2017, 01:06:21 PM
 #22

Evga > RM series all day every day. Evga can do no wrong since they went with Super Flower as their OEM of choice.

Bah, they are both perfectly capable PSUs. While EVGA outsources their manufacturing to Super Flower, Corsair uses Seasonic, which is no slouch in the PSU industry on its own.

Corsair also consistently ranks high in JonnyGuru testing as shown here with the Corsair RM1000x receiving a perfect 10. http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story6&reid=449

I love EVGA too, but there is no need to preclude another perfectly good brand just because of some bias. I have owned and will continue to own both brands. I have also had to RMA power supplies from both brands, with both offering excellent customer service and a no hassle RMA process.

In reality you really cannot go wrong with either brand, just get whichever one is on sale at any given moment that suits your needs.

One final note, once you start looking past 5-6 GPUs you really should start to consider using a server PSU with a breakout board, as they are better suited for large rigs and can deliver the wattage you need from one unit using 220V input. Their pricing is also very competitive with the higher end consumer PSU's, especially considering the fact you would often need utilize two consumer PSUs once you go past 6 GPUs.

A lot of good advice here.

And to mention a completely different psu

The rosewill quark platinum is also a very good choice for a 4 gpu rig.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
m_01
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 13, 2017, 10:26:45 AM
 #23

Cooler Master V1000 - Fully Modular 1000W 80 PLUS Gold PSU with Silencio FP Silent 135mm is also good option

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817171078

The future of money has arrived   ═══▌▌     TRUCKCOIN     ▐▐═══   For The Fastest Decentralized Global Market
  ICO starts of Dec 1st, 2017  》     ANN Thread     WhitePaper     Twitter     Facebook     Google+
═════════════════════════     Powered by GoldenHill International     ═════════════════════════
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1022


View Profile
October 13, 2017, 08:47:41 PM
 #24

my ps evga 1300 w are broken  Huh Huh Huh Huh
And? It’s like calling tech support saying your computer stopped working without giving any information.

EVGA is my go to option for PSUs, Corsair never worked that well and somehow EVGA provide better PSUs for less money. RM series is known to be pretty bad anyways, if you are buying high wattage PSUs getting a slightly more expensive but reliable model helps. A lot.

 EVGA G2 series is my #2 option - and still available most of the time where my #1 option Seasonic X-Series is pretty much out of stock everywhere.

 I won't even look at the G3 series or the Seasonic "Prime" series (or that new lower-end series that replaces the Seasonic "G-series" models) since they moved to a sleeve-type fan instead of a double ball bearing fan.
 FAR too likely to die WAY too fast in high-load high-temp service like my mining environment.


 Corsair outsources their PS manufacturing to DIFFERENT makers depending on the model line - which is why their PS vary so widely from "very good" to "junk".


I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
Pages: 1 2 [All]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!