Bitcoin Forum
December 01, 2021, 11:00:43 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: anybody know someone who can look at gridseeds for repair  (Read 1498 times)
cavaliersrus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 735
Merit: 500

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
March 06, 2015, 07:43:44 PM
 #1

i have 4 gridseed 5chip miners they were volt modded by someone very poorly they were working great then all of a sudden im getting nothing but hardware errors the lights flash the fans all run but i get nothing from eather of my 2 mining rigs all i can think is that when i had a power outage something went wrong and killed my 4 miners any help would be appreciated and if you need more info i can reply back asap as i work overnights.

my 2 rigs are a raspberry pi B+ running minera <=== is my miner
other rig is a pc running cgminer version 3.7.2 for gridseeds <=== is my testing pc for gridseeds

i just hope there not dead im willing to ship them to somebody for testing / repair

1638399643
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638399643

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638399643
Reply with quote  #2

1638399643
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638399643
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638399643

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638399643
Reply with quote  #2

1638399643
Report to moderator
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1134


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2015, 08:49:49 PM
 #2

Sidehack could, but its unlikely to be economical for such small units.

cavaliersrus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 735
Merit: 500

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
March 06, 2015, 09:00:49 PM
 #3

well there is kinda a small update if i run them at 600-650 they run fine anything higher then that i start getting HW errors ... before this happened i was running 900 - 975... so im going to run minera and see if i can atleast get them hashing from 600 and run autotune and see what i get...


i know there small but its all i can afford at this time

alh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1796
Merit: 1025


View Profile
March 06, 2015, 09:01:15 PM
 #4

I'd swear I recall a member called "lightfoot"? He seemed to be doing serious work on various generations of BFL gear, including Monarch repair. I think you can search for him, and see if would be interested.
cavaliersrus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 735
Merit: 500

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
March 06, 2015, 09:15:05 PM
 #5

i will look into that maybe once i do a little more testing on my end i will be able to chat with them and see if i can find out what the issue is maybe its a small part on the board i can replace or have a place around me replace the part

cavaliersrus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 735
Merit: 500

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
March 07, 2015, 01:22:02 PM
 #6

update ran minera on raspberry pi miner useing cpuminer with autotune for 15 1/2 hours and they tuned to 635 / 680 /645 / 655 so im wondering if something happened to the power circuit or something ... anybody know where to check to see if damaged

sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1662

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 07, 2015, 02:35:13 PM
 #7

I almost tossed in on this thread, but I've only handled one gridseed pod and it wasn't volt-modded so I don't have direct experience with the circuitry. Not saying I wouldn't be willing to take a look.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
cavaliersrus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 735
Merit: 500

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
March 07, 2015, 05:54:56 PM
 #8

what would you charge to take a look at it ?

sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1662

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 07, 2015, 06:06:48 PM
 #9

To take a look? Probably nothing. How much is it worth to you to get it working?

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
cavaliersrus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 735
Merit: 500

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
March 07, 2015, 07:28:49 PM
Last edit: March 07, 2015, 07:39:29 PM by cavaliersrus
 #10

well i work a min wage job and dont have alot of money if there all doing this maybe i can send one of them to you but i dont know how much parts and your labor would be so no clue. i know how to solder and work on electronics on easy stuff but tracing issues is not my cup of tea

sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1662

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 07, 2015, 07:54:53 PM
 #11

My parts and labor would be how much it's worth to you to have them working, minus the cost of shipping them here and back. That's why I asked. Figuring one out would be a good start.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
cavaliersrus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 735
Merit: 500

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 06:05:25 PM
 #12

sidehack i am off today and tomarrow would like to stop by the shop i sent you a pm about it but no reply Sad

sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1662

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 07:05:54 PM
 #13

I didn't reply because I was elbow-deep in an industrial wirecutter while discussing strain gauge calibrations with Novak. I was at work until 10PM last night and back to business about 6:30AM this morning. It's been a busy week.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
cavaliersrus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 735
Merit: 500

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 10:43:05 PM
 #14

sounds like your a very busy man ... sorry im just hoping to get these miners back up to 100% if i can cheaply that is ... even willing to give you one for mad scientist overclocking or tinkering we can discuss this at a later time though just nice to meet a person into bitcoin mining and lives in same area

sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1662

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 12, 2015, 03:28:45 AM
 #15

Yep, I'm actually still at the shop right now. Just drove to St Louis and back to fetch a server. Between internal projects and external jobs we've never been as busy as we are right now and we're only going to get more busy over the next month or two.

But that doesn't mean you shouldn't come by anyway. We'll do what we can to help.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
cavaliersrus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 735
Merit: 500

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
March 13, 2015, 12:25:25 AM
 #16

Just wanted to say thanks alot sidehack for looking at my gridseed miners ... those s1's are very nice ... cant wait to get a powersupply from you once i get some more cash... btw very nice setup

sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1662

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 13, 2015, 01:58:35 AM
 #17

Yep. It was an opportunity for me to learn something new. Worked out well for both of us.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
cavaliersrus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 735
Merit: 500

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
March 13, 2015, 02:50:03 AM
 #18

looks like i might have to send you that #53 again man got home and its dead powers up but nothing think we might have killed the controler or something on it ... it has 12v power and usb fine and it sees it but nothing

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!