Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2024, 08:34:11 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: 1 2 [All]
  Print  
Author Topic: new miner - is it worth it?  (Read 223421 times)
pandemic (OP)

Activity: 434
Merit: 250

View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:00:17 AM

I'm still looking into mining to see if it's really worth the costs.

I've been messing with kradminer.com and bitcoinplus.com. I've found that the GPU dominates the CPU for this job.

Here's my rig:
2.66ghz core 2 duo overclocked to 3.2ghz
Radeon HD 4870 512mb
4gb ram
150gb 10k rpm hdd

I know disk space, ram, and CPU don't mean much.

I do have a second PCI-e slot and I was looking around for another Radeon HD 4870 to set up via crossfire.

I'm just not sure if it's worth mining. I only started playing around with and reading about bitcoin the other day. I'm still not exactly sure how they even work or why they are worth anything.

I read about someone who averaged it cost about $0.65 per BTC generated. I also heard that the going rate right now is $7/BTC. That's a pretty large profit.

I still have lots of reading to do. Read somewhere that you can strike gold and get 50BTC somehow but I'm not even sure how that works, lol.

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
In order to achieve higher forum ranks, you need both activity points and merit points.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
kjj
Legendary

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1024

View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:11:12 AM

You are unlikely to recover the cost of even a single 4870 even if you run a pair of them until they crumble into dust.