Bitcoin Forum
April 21, 2018, 06:20:51 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: What PSU do I need?  (Read 920 times)
redmist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 15, 2013, 03:34:37 PM
 #1

I'm having a bit of trouble trying to find out what PSU I need.
Here are the parts for my rig so far:
Motherboard: http://www.dabs.com/products/gigabyte-970a-ds3-am3--amd-970-ddr3-atx-8DLY.html?refs=50509&src=3
CPU: http://www.dabs.com/products/amd-sempron-145-2-8ghz-1mb-am3-45w-74NJ.html?refs=56930000&src=3
GPU's: x3 PowerColor 5850's
RAM: http://www.dabs.com/products/kingston-4gb--1-x-4gb--ddr3-1333mhz-dimm-240-pin-cl9-7FS4.html?refs=468490000-42670000&src=3
Case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811129021

I have absolutely no idea what PSU I would need. I've had a look around and I'm guessing it would be somewhere around 1000Watts.
Could someone with more experience than me let me know what PSU I would need?
Thanks for your help guys,
-redmist

NobleCoinLibertyProsperitySecurity
NobleCoin: 9YYgeoJRa4MXSXZ66aaZvTSFuREVjBfSx4
1524334851
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524334851

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524334851
Reply with quote  #2

1524334851
Report to moderator
1524334851
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524334851

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524334851
Reply with quote  #2

1524334851
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524334851
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524334851

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524334851
Reply with quote  #2

1524334851
Report to moderator
1524334851
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524334851

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524334851
Reply with quote  #2

1524334851
Report to moderator
1524334851
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524334851

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524334851
Reply with quote  #2

1524334851
Report to moderator
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 15, 2013, 03:55:51 PM
 #2

A good rule of thumb is add 100W for your system, not including your GPUs. FOr 5850s, I would say ~200W for each of the 5850s, although they won't pull that much. You're looking at around a 700W PSU. You could go less, if it was a high quality one.

You want a fool-proof recommendation: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182264

$99
750W
80Plus GOLD
Single Rail
Modular

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Gator-hex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 04:13:20 PM
 #3

Technically you're supposed to use something with 6 x 6pin PCI-E Power
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/1000w-akasa-venom-power-ak-pa100am03-uk-hybrid-modular-80-plus-gold-eps-12v-135mm-fan-atx-v23-psu

But you can get away with a cheaper 4 x 6pin PCI-E Power model and use a couple molex to PCI-E adapters
http://www.scan.co.uk/shop/computer-hardware/all/power-supplies/hybrid-modular-720w-950w

mufa23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


I'd fight Gandhi.


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 04:20:20 PM
 #4

"Single Rail"! Make sure it's a Single Rail PSU! I've owned many computers, but only once has a PSU ever failed. And that was because I overloaded a rail on one of my PSU's. Made a load pop, some smoke shot out the back, and then a very load electrical buzzing for a quick second until the breaker blew. Luckily, it didn't fry the rest of the mining rig.

Positive rep with: pekv2, AzN1337c0d3r, Vince Torres, underworld07, Chimsley, omegaaf, Bogart, Gleason, SuperTramp, John K. and guitarplinker
redmist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 15, 2013, 04:57:36 PM
 #5

Ok thanks for all the help guys!!
So do you think this one will be good?
http://m.dabs.com/products/corsair-800w-gaming-series-gs800-2013-edition-80--bronze--atx--ps-2-psu-8H0L.html?src=3
Thanks for the recommendation crazyates, but I don't wanna buy anything from the US because of high postage Wink

NobleCoinLibertyProsperitySecurity
NobleCoin: 9YYgeoJRa4MXSXZ66aaZvTSFuREVjBfSx4
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 15, 2013, 06:40:47 PM
 #6

"Single Rail"! Make sure it's a Single Rail PSU! I've owned many computers, but only once has a PSU ever failed. And that was because I overloaded a rail on one of my PSU's. Made a load pop, some smoke shot out the back, and then a very load electrical buzzing for a quick second until the breaker blew. Luckily, it didn't fry the rest of the mining rig.
You technically can do a multi-rail, as long as you load balance properly. I had a 1000W 4 rail unit, that ran 3 smaller cards just fine. It wasn't until I tried to run some 5970s that the rails started giving me fits.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 15, 2013, 06:43:03 PM
 #7

Ok thanks for all the help guys!!
So do you think this one will be good?
http://m.dabs.com/products/corsair-800w-gaming-series-gs800-2013-edition-80--bronze--atx--ps-2-psu-8H0L.html?src=3
Thanks for the recommendation crazyates, but I don't wanna buy anything from the US because of high postage Wink
Yep I think that's a single rail unit, so you're all set.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
redmist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 15, 2013, 07:07:50 PM
 #8

Ok thanks for all the help guys!!
So do you think this one will be good?
http://m.dabs.com/products/corsair-800w-gaming-series-gs800-2013-edition-80--bronze--atx--ps-2-psu-8H0L.html?src=3
Thanks for the recommendation crazyates, but I don't wanna buy anything from the US because of high postage Wink
Yep I think that's a single rail unit, so you're all set.
Great! Thanks for the help guys Smiley

NobleCoinLibertyProsperitySecurity
NobleCoin: 9YYgeoJRa4MXSXZ66aaZvTSFuREVjBfSx4
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!