Bitcoin Forum
April 16, 2014, 08:44:38 AM *
News: ♦♦ A bug in OpenSSL, used by Bitcoin-Qt/Bitcoin Core, could allow your bitcoins to be stolen. Immediately updating Bitcoin Core to 0.9.1 is required in some cases, especially if you're using 0.9.0. Download. More info.
The same bug also affected the forum. Changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Generating Bitcoins with your video card (OpenCL/CUDA)  (Read 90713 times)
laszlo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199


View Profile

Ignore
May 10, 2010, 02:03:57 PM
 #1

I have a working prototype of Bitcoin generation with OpenCL.  OpenCL is similar to OpenGL but it's for doing computation, not graphics.  Other similar technologies are CUDA (NVIDIA) and DirectCompute (Microsoft).  OpenCL is Apple's version of it but it is available for Linux and Windows as well.

I posted a Mac OS X binary package in my other thread.  I will create a patch and write up instructions for each platform this week as I have time but I wanted to find out who if anyone is interested in this even.

Please reply if you're interested and what OS/Video card you have.

Supported video cards:
NVIDIA: http://www.nvidia.com/object/cuda_gpus.html
AMD (ATI): http://developer.amd.com/gpu/ATIStreamSDK/Pages/default.aspx#two

Just to give people an idea of the benefit..
In my development computer I have an Intel E8600 CPU which runs at 3.3ghz normally.. I have it clocked at 4.1ghz
With 2 threads running the normal way I get about 1800k iterations per second in the bitcoin miner.
With an NVIDIA 8800 GTS (G80 GPU) video card I get around 3300-3800k iterations per second (varies with tuning of the code).

I find the best total performance comes from running one CPU thread and one OpenCL thread for the GPU (which does a bunch of work in parallel).  I get about 5000k/sec total that way on my development machine.  If I use 2 CPU threads it slows down the overall results to about 3600k/sec because the CPU is tied up computing and not pumping data to the GPU fast enough.


BC: 157fRrqAKrDyGHr1Bx3yDxeMv8Rh45aUet
1397637878
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397637878

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397637878
Reply with quote  #2

1397637878
Report to moderator
1397637878
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397637878

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397637878
Reply with quote  #2

1397637878
Report to moderator
1397637878
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397637878

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397637878
Reply with quote  #2

1397637878
Report to moderator
Private Internet Access™ - No logs, Unlimited Bandwidth, PC Magazine's Editor's Choice
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1397637878
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397637878

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397637878
Reply with quote  #2

1397637878
Report to moderator
1397637878
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397637878

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397637878
Reply with quote  #2

1397637878
Report to moderator
fergalish
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 440


View Profile

Ignore
May 10, 2010, 07:57:20 PM
 #2

Ubuntu 10.04, nvidia geforce 8300, AMD Athlon II 64 X2.  The GPU has only 8 cores, so it'll not do much.
SmokeTooMuch
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


View Profile

Ignore
May 10, 2010, 08:52:06 PM
 #3

Win7 Pro 64-Bit
Radeon HD4870 512MB

You like what I'm doing? Why don't you send me a coin: 17Pj8jpUgY6qTaKgiopL5U48zxU4rTrkuB
Bitcoin on Reddit: https://pay.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin
m0mchil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170


View Profile

Ignore
May 12, 2010, 02:15:56 PM
 #4

Win7 Pro 64-Bit
Radeon HD4350

laszlo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199


View Profile

Ignore
May 13, 2010, 11:40:54 PM
 #5

Thanks for the replies.  I have it working somewhat but it's really inefficient at the moment.  I will try to get a windows and linux version built this weekend so other people can play with it.

BC: 157fRrqAKrDyGHr1Bx3yDxeMv8Rh45aUet
allinvain
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064



View Profile WWW

Ignore
May 18, 2010, 01:37:50 AM
 #6

Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Nvidia Geforce 7900GS

But I'm soon going to get a ATI Radeon HD 5850

Btw, I think this is an excellent idea!

SmokeTooMuch
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


View Profile

Ignore
May 25, 2010, 08:31:27 PM
 #7

is the gpu-computing-client compatible with the normal client so the gpu-generated bitcoins will emmit into the same pool as the cpu-generated ones ?

You like what I'm doing? Why don't you send me a coin: 17Pj8jpUgY6qTaKgiopL5U48zxU4rTrkuB
Bitcoin on Reddit: https://pay.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin
Xunie
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132



View Profile

Ignore
May 25, 2010, 08:52:11 PM
 #8

is the gpu-computing-client compatible with the normal client so the gpu-generated bitcoins will emmit into the same pool as the cpu-generated ones ?

Yes, totally.
It's just your GPU doing the work of your CPU.

Thank me for this post here: 1PyNKEyqtDFB4HBG8ueDVxdPZfgwC6gAqw
Caffeinism -- a toxic condition caused by excessive ingestion of coffee and other caffeine-containing beverage.
laszlo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199


View Profile

Ignore
May 25, 2010, 11:38:00 PM
 #9

I ran into some technical problems while experimenting with this and didn't get much farther than the Mac OS version.  It seems that the NVIDIA CUDA 3.0 SDK for linux at least is very buggy when it comes to OpenCL.  It never quite worked right on Mac OS either, it just leaks a lot of memory (the OpenCL implementation, not bitcoin).  I will post an update if I come up with some solutions but I think the issues in the CUDA SDK will just have to be addressed by the vendor.. this stuff is all very beta right now, but I will keep my eye open for any new developments with the SDKs.  I do not have an AMD GPU so I have not been able to develop for that at all, but their support is pretty spotty right now too, almost all of the current cards are listed as experimental support.

I think this tech has a lot of potential but I think most people who are using it for anything real are rolling their own vendor specific solutions.  I would rather not pass out something that only partially works and only works for a few people.

BC: 157fRrqAKrDyGHr1Bx3yDxeMv8Rh45aUet
lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2010, 11:02:07 PM
 #10

While this is definitely really cool, it won't benefit anyone if you release it. After two weeks, the difficulty system will adjust and we'll be back to generating bitcoins at the same rate but using much more computer power. Although I suppose this will benefit those with fast video cards instead of just fast CPUs.

I'm one of those people, so full steam ahead! Cheesy

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1AFTbit16o6FNg2msnAbXVR2G3EVTWefmc
Vanity .onion address service - <8 character addresses free!
alystair
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile

Ignore
July 12, 2010, 02:41:17 PM
 #11

Windows 7 x64 / Debian VM
GTX 260

Extremely interested to see CUDA work considering I hardly strain this card anymore Smiley
fflaguna
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile

Ignore
July 12, 2010, 10:03:20 PM
 #12

Windows 7 x64
nVidia GTX 280M

I'm computer-savvy and ready to try out the CUDA binary. Smiley
asdfman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile

Ignore
July 12, 2010, 11:36:43 PM
 #13

Unfortunately I dont have a compatible GPU on the machine Im running, but I think this is an awesome idea!!
StinkiePhish
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile

Ignore
July 13, 2010, 12:32:24 AM
 #14

OS X 10.6.4

Geforce GT 220.

Thank you!
ultrasonicsite
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile

Ignore
July 13, 2010, 04:25:00 AM
 #15

Windows XP
Geforce 8400 GS 512MB

1QKPmWSpvsau25p8CSubYs9xA2WPn96S1d
Ground Loop
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile

Ignore
July 13, 2010, 08:07:56 AM
 #16

Windows XP SP3 32-bit
GeForce GT 240
(96 CUDA cores, 1GB)

Happy to try experimental code.

Bitcoin accepted here: 1HrAmQk9EuH3Ak6ugsw3qi3g23DG6YUNPq
letharion
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile

Ignore
July 13, 2010, 01:40:00 PM
 #17

I have a couple of GTX480 and some other nvidia cards I could try this with on Gentoo Linux.
I've also done a bit of Cuda programming previously, so maybe I could lend a hand.
EricJ2190
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile

Ignore
July 13, 2010, 07:10:40 PM
 #18

Windows Vista SP2 64-bit
nVidia 8800 GTS (Overclocked)

DOGE: DBsS2XZfteCWGPz19nEAWc8XJTKLfT651D
SmokeTooMuch
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


View Profile

Ignore
July 13, 2010, 07:41:52 PM
 #19

I think posting all of that data is a bit useless now, afaik the threadstarter has canceled paused his project.

You like what I'm doing? Why don't you send me a coin: 17Pj8jpUgY6qTaKgiopL5U48zxU4rTrkuB
Bitcoin on Reddit: https://pay.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin
sgtstein
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile

Ignore
July 13, 2010, 08:03:39 PM
 #20

As far as I am concerned, if I can get the source that he has I can branch off of it and continue working. Otherwise I am starting work on my own CUDA build using C/C++.

Just a heads up...
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!